We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We shall return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hoposa Pollentia Hotel
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“We shall return”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful holiday here; I doubt you would be disappointed.
Overall, the rooms were clean and cleaned to a high standard everyday, the food was extremely good and freshly cooked and the staff was friendly but not overly so but were there when you needed them.

In detail the room we stayed in was adequate if being maybe a little tired. We were in an original part of the hotel, which is apparently one of the oldest, the newer part of the hotel was apparently better. We had sufficient storage space for our things with a safe at 15€ per week available for your valuables.
I did find my bed a little hard but my wife found them ok. The aircon was a little inadequate but this was probably down to the exceptionally high temps and humidity we experienced during our weeks stay, and fair to say the newer rooms apparently were better serviced in this department. The bathroom was quite small and the water temperature in the shower fluctuated somewhat, which on the upside could help with circulation LOL. We had a balcony which gave us a sea view but with no external light which made it difficult to read but was nice if you just wanted to chillax with a bottle of wine.

Speaking to other guest which were mainly British (80%) most had stayed here at least once before and some many times, one couple we spoke to on the veranda area (a great place to meet people in the evening and chat over a G&T) were just visiting as they couldn’t get in to this hotel for the second time this year, they have stayed here many times and recommend a room with a balcony is a must as the rooms to the rear are a little dingy.

On your first visit to the dining room you are allocated a table for your evening meal which is then yours for the duration of your stay, should you wish to dine alfresco ask at this point as there are limited tables available.
The food was plenty and varied, breakfast consisting of the usual, cereals, continental and cooked, but if you want a fried egg everyday forget it eggs were varied each day, and there was always plenty of fresh fruit.
The evening meal was varied every evening with several choices for starters; main, and desserts, ladies expect to put a few pounds on. There was always a fish, meat and vegetarian option and a typical Majorcan dish.
There was more than enough to choose from and it was always fresh, during my stay I saw little if any food being pushed to one side or left which I think says it all.

No swimming pool, sorry kids (you can use the sister hotels pool if you wish) I think this is why this is classed as a 3 star hotel.
This does keep kids down to a minimum which for some, me included, is a bonus but why would you want a pool when the sea which is less than 100 metres away is as warm as a bath.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedlineAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    175
    65
    20
    10
See reviews for
77
262
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was our 4th visit to the Hotel Pollentia in Port de Pollensa. It is a consistently excellent hotel, which is why we have no hesitation re-booking visits. It deserves more than its 3-star rating - beautiful location, beautiful hotel - outside and inside, spotlessly clean and all hotel staff really friendly and helpful.

We had a family room (2 adults, one teenage son) with sea view and balcony - in fact the same room we had last time. My husband and son slept well on the firm beds but unfortunately I did not as I prefer a soft mattress. However, I requested extra pillows and managed quite well.

The Hotel assisted my husband in organising a birthday cake for me, and we had a lovely birthday tea on the hotel veranda - I can't fault their excellent customer service.

It was a bonus to be able to use the swimming pool at the sister hotel next door, but with the beautiful sea and sand on the doorstep, it was bliss to step from hotel to the beach so conveniently.

We loved the selection of food - we booked half board. Good tasty breakfast - both cooked and continental were available. Evening meal was equally good - lovely selection of both hot and cold dishes and always a Mallorcan dish as a choice - the stuffed aubergines were delicious. And always a wonderful choice of fresh fruit available.

We will have no hesitation in making a 5th visit to the Hotel Pollentia - thank you very much.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel do not have a very good view and no balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Just returned from ten very relaxing days at the Hotel Pollentia. It will be very difficult to add anything to the already excellent reviews on here but here goes;

We arrived late at night about 11:30 and the restaurant was long since closed, with the bar closing imminently, however after giving us our keys the receptionist offered to get us a salad knocked up and the barman dashed off to get us the bottle of Cava we ordered for us to celebrate our arrival. This set the tone for the rest of our stay; nothing was ever too much trouble.

Beginning with the building itself, we like the style of the hotel particularly the terrace at the front which is the perfect place to sit with a post dinner (or mid-afternoon if you feel like) gin and tonic. We had a room at the rear which many people have complained about being too small and a bit poky. Well, that is not the case. We found our room to be a perfectly acceptable size with more than adequate storage space and because it didn't face the morning sun meant it stayed cool first thing so we didn't wake up in a sauna as we have done at some other hotels. It also meant we didn't pay the price premium usually attached to the front facing balcony rooms. If you don't look straight down on to the back of the hotel then your rooms look out onto the hills at the back. Maid service was daily, thorough, and the rooms cleaned to a very high standard.

The breakfast offered plenty of choice every day with a rotating choice of hot items and a wide range of cold meats, cheeses, breads, cereals and fruit.

As we were on half board (unusually for us) we ate dinner in the hotel most nights and were never disappointed. The menu did not repeat during our stay at the hotel and just as with breakfast there was plenty of choice. Usually a soup, a salad bar with specials that changed over each night (Russian salad one night, Tuna Salad the next) and a choice of hot dishes which always included one traditional Mallorcan dish.

Just as with reception, the bar and restaurant staff were always friendly, helpful and obliging (Muchos Gracias Miguel, Jose, Yahya and the Maitre'd who is probably still turning in every day having already done 16 days of 13 hours each without a break when we left - and could still always manage a smile).

The hotel is ideally situated for the beach, and at just over a kilometre is an easy flat walk to the centre of Port de Pollenca. I would suggest this is not the place for younger couples unless you really like the quiet life, but for the over 30's etc it is a great place to go and relax.

We will definitely consider going back to this hotel which is unusual for us since we tend to try different places each time, but for this hotel we would happily make an exception.

Room Tip: Front rooms with balconies cost more. Weight this against the total cost of your holiday and how muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisS47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Having previously stayed in the Uyal hotel, we were encouraged by the many positive reviews to try the Pollentia this time around and were not disappointed. The hotel is situated about 15 minutes walk from the centre and was a quiet retreat away from the hustle and bustle but close enough for a pleasant stroll in the evenings to take in the many restaurants and bars along the beautiful pine walk.
Back to the hotel, yes slightly dated but this added to the charm, our room on the top floor was small but the views were outstanding across the bay and beyond. We were very happy with the staff and praised the chef on our last night for her delicious meals throughout our stay. The food was varied and of good quality really what we expected of this type of hotel. There is always the opportunity to try somewhere else just for a change as we did at lunch. In the evenings the entertainment was ok often taking part in the Uyal, the 'live' music kept us entertained although sitting on the Pollentia terrace and having a quiet drink was a pleasant experience being able to talk to other guests , many of whom had clearly been here before, so praise indeed. We used the pool in the Uyal on a daily basis and also swam in the sea opposite. Overall, a hotel well worth visiting for a quiet getaway - no thrills and spills and well worthy of a return visit soon.

Room Tip: High floor with sea view a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Great location very clean and great staff and would stay again,but food was poor, very hit and miss. Some nights it was nice others it was awful,Scrambled egg was floating in yellow water,and cold tined hotdog sausages yuk. the next day spot on dinner was the same.We only ate in four times in two weeks, enough said a shame rearly. With a few tweeks could be a great hotel not a good one.Would stay again but only b&b or room only.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest of Dean, England
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We recently returned from two weeks at the Hotel Pollentia - what a treat!
On our last visit we stayed at the Hotel Uyal which we thought excellent and so we were disappointed that we couldn't get accommodation there this year. We knew of the Hotel Pollentia and that people often returned there, so we took a chance with the sister Hoposa hotel. We weren't disappointed.

We were very fortunate in having a front sea view room with a very reasonable sized balcony - but, some rooms are very small (which our friends found out on their arrival, but - their balcony on the third floor was enormous!). Rooms were spotlessly clean, towels were changed as required and bed linen changed each week. Air conditioning was efficient.

Both breakfast and dinner were terrific as far as we were concerned - we don't understand some people's problems as there were certainly enough choices for anybody. Breakfast was both a hot and cold buffet - extremely acceptable - and dinner was terrific - lovely soups, excellent salads, cold meats, a huge choice of breads, and a reasonable choice of hot meals, one of them always Mallorquin, and a good wine list. We found the dining room service to be excellent. Wines arrived promptly and also tables were cleared promptly. The benefit of a smaller hotel like the Pollentia is that there is only one dinner sitting, and so there is no rush to finish and leave. A big bonus over the sister hotel Uyal!

The hotel staff were absolutely fabulous - friendly and helpful, they remembered what you liked and had previously ordered. Nothing was too much trouble. In particular, Gabriel the maitre d', who seemed to control all the service area of the hotel, was an angel!! He was efficient yet very approachable and his staff obviously respected and worked for him. Ya Ya the barman/local comedian is obviously the light relief of the hotel and kept everybody smiling. There are two bars at the hotel on different floors - unfortunately there appeared to be only one barman on duty covering both bars......but YaYa made up for this with his smiling attitude. The young man (studying archaeology) who was on reception couldn't have been more helpful and pleasant.

We would like to suggest the following:
i) the rooms should have a waste bin (not just the "lady" bin in the bathroom) so that odd bits of rubbish can be tidied away; surely this would also help the cleaning staff
ii) there should tea/coffee making facilities (these days surely this is a must)
iii) perhaps there ought to be a hairdryer provided in each room?
We know that some items can be hired but these sort of things really ought to be included in the room.

One of our friends,since booking, now requires wheelchair assistance - this made entry and exit from the hotel extremely difficult - no ramps. We understand from the staff that this will be rectified for next summer - we do hope so.

The above are not complaints, but just observations which would enhance the enjoyment of the stay. We are aware that others have made similar comments and hope that the hotel management will note this.

Lastly - despite our final comments, we can only enthuse about the Hotel, its staff and the environment - and in fact, we have already booked to return in 2013. Can't wait!

Room Tip: Choose the higher numbers on each floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolsHunters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We had an amazing time. The hotel was fantastic, food delicious, accommodation clean and comfortable. Reception staff very welcoming and helpful, waiters, bar staff all very friendly. Animation team kept us entertained every evening. Could not find fault and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in a village room and it was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
#5 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
1,159 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
565 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Romantic Hotel
Romantic Hotel
#19 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
531 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
629 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aparthotel Club del Sol
Aparthotel Club del Sol
#24 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoposa Pollentia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoposa Pollentia Hotel

Property: Hoposa Pollentia Hotel
Address: Paseo Londres 62, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#18 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#19 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hoposa Pollentia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hoposa Pollentia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pollentia Hotel Port De Pollenca
Hoposa Pollentia Hotel Majorca/Port De Pollenca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing