We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“feb/march stay”
Review of Hotel Illa d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Illa d'Or
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Mark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“feb/march stay”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed for a week starting on February 26 2013 and everything was excellent (except perhaps the weather). Our room was spacious and comfortable and the food in the restaurant was varied and first rate. At the evening meal, each of the 3 courses had 4 or 5 options to choose from. The staff were all very polite and had a good command of English.

Much of the hotel has recently been restored to a very high standard and it is blessed with good reception rooms, a health spa and an indoor swimming pool.

The hotel is spaced from the centre of Port de Pollenca, but you can step out at the back straight onto a paved tree-lined walkway, which is immediately behind the beach, and is a 10 minute walk to the centre.

Bill Allen from Somerset, England

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bill a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    715
    237
    71
    33
    11
See reviews for
183
688
35
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We decided to go early in the year, in the hope of seeing the almond blossom. Unfortunately, winter decided otherwise and we were obviously too early. The weather was mixed - to say the least with strong winds, rough seas and low temperatures. However we did have a significant amount of warm sunshine and all the rain fell during the night. Fortunately the hotel again more than lived up to our expectations in every area of the service. Comfort and dining were of a high standard and I would single out all the hotel staff for praise.

Room Tip: You can request a room with front sea view and balcony if you want the best but I have yet to fully...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ranald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I hope this review helps others that have had similar experiences and if I help just 1 couple I have achieved something.
I booked this Hotel online direct online with Thomson It was our 40 Th wedding anniversary and wanted a special holiday we are well traveled and always have a sea view where there is a sea to view so we could have chosen more or less anywhere else in the world but we love Majorca and have been several times and we have always fancied staying in this hotel so I booked it early and we were pretty excited about it however the unfortunate thing even though I payed over the book price for the room sea view was omitted from the booking form I telephoned the help desk and a chap explained there was not much he could do as booked online but would put a note on my file to stipulate the sea view was omitted from the booking form The hotel said they Thomson had not booked a sea view for us however they had emails from me and had saved me one albeit at a 15 Euro a night supplement I requested to see the room that was reserved for me it was a decent room smallish however it was looking at an apartment block opposite with views of 2 large refuse commercial bins a carport and to cap it all barking dogs.I obviously said the room was not suitable so i payed the extra and was given a far Superior room than the one offered in the first place. The hotel Thomson rep was well aware of our problem and was pretty much confident we would get a refund and she was going to write a report in our favor since Thomson contacted her she denied ever saying it unfortunately she lost her phone in the sea and could not send a report there and then but she would as soon as she could.
will cut it all down now after several letters to Thomson and Thomson not replying for over 2 months they said no refund ABTA was informed they said it would not be worth there while pursuing as the cost would outweigh the claim. So only option would be to go to a small claims court and fight them which I am still deciding if I should do or not.so please beware if you book as I did and the words referring to a sea view are not on the form chances are you will not get it or will have to pay extra as long as they have one.
To the actual holiday now at reception it was like talking to robots that had been programmed already to say more or less what I have just said pay extra if available but chances are wont be available.Restaurant was beautiful but when seated by staff you could get a table that is not in a good position we requested to be moved as we were put near a family and they were quite noisy however the position moved to wasn't much better and would have preferred a quite location in the restaurant food was of a very nice standard breakfast was buffet style but was never crowded and you could sit outside if you preferred.
Swimming pool was not heated and extremely cold.In fact too cold for me and lots others to go in so I went in the indoor pool sun bathing at the pool had a glass partition and quite honestly when people passed and starred at you it felt like you were a chimp in a zoo .however the terrace by the sea was splendid as long as you were able to get a sun bed the hotel is shared with the apartments at the back of the hotel and most of there guests were at the front sharing the terrace so it could get very crowded and also unfortunately not much shade as the large umbrellas were not able to move anywhere and as the sun came round you were unable to sit in the shade.
Our room was very comfortable and bathroom also but feel if you do not get the sea view and you love views try somewhere else.
Our opinion a true 4 star in quality and decor of hotel pool 2 star restaurant say 4 star too with an exceptional a la carte restaurant where you can eat outside by the med with fantastic views staff very robotic although i would say excellent bar staff and superb pool attendant who was a pleasure to talk too and nothing was too much trouble for him,We think the problem lies with this in years gone by being a business hotel and now operating as a family hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to read this

Room Tip: unless sea view and balcony stipulated on booking form even if you ring hotel or email them chances...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
30 Thank Ram766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed here in November just before it closed for the winter period. The hotel is decorated to a very high standard and maintained in an immaculate state in all areas. The staff were always courteous, helpful and engaging. Food in the restaurant was fairly average although the menu tended to be abit on the ambitious side with some dishes lacking that level of sophistication. Drinks were priced on the high side but the quality of local wines and brandy was a pleasant surprise. The apartments across the road from the hotel were extremely comfortable and well furnished with everything required and its own pool. Would recommend the hotel highly, but I believe it is overpriced in the busy season and books out early. Great stay overall.

Room Tip: Few seaview rooms available. To the rear the only view is of side streets and apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Marc O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

It's freezing in England at the moment. Invariably thoughts turn to the sun and warmth. I booked my next summer holiday at the Illa D'or as soon as I returned this year. I have been visiting this hotel with friends for some 20 years. During that time the Hotel has changed a good deal, always for the better, but what always remains constant is the high standard of staffing throughout the Hotel.
They have the highest standards and nothing is too much trouble. The hotel was built in 1929 and therefore reflects traditional Spanish style. This adds to the charm of the establishment. A programme of refurbishment has been completed in the public rooms and is being extended to include all bedrooms. A great deal of attention has been paid to the dining room and the extension and improvement of the menu.
Each year we look forward to a fortnight of luxury.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I have travelled to the Illa d'Or hotel twice a year for 20 years & the service & friendship just gets better & i do recomend the food as being excellent. Since my first visit i have found the staff to be very profesional in every way, nothing is to much trouble fo them. The hotel wil arrange any excursion that a visitor may require & this includes car hire, walks around the area & places of interest. The hotel is situated in a quite part of Puerto Pollensa & 15 min walk to the town along the pine-walk is a pleasent experience. With friendly & profesional staff as well as the hotel being in a beautifull position, what more could a visitor ask for?

Room Tip: A sundowner at the terrace !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony_Rowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cricklade, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We returned from a thoroughly enjoyable 9 night trip on 11 November. The hotel was as charming as ever and the welcome as warm. The staff are lovely - kind and attentive to my 84 year old mother who came with us. Fantastic breakfasts - every dietary requirement is catered for - we were absolutely spoiled for choice! Delicious dinners every night. Half the rooms are being refurbished over the winter so can't wait to sample one of them when we return in February 2013. It's the sort of hotel one can return to again and again for a relaxing low season break.

Room Tip: It's good to have a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.5 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 31 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
#5 of 31 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
2.9 mi away
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hote...
#7 of 31 in Port de Pollenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 31 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
#10 of 31 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#2 of 31 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Illa d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Illa d'Or

Property: Hotel Illa d'Or
Address: Paseo Colon 265, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#11 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Illa d'Or 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Illa d’Or, founded in 1929, is a hotel which still maintains the authentic classical style from yonder. Situated in placid Puerto Pollença, where one can experience the sensation of beauty which has served as inspiration to a multitude of yesterday’s and todays’s artists and writers. At the Illa D’Or, the sky and the sea are a gentle carress, dusk is a symphony of colours and night, whilst on the terrace and contemplating the moon reflection in the sea, one realises that it is one of the most beautiful areas, not only in Mallorca, but possibly, in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Illa d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Illa D'Or Majorca/Port De Pollenca, Spain
Illa d Or Hotel
Illa Dor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing