We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“IDYLLIC ILLA D OR”
Review of Hotel Illa d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Illa d'Or
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
west sussex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“IDYLLIC ILLA D OR”
Reviewed May 8, 2010

Second time we have stayed at this excellent hotel, we could not fault it in any way. Wonderful location lovely views and peaceful.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westsussexmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    237
    71
    33
    11
See reviews for
183
689
35
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2010

My husband, daughter and I stayed for a week at the end of April - just before the prices doubled. Having longed to visit for some time, and having been told by people how lovely it was, we were looking forward to a good stay and good food. I now have very mixed feelings about the hotel.
PROS:
1. Fantastic location, wonderful views. Pine Walk lovely but uneven crazy paving.
2. Nice touches in room - bathrobes, shaving mirror, fresh fruit, turn-down service.
3. Lovely lounges and outside terraces.
4. Nicely decorated dining room with lovely views.
5. Excellent buffet breakfast. Lots of choices, freshly-squeezed orange juice, fruit, meats, cheese etc. plus bacon, eggs etc.

CONS:
1. Room a bit 'tired', although adequate. Paid extra for a small balcony that was mostly in shade. Not worth having unless at front or overlooking pool.
2. No full-length mirror in room and hairdryer terrible. Got too hot to hold after couple of minutes but did not dry hair.
3. Outdoor pool icy cold. Indoor pool very small, and heat varied. Not heated in the summer. Had to ask at reception if you wanted to use the sauna.
4. Evening meals very disappointing. Stuck in a 70s time-warp - maybe that explains why so many of the more elderly guests enjoyed them. Example: the chef's recommended dessert one night was tinned fruit cocktail with custard and a blob of cream.This is the kind of food my 94 year-old father has in his care home, not what you would expect in a 4 star hotel. There were several choices for each course, but the starters always included fruit juice or soup (which all tasted the same), and one of the desserts was always bought-in ice cream. There was a salad bar if you did not want what was on the menu, but when my daughter and I decided to try it one night we found that the choice and quality were not as good as our local Waitrose. The veg was the same, whether you had meat, fish or the more traditional food, and was often tepid. There was a grill option, where you went and collected grilled turkey breast, for instance, but your veg were brought to your table and you could end up waiting for one or the other. We are not 'foodies' but do expect good food, well cooked, and felt that this hotel offers neither. Luckily we had some excellent tapas lunches and a very good paella where, unlike in our hotel's version, the rice was properly cooked.

To sum up:
This hotel obviously is very popular, judging by other reviews. I can see why older people (of whom there were many) would like it, and would enjoy the food. The other people who felt as we did tended to be of similar age to us. The location is wonderful but we will never go back because the food lets it down and for what you pay (£900 for a week in May?!!) it is just not worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Welshwanderer60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2010

Just returned from a great week at this hotel. food excellent rooms fine a lovely location and the staff were excellent courteous and gave great service.This is a fine hotel well worth its four stars i would say better than many five stars like some of the pestana chain in madeira.this i would say the second best hotel i have stayed in only the cliff bay in funchal is better.weather was lovely as well so well done to the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobbarclay44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

Booked with Thomson Holidays (UK), and paid for an upgraded package 'superior room' , so taxi transfer from Palma Airport direct to the hotel - in darkening, driving rain - nasty - but clear, bright, sunny and occasionally quite warm for the week we stayed. Offered choice of two 'sea-view with balcony' rooms, side by side, on the (UK) second floor: first with one large bed, the other with twin single beds in a slightly smaller room. Looking at a picture of the sea view of the hotel: follow line of little pier up to the hotel, then up to second floor - dead centre, and that was our choice of rooms - great!! Fruit basket in room, towelling dressing gowns, and wine for first night's dinner - from the tour company: house wine, but a decent bottle, which we chose (white or red) for remainder of our meals at about twelve pounds/Euros bottle, paid for on departure - four bottles = Euro 51 = £47 on my card when I reached home - OK, but a bit pricey for 'house wine'? Drinks in the bar were moderately expensive we thought with a (large) G&T, but with enough gin for two stiff drinks, and an extra tonic i.e. two stiff drinks, plus one sherry = almost 10 Euro. 'Tea for two' i.e. two of the 'world-wide' Lipton yellow-label cheapie tea-bags, and some UHT milk = 2 cups of tea = Euro 5 !! Having said that, we were on half-board (breakfast and evening dinner meal - or a picnic instead of dinner, by request) and this gave us enough to eat simply some fruit at lunchtime, when we were away from the hotel anyway.
Our room was on the small side, which was why we were offered the choice on arrival, and it had an excellent balcony looking directly out to sea along the little pier in the pictures. Sparrows came to be fed bread-crumbs daily, and the balcony was sunny from breakfast until dusk: drying wet -wear when we were out and providing our own sun-bathing area when we were 'in'.
The room was visited by housekeeping staff daily and was kept clean: tiled floors with a small bedside mat each side of the bed needed attention daily, in my view, but didn't always get it. Otherwise, cleanliness and towel-changing was perfect. Bathroom with shower over bath and with twin hand-basins and a toilet was spotless, and kept so.
Food: generally from very good to excellent, in our view. The breakfast buffet was the most extensive I have ever seen in a hotel, and I have stayed in many around the world. From the restaurant entrance, there were - in turn - self-service areas for orange juice squeezed by machine in full view, hot water supply, tea-pots, UHT milk/lemon slices,decaf instant coffee, chocolate drinks, etc - all self-service ad lib. Cereals followed, then dried fruits - dates, prunes etc - then fresh fruits of about six different kinds daily, breads and rolls of every shape and size, a hot food buffet (largely English-style bacon, sausages, tomatoes, beans, hash browns, etc) - again self-service, and with eggs cooked to order while you wait. A diabetic/diet foods area followed and finally at the end - traditional Spanish/Mallorquin breakfast foods - Serrano ham, etc. Eat at lunchtime? - no, I could barely walk..... Tables were reserved by room number, and the tables/rooms for two persons seemed to do better around the walls, with either sea views or the (outdoor) pool: larger groups had tables in the centre.
Dinner was served by the waiting staff and offered three courses, with three or four choices for each course - starters included some excellent soups, cold meats, etc, with main courses offering a meat dish, a fish dish, a vegetarian option and one further dish - sometimes a Mallorquin speciality of some kind. Puddings varied too and always included a cheese, every night from a different area/country. Fresh water was provided, with mineral waters, wines etc to order at the tables or from the bar. Portions weren't always huge but guests were encouraged to use the salad bar: ostensibly provided as an alternative to either the starter or the main course, but again it was self-service ad lib.
Dinner was followed on three nights by entertainments: musicians on two evenings and a local dance group on another, but all fairly sedate in the (non-smoking) lounge. For smokers, there was an area between the entrance hall and the restaurant, which also housed the bar, so walking through could have been unpleasant for non-smokers. However, I only saw one person light up in that area in the week: most of the few smokers puffed outside.
There was an outdoor swimming pool, with sun-bed/loungers and mattresses and in an area with a glass wall to keep out the breeze - pleasant to sunbathe but not warm enough in March to swim ! Swimming was fun, and warmer, in the small indoor pool where there was also a jacuzzi, saunas and changing rooms, but requiring a deposit payment for towels, which seems unnecessary. Between the hotel and the sea is a terrace with straw-shaded tables, and more loungers, and a dining area/outdoor restaurant (open in the summer only, we were told).
The 'Pine Walk' (fifteen minute 'stroll') into the main marina/restaurants area of Puerto Pollensa deserves a mention: if you know the area, prepare to weep now, as a lot of damage has been done by the exceptional winter storms with some of the larger pines demolished and being cut up (down?) in a 'chainsaw massacre' during our visit. It hasn't spoilt the promenade to/from the centre, but has left gaps and made the 'going' even more uneven underfoot in places. Those with mobility problems may need some more assistance now. The centre was being 'opened up' for the season with new restaurants and hotels blossoming every day, as were the spring flowers, birds and butterflies - magic !
One final point: transport - we used the local bus services and went somewhere different every day, at very cheap rates (1.5 Euro per local journey - which took us up to eight kilometres quickly and cheaply in coach-class busses, with generally very helpful drivers with some English/German, etc. language skills. Timetables are on the 'bus stops' and a paper timetable is freely available from the Tourism office - a small building beside the main bus stop near the marina - with a young lady who spoke quite good English and was very helpful with suggestions for visits, and so on.
Conclusions: a lovely hotel, smart in dark woods with light walls, excellent and helpful staff at all levels and good food - but not a great hotel for very young children, perhaps. Not enough for them to do, and with many 'older' guests, there was some minor friction from the 'peace and quiet' brigade sometimes.
Would we go again - oh, yes. Recommend it to others - certainly, but perhaps a long way from the 'centre' for the mobility-impaired and with little to offer to smaller children.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lonesometravellerGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
henley on thames
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2010

I have been going to the Illa D'Or hotel for many years with my family. it has been somewhere that everyone can go. The staff are excellent and very helpful, they are also good with children and fun to be around. the rooms were good and we went for just an average double room they were comfy and clean. the food was another god point because it was very tasty and flavorsome. we enjoyed are stay because it felt very welcoming and has made use go back there 6 times in the last years.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bembem1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2009

A Hotel away from all noise - truly relaxing with delightful walks along the Pine Walk into the Port and wonderful views across the Bay of Pollensa to Alcudia. It would be difficult to find a Hotel where the food and service is as good as this Hotel. The Staff are so friendly and helpful in respect of all your needs during yourstay A TRULY WONDERFUL HOLIDAY AND CANNOT WAIT TO RETURN AGAIN

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philippcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2009

Stayed for 4 nights in this lovely hotel - would have stayed for longer but it closed on the day we left until Feb 2110. Lovely room - got upgraded without asking - huge bathroom with shower and bath, two sinks, cuddly bathrobes etc., etc. Very good food - we stayed half board - plenty of choice, good portion sizes. Wine list a bit limited and pricey, as were the drinks from the bar. Staff very attentive, good service. Quite a lot of the guests were obviously regulars. Hotel right on the sea front, about 15 min walk from the marina. November is a good time to visit, warm enough for shorts and top and a paddle in the Med, but most of the smaller shops were closed, as were most of the restaurants. If not staying half board at this time of the year, you would need to take this into account. Perfact for a relaxing break without the crowds.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiddlesbroughVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.5 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
#5 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
2.9 mi away
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hote...
#7 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
#12 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#2 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Illa d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Illa d'Or

Property: Hotel Illa d'Or
Address: Paseo Colon 265, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#11 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Illa d'Or 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Illa d’Or, founded in 1929, is a hotel which still maintains the authentic classical style from yonder. Situated in placid Puerto Pollença, where one can experience the sensation of beauty which has served as inspiration to a multitude of yesterday’s and todays’s artists and writers. At the Illa D’Or, the sky and the sea are a gentle carress, dusk is a symphony of colours and night, whilst on the terrace and contemplating the moon reflection in the sea, one realises that it is one of the most beautiful areas, not only in Mallorca, but possibly, in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Illa d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Illa D'Or Majorca/Port De Pollenca, Spain
Illa d Or Hotel
Illa Dor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing