We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapointing holiday due to weather”
Review of Hoposa Daina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Disapointing holiday due to weather”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Picked this hotel due to good reviews and it was good. We had paid the extra for a side sea view and I emailed the hotel before going to ask for a high floor and we were given one on the forth.The staff were the most friendly I have ever encountered. On arrival we checked in and were given a glass of cava whilst the lovely recepionist took our cases up to our room (I did ask his name unfortunately I have forgotten it - sorry). The room, whilst a little on the small side, was very clean with a very large and comfortable bed. The safe was free and after asking about using the mini bar as a fridge and enquiring about the cost was told that we could use it as a fridge at no extra charge. The breakfasts were excellent, however, we did get a bit fed up with the evening meal but other people didn't appear to have a problem with it so perhaps it was just us. Unfortunately the weather let us down. We had gone at this time of year to celebrate my birthday but the weather was not at it's best. We like to have one relaxing day by the pool and then a day sightseeing but it was couldy and windy making sunbathing not a very nice experience. On the days when we could sunbathe the pool bar was being re-assembled and whilst you could go across the road to the hotel bar it meant that all your belongings went with you. It was a pity that the pool bar had not been refurbished during the 'off' season, however, our stay was end May beg. June so it is probably working now. As mentioned the staff were all very friendly and the bar staff soon got to know our preferences in the drinks department and gave me the alcholic drink and my husband the non alcholic one. On arriving back home I discovered that I had left a gift bag with gifts in so I emailed the hotel in the hopes that it had been discovered and sure enough it had and they kindly sent on to me by post. It was so good to know that the staff were not only friendly but honest as well. I had stayed at an hotel in the UK and left my travelling alarm clock on the bedside table but was told by the hotel that it had not been found so I was very grateful to receive my birthday gifts from the hotel Daina.
Would we go back to this hotel, yes, if put in another resort as unfortunately we were not impressed with Puerto Pollensa but that may have been due to the bad weather.

Room Tip: Sea view or side sea view on a high floor are recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwendoline030645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    203
    37
    10
    5
See reviews for
134
390
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our first time at this hotel, we booked a sea facing balcony room which we were very pleased with.
The room was spacious, well appointed & very clean. The meals provided were varied and of a good standard. We were appointed a table on the first night. At times the restaurant was very warm, however there is an open air terrace which has about 15 tables which you could sit provided there was a vacant table. A range of aids for the disabled were available to rent including an electric wheelchair. The pool had a hydraulic chair to enable people with disabilities to use the pool.
The holiday would have been improved if the hotel were to manage its 'strictly no towels to be left on the sun beds' policy. At 9am a line of people were waiting for the gate to the pool area to be unlocked so they could leave their towels on a sun bed before crossing back to the hotel for breakfast. Most of the sun beds were blocked throughout the day by people coming & going while their towels remained in place. Sadly on 2 separate occasions I witnessed people with quite severe disabilities come into the pool area only to find there were no sun beds available, sadly they left the area as quietly as they entered it. Such a shame that they were not able to enjoy the facilities as much as the towels did!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Hotel Daina in June last year for 10 days. When we found our room it was a hop skip and a jump to the balcony. I knew my daughter and I could not spend 10 days in such a tiny room so I immediately called reception. The balcony was huge, but ours was crawling with ants and the table and chairs were sticky! I called reception and told them in no uncertain terms we could not stay in this room. The guy on reception immediately sorted it out and gave us a great room that was huge on the corner of the building. Bathroom was large with bath and shower. Room was great, everything working including air con. Did have a slight problem with toilet but that was sorted within an hour. Cleaning staff were lovely and friendly. Food was superb. Always someone on reception to help when needed.

Room Tip: I think it is pot luck what room you get, maybe they keep a few good rooms for people who complain,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracey087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Have been to Port de Pollenca many times, but this was my first stay at the Daina (only two nights). Overall, it was fine, but I think it could do so much better.
The room was overlooking the sea. A nice, standard room. However... there were two hooks on the wall where the full-length mirror should have been. We mentioned it to the staff at check-out and they explained that the previous guests had broken it! I guess they didn't have a spare one.
We ordered lunch on the first day, out on the terrace. Well... we ordered it after we had gone in search of a waiter. When it came, it was luke-warm and that certainly didn't entice us to eat again at the hotel (other than breakfast, which was distinctly average.)
The location of the hotel is superb and they have a nice pool with plenty of sun-beds surrounding it. Will that be enough to make us return? We'll see.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soar84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Just returned from our third visit to the Daine.the first since its refurbishment.We were very pleased with the results.We booked a front sea facing room with views over the bay.The room was of 4 star standard, mini bar.tea/coffee.free room safe etc.all added since our last visit.We went half board and we could not fault the quality and choice of the buffet meals.What stands out most about this hotel is its friendly and welcoming staff,some have been there years.We will be booking again in the very near future.Just one sour note,shower pressure not constant.But a small price to pay for an otherwise lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Pay extra to get front sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank ANTHONY V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gllasgow uk
2 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great hotel, fantastic position, sea view rooms well worth the extra cost. Staff very friendly, pity weather was bad, but really enjoyed holiday apart from that. The swimming pool looked lovely, but due to weather did not try it. There was a pool bar, but it was removed while we were there, not sure if it is being replaced. It was not a problem, as bar was only across the road. Bus stop across the road

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Katglasgowuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duns, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Have stayed in the Daina many times over the last Twenty plus Years,also the Pollentia and Capri,still proving excellent value for money.Improvements to bedrooms,the Buffet Meal Service. Even for fussy eaters there was always something decent to eat.It was good to see so many long service Staff still there continuing with first class friendly service.Only disapointment was the Pool Bar being pulled down on Instruction by the Council,why couldn't it wait till the end of the season.Already booked for September at the Daina and looking forward to it.Would recomend the Daina to anyone.
Les & Sylvia Duffield

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank LezDuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
1,102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#2 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
586 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
#5 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#9 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
955 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#1 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sis Pins
Sis Pins
#6 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoposa Daina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoposa Daina Hotel

Property: Hoposa Daina Hotel
Address: Calle Atilio Boveri 2, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#4 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoposa Daina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Daina is the company's flagship establishment, and was the first hotel to be opened. It was built in 1963 and refurbished last year to become a four star hotel. The beautiful surrounding area can be fully enjoyed from any of its seven floors overlooking the bay. The incredible saltwater swimming pool with solarium opposite the hotel is set right into the sea and has been a landmark of Puerto de Pollensa since the 70s; this is one of the resort’s most spectacular sights, both during the day and at sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hoposa Daina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daina Hotel Port De Pollenca
Hoposa Daina Hotel Majorca/Port De Pollenca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing