We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to chill out!”
Review of Hotel Illa d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Illa d'Or
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We went to this hotel in May and found it fabulous !! The food was brilliant and the hotel staff really friendly. We had a room with a balcony and sea view and were able to relax and enjoy the atmosphere. The pine walk was great for a stroll day or night. An excellent place to chill out !

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,150)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Illa d'Or
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

687 - 693 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

Just returned following a 4 night stay, double room, sea view no balcony (410). Hotel clean, quiet and comfortable. Check in was efficient, staff friendly. Situated towards the end of the pine walk, a good 10-15 mins walk in to Pollenca. The majority of hotel quests were older couples from the U.K. Poolside whilst not large had lovely views across the bay area, sunbed towels provided free of charge. Additional sunbeds available just a few meters away along side the beach. Stayed half board, breakfast was excellent. Evening meal provided reasonable choice but not quite to the same standard as breakfast. Would definitely choose to stay at this hotel again

Room Tip: Sea view a must. But higher floors 3/4 do not have a balcony. Did not mind this as time spent in roo...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waynej347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was our first visit to Majorca and therefore to the Hotel Illa d'Or. The previous reviewers are correct; it is faultless. We had a room on the 4th floor with a large window providing spectacular views over the sea. It was relatively spacious, tastefully decorated, had a lovely bathroom and was spotlessly clean; the efficient air-conditioning provided welcome respite from the heat outside.. The staff in all departments were extremely efficient, very friendly, and did everything possible to ensure their guests had enjoyable holidays. The food, which included local specialities, was superb and beautifully presented; the three-course inclusive dinners provided choices which set the hardest decisions we had to make each day - which ones to choose! One could not complete a review without reference to the breakfast which included an enormous array of hot and cold items, and the best fresh orange juice you will find anywhere. We could not find a fault with this hotel. The location, accommodation, staff and food were simply fabulous.

Room Tip: Our room (415) at the end of the corridor on the 4th floor was excellent. Cannot comment on any ot...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seeking_Shangri-La
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The Illa dO'r Hotel is one of those very special places which gently moves forward with the times, whilst staying absolutely true to its heritage.
We have just returned from yet another glorious week, where every need was catered for.
The hotel's location is unbeatable, with spectacular views across the bay and the shore steps away. Every single member of staff is charming, helpful and considerate, who collectively make an unbeatable team. Literally from the moment you arrive to be greeted by the excellent reception team, to poolside, bar, restaurant, and rooms - the team behind it all make the hotel.
The Terrace for breakfast, lunch and dinner is again an unbeatable location, with incredible service.
Having stayed at the Illa d'Or for years now, we always feel absolutely secure, safe and free to explore the island. Would always highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaLondon2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was our third trip to the hotel. We were placed in one of the older rooms as in the last two visits. As it was next to the lift shaft, it was noisy. We asked to move and were offered a refurbished room overlooking the sea for a very reasonable upgrade. The room did not have a balcony but it did not matter at all. The room move made the holiday as far as we were concerned. Everything else about the hotel was excellent, food,staff,reception etc. even the waiting staff remembered us from the year before and were really welcoming.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room. It is well worth paying the reasonable amount for the upgrade.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

It is the third time we have stayed at this hotel and it just gets better and better. The hotel rooms were lovely the last time we stayed but we were given a newly refurbished room which you just could not fault, although a bit restricted in space. The hotel has a very old fashioned, traditional feel about it. The staff and management could not be friendlier and were mainly the same faces as before - which says a lot, as one of them said, the hotel is their second family! Breakfast on the ouside terrace (La Terressa) next to the sea watching the fish is just heaven.

Room Tip: The rooms can be a bit small which does not worry us. Ours did not have a balcony but we prefer sitt...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our first visit to this hotel and we were not disappointed, there had been a mix up at the travel agents who unknown to us had failed to book a balcony room, we had e-mailed the manager prior to our arrival explaining the problem and luckily a balcony was made available to us for just a small sum extra. This double room was on the third floor on the side with a view over the pool and the pine walk, a beautifully decorated room in gold and white with tea making facilities, TV and fridge. A safe is located in the roomy sliding wardrobe along with robes.The bed was very comfortable. Quality toiletries stock the good sized shower and bathroom. The reception staff were more than helpful and the Hotel manager Senor Salom was most attentive and approachable at all times. He runs a tight ship and this is evident in the way that things run smoothly. We were half board, the hot and cold buffet breakfast was varied and plentiful and would please even the most discerning of guests it could be taken al fresco if desired with stunning views across the bay. The 3 course dinner is waiter service with a good selection of fish, meat and vegetarian options some cooked to order at the grill. There is a plentiful 'self service' cold table with prawns smoked salmon and sliced meats along with the usual salad items and regional dishes. The wine list is varied and reasonably priced. The restaurant staff are all very professional and friendly. The pool is a good size and a real 'sun trap'. Good local entertainment was provided on a few evenings. The 10 -15 mins pleasant stroll into town is delightful. The hotel is in a unique location at the end of the 'pine walk' and is quiet and peaceful, with evidence of 'old world charm'. A wonderful way to have spent our 40th wedding anniversary with friends. We are already confident that we shall return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.6 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
697 reviews
2.9 mi away
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hote...
#8 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
737 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
#5 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
610 reviews
0.6 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#10 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,001 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#2 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Illa d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Illa d'Or

Address: Paseo Colon 265, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#11 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range: $131 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Illa d'Or 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Illa d’Or, founded in 1929, is a hotel which still maintains the authentic classical style from yonder. Situated in placid Puerto Pollença, where one can experience the sensation of beauty which has served as inspiration to a multitude of yesterday’s and todays’s artists and writers. At the Illa D’Or, the sky and the sea are a gentle carress, dusk is a symphony of colours and night, whilst on the terrace and contemplating the moon reflection in the sea, one realises that it is one of the most beautiful areas, not only in Mallorca, but possibly, in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Illa d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Illa D'Or Majorca/Port De Pollenca, Spain
Illa d Or Hotel
Illa Dor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing