We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barnes, Late treat in November 2012”
Review of Hotel Illa d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Illa d'Or
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just returned, 1st visit, had 6 nights half board 1st week November, can not find any faults, staff, food and rooms fantastic, location is perfect no noise, loverly walk to marina, hotel best suited for 50 plus age group. weather was great. pay for sea view room well worth it, we will be coming back next year and so should you.

Room Tip: sea view rooms have a great view, only noise is the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cavo1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

796 - 802 of 1,174 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just returned from a week at this hotel. FANTASTIC!!!!! We read the reviews and thought OK but it cant be that good. IT WAS. Staff all very friendly. Food excellent. Rooms spotless and spacious. We cannot fault anything. (OK maybe the weather - but that was our choice to go in November!!) We will definately be going back and will be taking family members with us.

Room Tip: A sea view is a must. A sea view with a balcony is even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This must be one of the best hotels we have stayed at. The situation is perfect with the sea just 10 metres across a traffic free walk. Most beautiful views of sea sand and mountains; A walk through the pine trees beside the sea into Port de Pollenca with its cafes, bistros, restaurants, all looking most attractive and some with walkways reaching over the sea to dining areas.

The hotel itself is in beautiful condition and kept in a high standard of cleanliness and comfort. The staff are helpful, cheerful and very smart. the food is top quality and the service excellent. The rooms are very comfortable, some with beautiful views over the sea, and all quiet and restful. The bar across from the hotel (10m) gives wonderful service and again is a beautiful place to be. The hotel also has an indoor swimming pool and an outdoor one. There are also apartments to the rear of the hotel.

This is a place to go to be spoiled, to feel rested, and to feel welcome.
Go if you get a chance.

Room Tip: It is extra, but the sea view with a balcony is well worth it. Rooms to the front are probably quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tebrown229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is one one the best hotels ever. It may not be 5* but surely more than 4*. We found it a very relaxing holiday and hotel in early October. Maybe not for young people, but the town and night life in only a gentle and romatic stroll away. We have been to Port de Pollenca for may years when our children where small and always used to sit outside this wonderful hotel. So to stay here last year and this year has been the best...without kids! Bring children as it is so safe and the staff are wonderful. Have a good holiday.

Room Tip: If your can, get a room on the first or second floor overlooking the sea, but this is a best keep se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have just returned from our holiday at Hotel Illa D'or and we want to go back straight away as it is the best holiday we have ever had - lovely staff, fantastic food and a gorgeous location - the service was excellent - can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: Book a balcony when you are choosing a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CyclingFan125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My parents stayed here every February for years in the 80's and 90's.When I was looking for a last minute holiday I booked the Illa d'Or without realizing it was the same place! Now I can understand why they kept on returning! The care and attention to detail given by the staff is the best I have come across. The room was comfortable with one of the most beautiful views and the food was really excellent. The position is perfect with a waterfront location, the only sound at night is the lapping of the waves.
We really had a perfect stay on a beautiful island with good weather, good food, good company and were spoiled rotten from start to finish!

Room Tip: The top 2 floors at the front do not have balconies, although our room on the 4th floor had large wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katemanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Ive known this hotel since 1967 so have seen some changes.
One thing that does not change however is the welcome and attention of the staff to guests requirements from reception, bar and restauraunt is outstanding.
Having just returned although the hotel is less than two weeks away from closing - which they do every winter - there is no sign of slowing down.
Excellent menu choices each evening and several different types of evening entertainment.
The hotel will again be upgrading rooms this winter so be aware when you book that some rooms are small especially those with full sea view they are still a little dated with dark furniture, small wardrobes - the hotel was originally built in 1929 after all. Balcony is rooms are excellent however be aware that if you are going in the Summer there is little shade and you could find it too hot to sit out!
The newer refurbished rooms - some with side sea view are brighter decor with better lighting, larger wardrobes etc so worth checking which room you are being allocated, especially if you are staying for a week or longer.

Room Tip: Check if your room is the "superior grade" (been upgraded to the new decor) They do not li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.6 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
720 reviews
2.9 mi away
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hote...
#8 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
788 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sis Pins
Sis Pins
#5 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#9 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,034 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
#6 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Illa d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Illa d'Or

Address: Paseo Colon 265, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#11 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range: $126 - $488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Illa d'Or 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Illa d’Or, founded in 1929, is a hotel which still maintains the authentic classical style from yonder. Situated in placid Puerto Pollença, where one can experience the sensation of beauty which has served as inspiration to a multitude of yesterday’s and todays’s artists and writers. At the Illa D’Or, the sky and the sea are a gentle carress, dusk is a symphony of colours and night, whilst on the terrace and contemplating the moon reflection in the sea, one realises that it is one of the most beautiful areas, not only in Mallorca, but possibly, in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Illa d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Illa D'Or Majorca/Port De Pollenca, Spain
Illa d Or Hotel
Illa Dor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing