We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time - will go again”
Review of Romantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Romantic Hotel
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Reviewed October 17, 2011

This was our first holiday in Porto Pollensa. We chose this hotel on the basis that the good reviews we read spelled out that it would be a good place to be. We were not disappointed. So much positive about it, Very clean quiet room. Away from entertainment but only a short walk to the bigger hotel and all the bars if we chose to. Breakfast buffet style was good with lots of choice. Good coffee. The only negative was,as in other reveiws, the evening meal. some of the days we had to bypass the meat and fish offering and look for something else. Thankfully there was plenty of other choices. A very good salad bar too, so we always came away satisfied. Another plus, we loved the large selection of sweets. So all in, we enjoyed our week and will come again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jackiegreenwood12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (579)
There are newer reviews for Romantic Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

483 - 489 of 579 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2011

This was our first trip to Porto Pollensa-great, especially for Romantics' location. We suspect we were lucky to get one of the front first floor(large balcony) rooms. The hotel caters for older clientele, mostly retired, and this suited us fine, as we wanted some quiet time. I saw no evidence of discontent staff, the restaurant staff were bright and smily if you made the effort to say "Hola". Food- oh dear. Breakfast was good, a continental selection, small choice, but OK. English breakfast variable, sausages particularly bland, but have had much worse in this country for a lot more money. One thing to make you smile- There were various Danish pastry things on the sweet section of the continental breakfast. I thought I was getting something sweet to go with a (good) cup of coffee, it turned out to have some sort of fish paste in it Ugh! Dinner was variable, our first nights offering was the worst, but it got better over the week, or we got more used to it. The staff had the same food, which I thought was good. Noise- can't say we were troubled in any way with this, and I repeat, we wanted some quiet, but this might have been our location at the front of the hotel. The chairs in the lounge are particularly heavy, and the cleaner every morning did have to drag them across the floor to do her job. Sorry to hear the hotel chain is in receivership, suppose this accounts for some of other reviews, eg food and staff. We will be going back to this hotel, based on our experience, possibly on a Bed and Breakfast basis, which is a shame, as there is a kitchen in the hotel which needs either the right staff or enough investment in the food to bring it up to scratch. This is a two star hotel, I was not disappointed, but the location of the hotel deserves better food.

Room Tip: Front balcony rooms best-view, quietness and size. Close curtains during day to keep room cool. Unti...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank martin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

This was our 7th trip to Romantic Hotel, however if it was our first time here we would not be going back.We have always loved the hotel and everything about it until this year.
the bigest downside being the food in the evening absalutely horrid. We have since found out that the hotel chain is in resevership and is not aloud to spend any money,and it shows.
i would like to point out that this explains why the staff were so grumpy its not like them.overall romantic you have lost this one sorry.

Room Tip: Due to the fact that the hotel chain is in reseivership BEWAREand do your homework
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Just returned after a 2 week holiday on half-board at the Romantic Hotel. The hotel is in an excellent location and we were pleasantly surprised with the standards, considering that it was classed as a 2 star hotel.
The food was adequate and we would concur with other comments regarding the quality. The evening menu was displayed but rarely matched up to the actual offerings. It would have been nice to have some proper Spanish food (paella, tapas etc) but this was in short supply, although this may have had something to do with the age and fastidiousness of the guests. There are Cafes and Restaurants in walking distance, so give them a try. You can always ask for the local menu.
Guests were almost entirely from the UK and Ireland. Many were repeat guests who sometimes grouped up to renew friendships or to comment on others - so beware.

Room Tip: Sea view is in Short supply and are probably booked up well in advance by the regulars. Try to get...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skarab_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Just returned from a week at this hotel, you could not fault the location as it was just across from the beach. This hotel must have been great in around 1960, but it is now very tired. The room and the bathroom with half a bath are very small, no TV, no Radio in the room, you could hire a hairdryer which was 2 euros for 24 hours, who wants a hair dryer for that long. I must say that in it's favour everything is spotlessly clean. Breakfast was OK, but dinner was awful, the meat was dry, it was labelled to tell you what it was otherwise you would not have known. I ate salad or pasta to be safe and ate out 2 nights. It was also very noisy as you could hear doors being banged and people talking down corridors.
Port de Pollenca is a lovely resort, but the Hotel Romantic did not give me any romantic feelings.

Room Tip: not able to
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unhappy099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Just returned from a week in this hotel in this gorgeous resort. First of all its plus points. The location is fabulous, just across the road to a lovely beach, Beware the sun beds are 11 euros for the day!! Spotlessly clean, the staff work very hard to keep it so. Breakfast, fine, plenty of choice and as much as you could eat, lots of signs telling you not to take food out of the dining room. I must admit we had contemplated filling rolls for lunch and sneaking them out!!! Dinner is another kettle of fish so to speak. Far too much tinned food, fruit, veg etc. Every night there were chips, and another choice of potato. Dodgy looking meat, spam like things covered in some sort of sauce, dry pasta with plain tomato sauce and grated cheese. Same salads every night for starters although there was a very nice cheese
once or twice and puddings so small you had to eat two or three!! A bit like eating in the dining room of an old folks home, we at 60ish were the youngest there, almost, for a few days and the younger ones who then arrived, would not eat there at all. We ate our a few times and it was delicious. Sorry Romantic, you need to buck your ideas up regarding your dinners.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the right, looking at the hotel, no views at all from the other side, just the sid...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ruby402011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

As the title implies, the beach is literally a walk across the road from this hotel, whilst the hotel is very dated and the food is quite simply canned food!, what i will say is that is does have a homely feel to it and the bar lady who works the night shift is very pleasant and works very very hard to serve everyone all by herself all night!!!. Whilst i say food is canned food, i only had breakfast there, we did pay for halfboard so we were entitled to eat the evening meal, but to be honest we went to eat there on our first night but the look of the food put us both of. I dont wish to disrespect the hotel because as i said the location is excellent and it was a very very peaceful hotel to stay in. There was no kids whatsoever, probably because there was no pool there so young families were non exsistent there. Rooms basic but clean. Would i stay there again? Yep but not on a halfboard basis.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maj442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hoposa Pollentia Hotel
Hoposa Pollentia Hotel
#17 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
465 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sis Pins
Sis Pins
#6 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
724 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Eolo
Hotel Eolo
#25 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
#5 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,209 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
#13 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
208 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantic Hotel

Address: Paseo Londres s/n, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#16 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range: $91 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Romantic Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy hotel Adults only located at the seafront of the beach in Puerto Pollensa. Recently renovated in a mediterranean style with a big terrace with Restaurant and Chill Out area to enjoy time overlooking the sea. It has 78 fully-equipped rooms, most with sea view and complete services to make your stay on the island an unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Romantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantic Hotel Pollenca
Romantic Hotel Majorca/Port De Pollenca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing