We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A GEM IN A SPARKLING LOCATION” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Illa d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Illa d'Or
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A GEM IN A SPARKLING LOCATION”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

I wondered, should I shouldn't I, share this little bit of heaven. This is a lovely comfortable hotel in a beautiful location overlooking the Bay of Pollenca. The rooms and the food are of the standard one would expect in a 4 Star Superior hotel. What raises it above others however, is the professionalism of the staff. This is a historically interesting hotel, dating back to 1929. But although thoroughly modernized, amazingly one still gets a sense of ..'being back in time'. This is entirely down to the staff. The courteous and friendly way they carry out their duties is so refreshing. Clearly the management strive to preserve a bit of that 'days of old service' ethos, but without the snooty character.
One tip though. We went out of season, in October. A time when everything is warm, wonderful and in slow motion. I suspect impressions could be very different when the masses descend.

Room Tip: Rooms at front with balconies worth the extra money. Be aware that some of the rooms have no balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ExplorerO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    232
    72
    33
    11
See reviews for
177
660
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North West England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

I expected a lot more from this hotel after reading the reviews.
We've been travelling abroad for over 30 years and on the odd occasion when we have had problems I've always found hotels make a big effort to put things right but when we complained at this hotel we were surprised by their surly attitude.

We were allocated a shabby dated room at the back of the hotel with no balcony and a restricted view of the street.

A few days later we paid extra for a room with a balcony we couldn't believe that both rooms were supposedly of the same standard and price. We found some of the staff very good.. especially in the A La Carte Restaurant but inside the hotel certain members of staff were quite intimidating.

I would describe the food on offer in the main restaurant as very basic.. we've eaten far better in lower cost hotels. We found it very odd the food in the A la carte restaurant was very good and both were cooked in the same kitchen... but then again you pay extra for this.

The public and bar areas around the hotel are quite small and are shared with locals and apartment guests, so if you go during a Spanish holiday you will not get much quiet or privacy. Apartment guests can use the hotel facilities and pool but hotel guests are not allowed to access their pool and private garden ?

The view across the bay and the Pine Walk is indeed attractive.. but we were surprised to find that within a hundred metres or so of the hotel the Pine Walk ends abruptly at a military base.

We actually paid more for this holiday than most holidays and frankly expected a lot.. lot.. better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Recrema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We recently came back from a short break at the Illa d'or. On our arrival we were shown to,our room which was lovely, we had booked a side sea view room with balcony and it was really very comfortable. The breakfast selection was very good and we enjoyed our meals in the evening. It was a pleasant stroll into the centre of the town and the location of the hotel was fabulous, right on the sea front at the quieter end of the pine walk. We enjoyed many drinks and coffees in the outside seating areas overlooking the sea. All the staff were very helpful and charming and ensured that we had a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: It was definitely worth having a room with a balcony, the views were wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

The first impression you get on a sunny day is of the blue sea seen through the hotel door. The hotel is luxurious and fantastically comfortable - we had a balcony overlooking the sea to make things even better. The room was excellent, the service first rate, and the breakfasts very good with plenty of choice (we didn't eat evening meals at the hotel). There are all kinds of facilities - an outside bar right on the seafront, and outdoor and indoor pools - the latter with a Jacuzzi. I'd go again like a shot when next I visit Mallorca.

Room Tip: Worth spending a bit extra and going for a room with a sea view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Ideal location,Walk straight from the hotel into the sea or sunbathe by the beach. A short walk into the town and it's associated noise and bustle
quality rooms even if a Littleton the small size
Restuarants staff excellent and made dinner very enjoyable
Dinners ok to good, breakfast excellent
Good choice of excursions if you need them, the boat trip to Formantore was excellent

Room Tip: Side view rooms have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mordon near sedgefield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

my fiancé tim and I arrived here on 22nd October for 5 nights. we were asked to take a seat in the beautiful reception area with Emilio who greeted us warmly. he explained that he was not able to honour our request for a top floor apartment in the club illa d'or apartment complex(we had only booked two days before)but that he could offer a free upgrade to the lovely illa d'or hotel and include a free breakfast for us both.

we decided to stay in the apartment which was spacious,spotlessly clean with everything needed for a self catered stay and looked over the pool area. however after the first night we decided to ask to stay in the hotel as the air conditioning there was individually controlled and I have health problems with temperature. this also means that I like to have a bed of my own as I sleep poorly too.

Emilio was on reception and when we explained he went to have a word with the hotel manager .he then asked us to follow him to the room. this was the most amazing suite we had ever seen ,several beautiful rooms with two toilets, Jacuzzi bath and a huge balcony with stunning seaviews over the bay. when we asked how much extra it would cost Emilio said no charge and you will have complimentary breakfast each day too. tim and I were overwhelmed by such kindness.
this beautiful suite was to be our base for the next four nights and we truly felt like royalty .the beds and goose down pillows and duvets were comfortable and luxurious ,gorgeous bathrobes and toiletries and a fridge ,even chocolates and a weather forecast postcard each evening.
the breakfast buffet was the best we've ever had, a huge array of hot and cold fayre too many to list ,but including a table of typical mallorcan treat .some mornings we ate on the terrace overlooking the stunning peaceful bay.
the lounges in the ila d'or had too many oversized comfy couches to count and a gym and spa were available, along with both indoor and outdoor swimming pools and bar and poolside bar. walking through the hotel were artifacts from a byegone era, the hotel was built in the 1920's and is situated in the quietest most picturesque part of the famous pinewalk ,where pines can be seen dipping their branches into the turquoise waters.

this is no ordinary hotel ,it sets the bar for how good hotels can be and is more than deserving of its 4 star superior rating .the staff were so helpful and friendly but did so with a dignified poise and impeccable manners, the manager himself was often on hand with a smile.it is easy to see why visitors come back time after time.
puerto pollensa was the prettiest place we had ever been.we are already planning our return and it will of course be to the illa d'or. we arrived as guests and felt as though we truly left as friends

thank you Emilio and all the illa d'or management and staff
you should be very proud:-)

suzanne and tim

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

From the first moment we arrived we were made to feel completely at home and relaxed in this wonderful hotel, The staff and in particular "Emilio" were extremely welcoming, helpful and friendly throughout our stay and nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel itself was beautiful, charming and located in the prime position along the pine walk. The choice of food at breakfast was simply the best we have ever had and of the finest quality. The rooms were exceptionally clean, comfortable and had everything you could possibly need.
After 30 years of travelling around the world this hotel was the best we have ever stayed in and the lovely atmosphere created by the staff and hotel manager himself was the icing on an extremely good cake!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim-Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.5 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
#5 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
#6 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hote...
#7 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#2 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Illa d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Illa d'Or

Property: Hotel Illa d'Or
Address: Paseo Colon 265, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#11 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Illa d'Or 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Illa d’Or, founded in 1929, is a hotel which still maintains the authentic classical style from yonder. Situated in placid Puerto Pollença, where one can experience the sensation of beauty which has served as inspiration to a multitude of yesterday’s and todays’s artists and writers. At the Illa D’Or, the sky and the sea are a gentle carress, dusk is a symphony of colours and night, whilst on the terrace and contemplating the moon reflection in the sea, one realises that it is one of the most beautiful areas, not only in Mallorca, but possibly, in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Illa d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Illa D'Or Majorca/Port De Pollenca, Spain
Illa d Or Hotel
Illa Dor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing