We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There's really not a lot more to be said ............” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Illa d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Illa d'Or
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“There's really not a lot more to be said ............”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Other Reviewers have said it all, really, but I'll add my fifty cents worth just to emphasise what's already been said so well and so accurately. My wife and I needed a break from the permanent English winter - and found the Illa d'Or to be the perfect spot. Comfort, relaxation, peace, some sunshine, very good food, excellent service, high quality accommodation all added up to twelve days of enjoyment.

True, we asked for a room change to one that was better situated to catch the sun (our original room did have the balcony and sea view we requested when we booked, but it was small, prone to catching the chilly winds, and shaded behind the pines) and when the better balcony room was obligingly provided, life got even better. True, also, that our request for a table change in the Dining Room was again courteously provided ; that small detail made a significant difference.

I find it hard to believe that the Illa d'Or is Tripadvisor ranked as only 8th in the Puerto Pollensa ratings list. Can't imagine what's better provided in the other seven. We would recommend it unreservedly and we would definitely go back again.

If I'm allowed one slight niggle it's that the grill in the Dining Room can create a 'foody' fug that the extractor fans don't easily remove - but our table change (see above) resolved that fairly promptly. If you're booking to go, be as specific as you can be about room positioning, and where you might be placed in the dining room. And by the way, drinks prices in the bar and dining room are also four star ! Otherwise, allow yourself to be charmed by all the Hotel has to offer, enjoy the service, and relax.

Our thanks to all the staff team for their care and service ; it was much appreciated.

Room Tip: See above if you want a shade and wind-free balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The-Troubadour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    230
    72
    33
    11
See reviews for
177
655
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CREWKERNE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

only one place to choose to renew our wedding vows our favourite hotel in the med the hotel ILLA ,DOR Mr Migual Salom and his staff made it such a special day. they could not done any more to make it go without a hitch as usual it was 5star food and service.cant wait to come back for my 60th birthday

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SUE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlladorMallorca, Director General at Hotel Illa d'Or, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Mrs. Sue M

I am very happy to see that you and your husband will keep nice memories of the recent celebration of your renewal of vows at the Illa d’Or. The staff join me in hoping that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again next year on the occasion of your special birthday. Many thanks and kindest regards from Miguel Salom, Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We wanted peace and quiet, in beautiful surroundings, and the hotel delivered so much more than we hoped. A wonderful place that we found people returned to time and again, as we will. Our sea view room gave us glorious views and fantastic sunsets. The restaurant staff were superb, and the bar staff attentive. The managerial team were excellent. The hotels position could not have been better. It was idyllic - we just loved it.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms with balcony are truly lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just a short trip but I would recommend the hotel to anyone.

Ideally situated in a quiet location, right on the water. I booked one of the newly decorated single rooms ,so everything was literally brand new in the room and bathroom.

The staff in every department were particularly friendly and eager to accomodate any request. The buffet breakfast is spectacular and you can enjoy it while admiring the fantastic view of the Bay of Alcudia.

The ouside terrace at the waters edge provides a great place to enjoy the sunshine together with a few cold beers.

Not sure why it isn't 5* - I've stayed in plenty of so-called five star establishments that couldn't be compared to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed in lovely room with sea view. Staff very helpful, setting wonderful and relaxing, and facilities good. Food rather old fashioned and more could have been cooked to order - too many meals at dinner were 'plated' and over-cooked.

Room Tip: Get a sea view as some other rooms look out onto blank walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

The hotel was superb - had stayed 4 years ago and will certainly return.
The staff in every area were very attentive without being too familiar.
The quality and choise of food was excellent in every respect and the service was 5 star+
We had an excellent table with a view over the bay towards the mountains and the whole diningroom

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was our first trip to the Illa D'or Hotel, and we are already planning our return trip next year.
Our room had just been refurbished,was light and airy and had a glorious sea view.We would recommend asking for this,or a room with a balcony.The Staff were very helpful and always willing to assist wherever they could. The menu was excellent and varied,with plenty of Mallorcan treats too.
We must have hit a warm weather stream in March as apart from a bit of cloud here and there we had plenty of sun.
what more could you want from a winter break than to sit on the jetty in the afternoons listening to the gentle lapping of the sea while you read a book,with a nice glass of wine ,or pot of tea.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.5 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
#5 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
#6 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hote...
#7 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#2 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Illa d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Illa d'Or

Property: Hotel Illa d'Or
Address: Paseo Colon 265, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#11 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Illa d'Or 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Illa d’Or, founded in 1929, is a hotel which still maintains the authentic classical style from yonder. Situated in placid Puerto Pollença, where one can experience the sensation of beauty which has served as inspiration to a multitude of yesterday’s and todays’s artists and writers. At the Illa D’Or, the sky and the sea are a gentle carress, dusk is a symphony of colours and night, whilst on the terrace and contemplating the moon reflection in the sea, one realises that it is one of the most beautiful areas, not only in Mallorca, but possibly, in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Illa d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Illa D'Or Majorca/Port De Pollenca, Spain
Illa d Or Hotel
Illa Dor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing