We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel and holiday - it was Puppy love !”
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Miramar
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“A great hotel and holiday - it was Puppy love !”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I took her parents on this 7 night stay. I had previously 'blogged about our stay' in the Puerto Pollensa forum whilst we were there (24 th Sept onwards) so some readers will be aware of my comments - all of which are hugely positive.

It was particularly useful to get tips from regular visitors that always help allay any misconceptions about the hotel.

So, there were no surprises about our stay. We asked for a terrace room and got one and it really was a prime spot (room 107) . The inlaws got a courtyard room which benefited from the early evening sun.

The rooms are a little basic but perfectly functionable - maybe this holds the hotel back from a four star rating.

The hotel has a traditional feel- the reception staff formally dressed etc.They were particularly helpful in printing off boarding cards etc from a Spanish formatted computer.

The waiters have clearly been at the hotel for some time and are experienced amd dutiful.

Tne restaurant for breakfast is excellent - those that criticise the choice should literally wake up and smell the excellent coffee.

The evening restaurant fayre is equally good - the menu del dia is particularly good value- 3 courses and a glass of wine for €22.

There are equally good mdd options in the resort at any number of restaurants.

The private beach area is nice with loads of sunbeds - the sunlounger bagging at daft o'clock didn't happen,thankfully.

There was an occassional bar service which was nice.

We had stayed in Puerto Pollensa some 10 years ago so remembered parts of it. The whole area has a lovely feel to it with loads of bars and restaurants to suit all tastes and age ranges.

A few stand out restaurants for us were ,Stay,Bahia and for a less formal evening El Casinet and Maxims on the square.

We really enjoyed the hotel and would have no hesitation returning.

Please feel free to ask any questions.

Room Tip: Try and bet a sea view- it is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank stevenc4874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josep82, Gerente at Hotel Miramar, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thanks a lot for the feedback. We are so happy to hear this. Kind Regards and whatever you need let us know
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    116
    35
    4
    1
See reviews for
95
466
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have just returned from a 9 night stay at the Miramar and thouroughly enjoyed every minute. Having previously only visited Port de Pollenca a number of times in the winter to go walking we always said that we would return when the resort was fully open and the Miramar was the hotel we had always wanted to try. We were allocated a room on floor 4 which had a lovely big terrace overlooking the bay with chairs both to sunbathe and to sit on and a lovely big umbrella, the view was to die for, could not imagine staying in the Port without a sea view - well worth the extra money. As some have said the furniture is not the most modern but it fits with the age of the building (celebrating 100 years this year!) but that's not so say that all of the hotel is old, the new spa was a lovely modern space located just across the road to the rear of the hotel in which there was a small but adequate gym which we made full use of (to be honest not sure many others were doing the same as the equipment always seemed to be left on the setiing we left it! Someone did mention that it does get rather hot, however if you ask at reception they will gladly turn on the air con whilst you use it which did make some difference, I suppose if it were left on the space would cool down even more but I can understand why they may not wish to have it running unnecessarily.

Breakfast was the usual fair, only real problem was that there were many tables in the room so sometimes it felt a little cosy, would have been so lovely to be able to eat breakfast out on the terrace like other similar hotels nearby seemed to allow guests to do (we regularly saw them all enjoying this when out for our early morning run along the pine walk) but it seemed that because the hotel offers breakfasts to the wider public at a cost then this is what the terrace is kept for, just flet like the guests were missing out somehow! Didn't try the restaurant for dinner as there were so many restaurants we wanted to try (reviews of favourites posted) but it seemed like many guests did. It was apparant from the way in which many guests greeted waiters and hotel staff like long lost family that as has been said this hotel has many returning guests, whilst it knows it's market for returning, somewhat elderly when we were there, guests it is clear that the managment are looking to move with the times with the improvments already made and planned. All reception staff were first class and nothing was too much trouble (including turning the air con on for us both) and the cleaning staff kept bedrooms etc spotlessly clean. Were very lucky with the weather (only rained the day we left) which meant we could take full advantage of the roof terrace to sun bathe , there was never a need to reserve a sun bed like some did despite the signs which meant we could have a regular walk everyday and still be able to laze in the sun. The market on a Wednesday provided an opportunity to get fresh serrano ham and cheese to keep in the fridge (OK there is a charge but the use we got from it made it worthwhile) to have for lunch and the ice tray provided the ice for the G&T enjoyed on the terrace before retiring to bed.

We were considering going back to one of our other favourite hotels next September but this holidy was so good we are now trying to see if we could fit both in somehow!

Room Tip: Worth while paying for a sea view , Floors 1 and 4 have the terraces with chairs, table and umbrella...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jrpc35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josep82, Gerente at Hotel Miramar, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thanks a lot for the feedback. We are so happy to hear this. Kind Regards and whatever you need let us know
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Firstly the town. The best central part is the extended tree lined square around the church, ringed by many restaurants. However most of the town sees to consist of conceret apartments of various ages with no "old town". The crowning glory is where it borders the large bay. Above the marina the main road moves inland so there is no busy road between the hotels and the beach - just a long promenade.
This is where Hotel Miramar is located. One can sit outside and have beakfast, or in the evening have a drink and watch everyone go by, with a view of the sea beyond. Idyllic! Even better, the promenade is ideal for an evening stroll to the nearest restaurant. The hotel itself has been well described by other viewers. Our room was rather small and overlooked the inside of the building. The bathroom was good. There was a balcony and a sunbed but it was not a place you would want to spend time in especially with the thought of the views outside. The rooms overlooking the sea are certainly the ones to go for but are often fully booked. There are some good walks nearby - the hotel will provide maps. You very soon leave the town but wear good shoes and take plenty of water.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms, otherwise choose with care.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveMerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josep82, Gerente at Hotel Miramar, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thanks a lot for the feedback. We are so happy to hear this. Kind Regards and whatever you need let us know
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Four friends, we have been away before, and I am very fond of the resort. Hotel wonderful.Location wonderful, some people get up apparently at the crack of dawn to reserve sun beds at the front of the hotel, not my style, but one can get a sunbed after having a day of 'non sunbathing' with no problem. Old fashioned service. I had a single room at the back of the hotel, one expects to have an 'inferior room' on one's own which mine certainly was not. Balcony, bathroom (with window room 222), incredibly comfortable bed, what more can I say?
Down side lunch at the hotel not worth the money, very inferior, apart from that the hotel gets a huge thumbs up from me!








Four friends, my umpteenth time to the resort, wonderful hotel and wonderful location

Room Tip: I had a single room at the back of the hotel with a balcony, ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zanyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josep82, Gerente at Hotel Miramar, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thanks a lot for the feedback. We are so happy to hear this. Kind Regards and whatever you need let us know
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed in late August 2012. Lovely hotel, staff very friendly and helpful. Clean throughout and good breakfast. Our room was an odd shape, and a bit small otherwise great. Rooms at rear have balconies overlooking the pretty courtyard, but no sun, and right at the back balconies are over the road. Ask for a sea view! Walk across the pedestrianised sea front to access the sandy beach or the private sun lounge area. Concierge most helpful, and organised car–hire. Superb sea front walks along promenade. Ideal for couples and young families. One of the few places where we would actually go back again.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rwsCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josep82, Gerente at Hotel Miramar, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thanks a lot for the feedback. We are so happy to hear this. Kind Regards and whatever you need let us know
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is my 8th visit to this particular hotel and it is just asgood as the first visit. It is 100 years old this year and still privatley owned by the same family. Excellent location and facilities. Clean room, fabulous restaurant for breakfast, snacks and optonal evening meal. The staff cannot do enough for you and I would thoroughly recommend it for a relaxing, lazy holiday.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are extra but the rooms overlooking the courtyard and just as nice and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josep82, Gerente at Hotel Miramar, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thanks a lot for the feedback. We are so happy to hear this. Kind Regards and whatever you need let us know
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a lovely old hotel with attentive mature staff.
Rooms and hotel clean and fresh.
Hotel is in a great spot. We had a front facing room with a little cast iron balcony- very quaint.
Would stay again if in Port de Pollence

Room Tip: book a sea facing room-extra but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josep82, Gerente at Hotel Miramar, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thanks a lot for the feedback. We are so happy to hear this. Kind Regards and whatever you need let us know
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
1,086 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
567 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
#5 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
1,160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sis Pins
Sis Pins
#6 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
678 reviews
0.2 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#10 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Property: Hotel Miramar
Address: Paseo Anglada Camarassa 39, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#1 Spa Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#2 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramar 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Miramar, one of the oldest on the island and the oldest hotel still running in Puerto Pollenca. Situated in the first line of Puerto Pollensa offering a private beach area, outdoor pool and spa and wellness centre. All rooms have air conditioning and free WiFi. The spa and wellness centre includes a sauna, hot tub and gym. Massage is also available. Spacious rooms feature a flat-screen satellite TV and a fridge. The private bathroom comes with a hairdryer, free toiletries, bathrobes and slippers. Hotel Miramar offers a beachfront Restaurant, bar and snack bar. Room service is available and breakfast can be ordered in your room. Facilities include entertainment staff, meeting facilities and a shared lounge. You can go cycling, fishing and hiking nearby and there are a lot of restaurants, bars and shops next to the Hotel. The hotel is 50 km away from Palma de Mallorca Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel Pollenca
Hotel Miramar Majorca/Port De Pollenca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing