We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mainly excellent”
Review of Hotel Illa d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Illa d'Or
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Mainly excellent”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed in lovely room with sea view. Staff very helpful, setting wonderful and relaxing, and facilities good. Food rather old fashioned and more could have been cooked to order - too many meals at dinner were 'plated' and over-cooked.

Room Tip: Get a sea view as some other rooms look out onto blank walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    238
    71
    33
    11
See reviews for
185
700
35
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The hotel was superb - had stayed 4 years ago and will certainly return.
The staff in every area were very attentive without being too familiar.
The quality and choise of food was excellent in every respect and the service was 5 star+
We had an excellent table with a view over the bay towards the mountains and the whole diningroom

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was our first trip to the Illa D'or Hotel, and we are already planning our return trip next year.
Our room had just been refurbished,was light and airy and had a glorious sea view.We would recommend asking for this,or a room with a balcony.The Staff were very helpful and always willing to assist wherever they could. The menu was excellent and varied,with plenty of Mallorcan treats too.
We must have hit a warm weather stream in March as apart from a bit of cloud here and there we had plenty of sun.
what more could you want from a winter break than to sit on the jetty in the afternoons listening to the gentle lapping of the sea while you read a book,with a nice glass of wine ,or pot of tea.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston-super-Mare
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This Hotel is well worth a visit if you are looking for a great location , good service and excellent food. There are now some refurbished roms which are excellent with more to follw soon I believe. Our third. stay here and no complaints

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnstanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

A week for the first time in winter. The refurbished rooms were a delight and were very comfortable. Light and airey.
The service from the staff as allways was most friendly and accomadating. Nothing was to much trouble. The choice in the restaurent covered all tastes and if that was not enough the waiters tried there best to help for special needs.
We have come home knowing that our stay next year will several days longer. We now look forward to our late summer stay at this family owned hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeGeBe76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed for a week starting on February 26 2013 and everything was excellent (except perhaps the weather). Our room was spacious and comfortable and the food in the restaurant was varied and first rate. At the evening meal, each of the 3 courses had 4 or 5 options to choose from. The staff were all very polite and had a good command of English.

Much of the hotel has recently been restored to a very high standard and it is blessed with good reception rooms, a health spa and an indoor swimming pool.

The hotel is spaced from the centre of Port de Pollenca, but you can step out at the back straight onto a paved tree-lined walkway, which is immediately behind the beach, and is a 10 minute walk to the centre.

Bill Allen from Somerset, England

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bill a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We decided to go early in the year, in the hope of seeing the almond blossom. Unfortunately, winter decided otherwise and we were obviously too early. The weather was mixed - to say the least with strong winds, rough seas and low temperatures. However we did have a significant amount of warm sunshine and all the rain fell during the night. Fortunately the hotel again more than lived up to our expectations in every area of the service. Comfort and dining were of a high standard and I would single out all the hotel staff for praise.

Room Tip: You can request a room with front sea view and balcony if you want the best but I have yet to fully...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ranald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.5 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
565 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
629 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
#5 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hote...
#7 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
666 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#2 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
663 reviews
0.6 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#10 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Illa d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Illa d'Or

Property: Hotel Illa d'Or
Address: Paseo Colon 265, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#11 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Illa d'Or 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Illa d’Or, founded in 1929, is a hotel which still maintains the authentic classical style from yonder. Situated in placid Puerto Pollença, where one can experience the sensation of beauty which has served as inspiration to a multitude of yesterday’s and todays’s artists and writers. At the Illa D’Or, the sky and the sea are a gentle carress, dusk is a symphony of colours and night, whilst on the terrace and contemplating the moon reflection in the sea, one realises that it is one of the most beautiful areas, not only in Mallorca, but possibly, in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Illa d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Illa D'Or Majorca/Port De Pollenca, Spain
Illa d Or Hotel
Illa Dor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing