We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hobby Club Apartments
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Just returned from a two week stay at Hobby club (two adults, two teenagers) and wanted to say how much we enjoyed it. The apartment we had suited our needs although, as a few people have previously stated, it could benefit from a facelift and our underbed was somewhat in need of replacement. The room was clean when we arrived and kept clean on a daily basis - the cleaners really work their socks off. We had a view of the pool and the sea (as we had requested) and Hobby Club for us could not have been better located - it is on the best strip of beach, which has clean white sand and wonderfully warm and clear sea. The walk to the centre of Puerto Pollensa is about 15 - 30 minutes depending on how leisurely you want to be. Great choice of eating places en route and in the centre (our favourite place being Ambrosia). The Hobby Club does not offer restaurant or snack food but does sell water, wine, limited groceries and ice cream (and is cheaper than Spar next door). Air Con is included and the room safe cost 28 euros for two weeks. All the Reception staff at Hobby Club were extremely friendly,polite and helpful and we could not have been better served. Outside, and poolside, everywhere is kept clean. Poolside could do with another ten, or so, sun loungers or a system that prevents the towel brigade from claiming loungers and then clearing off for half the day.( that is the only gripe we had). Reception has good wi-fi which is essential where teenagers are involved! All in all a brilliant holiday and we would not hesitate to go back to Hobby Club.

Room Tip: There are three rooms over reception that have limited views due to the large canopy over reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabothotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hobby Club Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Guest
We appreciate your time sharing a comment in tripadvisor and it is nice for us to hear all your comments about Hobby Club Apartments, its facilities and its location. We will inform to the staff and this will encourage them to keep doing a good job. Finally, just remind you we will be very pleased to welcome you again next year.
Best regards.
Cabot Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 291 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed at the Hobby Club for many years (12) we are sad to say that it is now the unloved family member in the Cabot group and needs some TLC.The staff (sorry one poor person left) are great and very much appreciated but are very much against a brick wall. I have read a few reports now and have not seen any actions taken by the management only excuses. We booked our holiday expecting as it said on the Web site bar facilities and snacks (which one review mentioned and the reply made more out of removing it from the website rather than fixing the problem) we complained last year about the lack of sun beds and broken beds (backs without supports etc) and can say that nothing has been fixed or replaced. However on a positive note there is a new beach bar just along the road where you can meet your friends and have a choice of drinks and snacks (not 1 kind of canned beer if there's any left and Fanta for the ladies from the so called mini market) Sorry if this review seems very negative but it's a shame to see apartments in such a fantastic location being neglected by the management who will no doubt give.a very poor reply to this post. I will finish with this, we will be back in Pollensa later this month but we are not staying at the Hobby Club we are at the Pollentia therefore Not spending our cash with the Cabot group. Sort out the lack of a bar and cooked food replace the sun beds and stop people reserving bed's they don't use all day and we may come back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IArbuckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabothotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hobby Club Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your time sharing a comment in tripadvisor. First of all, we thank you for all your confidence coming back to Hobby Club during many years. We are really sorry to learn your feedback regarding our apartments and, as we take very seriously your comment, we are very pleased to inform you on this matter. The fact to remove the bar is due to business reasons and to keep offering a service we do have the mini market where we offer a wide range of soft drinks and some snacks at a very reasonable price, cheaper than the outside supermarkets. Regarding the sunbeds, please accept our opologizes for the delay, we are very aware of this situation and we will try to sort it out as soon as possible. Finally , make sure Cabot Hotels is going to keep doing efforts to give Hobby Club the standards in order to please all our clients.
Despite of everything, we thank you again for all your visitings and we are at your disposal for anything you need in the future.
Best Regards.
Cabot Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

1st stay in Hobby Apts - 10 days July/August 2013. Great location over road from lovely beach. Room adequate for family of 4. Separate bedroom with twin beds, wardrobe & safe. Pull out under bed/couch in living area large enough for adult/child. Tv. Kitchen. Dining table. Free wifi in a/c reception. A/c rooms cleaned most days; clean towels, bins emptied. All rooms balconys have a view. 24 hour reception. Small selection of food, drinks & necessities in reception are all cheaper than the Spar. Nearest Spar too expensive - walk down road to another one, several along the way. Table tennis & pool table on site.
10-15 mins walk into the harbour where there are several bars & restaurants. Most expensive ones are overlooking the med, cheaper ones, but still good quality food are those in the back streets. We ate at several in both locations, to name a few: Hells Kitchen, La Maina, Nicos & our favourite Pascalinos - varied menu all of excellent quality and always hot - free accompaniments & shots. Couple of bars with livelier music as you walk into harbour. The Imperial pub is fun with Tony the dapper dancing man. Eatery by all the moored up boats looks expensive but 1 of them is very reasonable.
The only pinch of negatives I'd say are; towel reservation race was always on with many towels being placed on sunbeds early and for most of the day hardly used, very selfish - this could be easily solved by not opening pool until 9.30;
the cleaner never cleaned our floors once, so I had to with the dustpan & brush provided, think we were unlucky as later found out others had had theirs cleaned; bath had seen better days so only used the shower; reception shop should stock more items - keeping their reasonable prices and should provide the odd snack; Tv only had english speaking bbc1 working but we didn't go on holiday to watch tv; Miss not having a full length mirror.
As these are minor - None of these negatives ruined our holiday - Just honest easily solvable niggles. We met some great families & would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holl-day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabothotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hobby Club Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Guest
Many thanks for your time and for your full description about Hobby Club Apartments. Many thanks for all your comments, we are going to take note in order to improve some services. Despite of them, we are glad to learn you have had a nice stay and we hope to see you again in any of our Hotels.
Best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I have to agree with the previous report. Changes to the Hobby Club have resulted in a poorer holiday experience.

We have just returned from our 7th stay in as many years.

Despite the comment from management in reply to a post below many sunbeds are broken and were not replaced.....It would be nice to have sunbeds as good as those in the Pollensa Park (part of the same chain). We also noticed a great increase in towels being placed on beds early in the morning. In previous years staff would remove them if it was clear nobody was going to use the "reserved" beds until later in the day. The signs warning of this have disappeared.

The removal of the bar/snack bar is a bad decision. It was the focal point of the Hobby where drinks and freshly made hot food could be bought.

The reduction in staffing also resulted in the reception area being closed at times.

The idea of rotating staff between establishments on a daily basis seems misguided too.

Despite these observations the Hobby Club is still a great place to stay and all the staff we met were really courteous and helpful however the changes instituted this year mean that when booking for summer 2014 we will consider other aparthotels which do provide lunchtime snacks and drinks throughout the day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GuessWhoToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabothotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hobby Club Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Guest
Many thanks for your time sharing a comment in tripadvisor. We thank you for your confidence coming to Hobby Club apartments and we regret to learn your comment about the bar removal but we take this opportunity to inform that the supermarket offers cold snacks and cold drinks at very reasonable rates. And we confirm too that Reception is 24 hours service. Despite of this, we notice you take value of the apartements and its staff and we would be very pleased to welcoming you again in the future.
Best Regards.
Cabot Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Just back from 2 weeks at the Hobby Club this being the 10th time and was sorry to see the Bar & Snacks have been taken away (although website still states its available), having met good friends over the years as this was a meeting point before dinner and after we all returned at night. It seems that the Cabot Group are letting it get run down as there are not many sun loungers now around the pool and most of the ones that are there are broken. On a plus side the apartments are well kept and very clean and staff are really friendly and could not be more helpfull. Not alot of money or effort would bring this back to the standard that it has been on previous years,

Room Tip: Choose a pool view, if you do not want the noise of the road.
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Elaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabothotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hobby Club Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your comment in tripadvisor. We feel proud to learn it has been your 10th visiting in Hobby Club Apartments. It is nice to hear your good impression about apartments and staff although we regret to learn your dissappointment with the bar away . Thanks for informing us about the web, it has been sorted it out inmediately. Regarding sunbeds, they are already been checked by our staff and they will be replaced inmediately in case they need. Despite of everything, we hope you to keep visiting and enjoying as always in our apartments.
Best Regards.
Cabot Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Me and my family have just returned from hobby club. It was an amazing hotel. The premises is 10 FEET (yes, i said feet) from a beach! The hotel has a pool with small section (for the little ones) and a normal sized bit for kids and adults. The hobby club is nicely quiet (apart from the road and the bin lorry!) and GREAT for kids. It is right next door from a SPAR shop (little pricey!) that sells dinghys, beer , food, small toys and donuts etc. For a cheaper shop ,EROSKI is 10 mins down the street. The restraunts in the square are lovely. For a late night drink after dinner, there is a beach bar, it has TV and sells ice cream and crisps + beer and wine. Another business down the street is toy planet, it is a great toy store for kids. NOTE: if you do not reserve a sun lounger before 6:30 AM the will be taken up. All in all, i give this place a 500/5. :)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bstre2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabothotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hobby Club Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Guest
Many thanks for sharing your comment about your stay in Hobby Club Apartments. It is very nice to learn your stay was amazing and you did enjoy either apartments and resort. We take this opportunity to inform all the community that we do have a Supermarket now in the Hall Area . Many thanks again and we look forward to welcome you very soon.
Best Regards.
Cabot Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just back from the Hobby Club after a weeks stay, 07/07/2013
Hotel location was good, across the road is the beach and about a 20 minute walk to town with two young kids in tow.
Room a bit dated, kids had to sleep on the couch/bed which has seen better days.
The room was cleaned every 2nd day with fresh towels if required.Plenty hot water for showers in the evening.
The A/C worked well.
The fridge in room 115 used to make a loud noise every couple of hours, which was annoying in the middle of the night, probably looking at compressor replacement.
The TV was an old 14" CRT with poor picture and sound quality,but didn't go on holiday to watch TV,so didn't bother us.
The pool area was nice with plenty sunbeds,with a very small kiddies play area, the reception staff were helpful and friendly.
Over all I would give it a 7 out of ten,just needs a lick of paint with some new furniture, plus a new fridge.

Room Tip: Rooms directly facing the beach (Shallow end of the pool) don't get the sun in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabothotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hobby Club Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Guest
Many thanks for your time sharing a comment about your stay in Hobby Club. Nice to learn that our facilities and service have met with your expectations although we take note of your comments, they will help us to improve. We have already report to our Maintenance Staff about the fridge.
Thanks again and we would be very pleased to welcome you again in any of our Hotels.
Best Regards.
Cabot Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
#5 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,242 reviews
0.2 mi away
FERGUS Style Pollensa Park SPA
FERGUS Style Pollensa Park SPA
#14 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
2,274 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villac...
#7 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aparthotel Club del Sol
Aparthotel Club del Sol
#18 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
128 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,157 reviews
1.2 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#10 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hobby Club Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hobby Club Apartments

Address: Paseo Londres 74, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#17 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#21 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range: $81 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hobby Club Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3-key category tourist apartments complex is located in front of the beach, in the quiet tourist area of Puerto Pollensa, a few minutes away from the marina and the commercial and leisure areas. There are 54 apartments which could accommodate 4 people and the occupants can enjoy the following facilities: a large swimming pool with a children’s section and a children’s play area among others. Its location, services and facilities make it a perfect place to enjoy a family holiday at the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hobby Club Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobby Club Apartments Hotel Port De Pollenca
Hobby Hotel Apartments
Hobby Hotel Pollenca
Hobby Club Apartments Majorca/Port De Pollenca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing