We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 days to celebrate our wedding anniversary and absolutely loved the hotel. The view from our room was amazing. The drive up there was quite interesting, I am glad we rented a small call. However there was plenty of parking. As for the food the breakfast was very good and included in our room prices. The lunch and dinner prices were expensive but I think the view and location makes up for that : ) we had a car so we drove to pollensa for dinner every night. The beach was narrow but gorgeous and the water was crystal clear. We did have to pat to rent beach chairs and umbrella. It was 40 euros 2 chairs for the day. The staff of the hotel is very friendly, the front desk person heard it was our anniversary and the next day the manager sent a bottle of champagne for us which was very nice!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shossain6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (788)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 788 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stopped in for lunch. Nice enough food, but for the price they ask, some service would be nice. It took a long time to get served and we waited ages for the food to turn up, too. Not the staff's fault, there just aren't enough of them.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank vitaled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We didn't stay at the hotel, but we did use its access to the beach at Formentor. €10 for parking seemed OK but €20 for use of each sun-lounger seemed a little excessive, especially when the attendant tried to sting us for €25!

Lunch at the beach bar was mixed. The kids were happy with their children's menu and my calamari was OK, but my wife's hamburger was tired and my son-in-law's salad was tiny. With one drink apiece the bill was over €150, which we felt was excessive for just one course at the quality provided. And our waitress was clearly unhappy with "just" a 10% tip.

The situation of course is excellent but this is really just a glorified cafe selling fast food and salads, at least for lunch. We went back to Pollensa for ice cream and cappuccinos.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dik_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This hotel is situated in a enourmous green area, on the north shore of the Island. The buffet breakfast is very complete, but what really makes the difference are the fruits offer. All of them are very fresh and flavoured. The hotel staff is always super friendly. The beach is beautiful, on calm water and with 3 different restaurant options. I recommend this hotel for anyone after a few days of relax.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
Thank Fabio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

The hotel is situated in beautiful and immaculately maintained grounds on the water's edge. Service and cleanliness are what one would expect of a 5-star hotel. Our room, although not huge, was a reasonable size, comfortable and well-appointed. A good range of food with mains changed daily, we used the buffet options for dinner every night of our stay as the choice and variety were so good that the a la carte menu was not needed. Wines were interesting and good value - I have paid similar prices (and more!) for mediocre house wines in London restaurants. Bar drinks and hotel extras (e.g. spa treatments, beach loungers etc) not cheap but if this is a problem don't choose a 5-star luxury hotel - you get what you pay for, and quality service, environment, produce and surroundings are what you get here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Just back from three nights here. Stunning grounds, beautiful beach (though not particularly big and, like all Spanish beaches, shared with everyone). A surprise room upgrade made our already discounted B&B deal (booked direct through the Barcelo site) feel like phenomenal value against ratecard. Not cheap to eat dinner here, but it is a classy joint and the buffet breakfasts and dinners are good quality, varied and fun. The restaurant tables on a covered balcony have possibly the greatest views of any restaurant I've ever eaten in! The staff are excellent throughout - discreetly efficient and friendly.

Guests were a mix of European nationalities; some family groups - there's no shortage of things for kids to do - but the overall age profile when we were there was a little biased towards the older end of the scale. It sets itself up as a genteel establishment and hits the spot in most ways. Certain aspects, like a boring old rectangular pool (which has a scary 12ft deep end!), may feel rather dated to some, though were fine with us. If you're enjoy nightlife, this place probably isn't the best option. The nearest town (Port de Pollenca) is 8km away over a switchback corkscrew road so you'll need a taxi.

On the downside I would only say that the wine list prices changed while we were there - a bottle that we had on the first night was €10 more expensive the second time we visited and there were other changes too. That was a bit disappointing.

Despite the prices, we would go again simply because of the amazing location, lovely staff and peaceful nature of the place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

The hotel is in the most beautiful setting. The gardens are beautiful, a mix of wild and manicured. It has a fantastic pool and a feel of bygone splendour without being at all opulent. There is loads for kids to do from canoeing and sailing to table tennis.
The food in the restaurant could do with a revamp but the setting is amazing. The beach restaurant is great.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Una76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port de Pollenca
2.9 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,174 reviews
39.4 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#7 of 181 in Calvia
1,010 reviews
3.4 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#10 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.4 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
886 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sis Pins
Sis Pins
#5 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
753 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel

Address: Playa de Formentor, 3, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range: $245 - $656 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Formentor Royal Hideaway is a luxurious establishment located in the Formentor Cape, North from the Mallorca island, at the foot of the famous Formentor beach and surrounded by 1,200 hectares of Mediterranean forest. Throughout its history, the hotel has been the place of choice for numerous renowned characters as a place to repose and relax. This famous hotel is surrounded by crystal clear waters and spectacular views over the Formentor Cape bay. The Barcelo Formentor Hotel has a romantic and peaceful appeal. A special hotel due to its magnificent rooms, the soothing sound of the waves and the sea breeze that drift round in the hotel, and the peace inspired by its Mediterranean gardens and memorable views. Connect with the tranquillity and equilibrium of the pure air of the Mediterranean while you enjoy a delicious dinner. Befitting a hotel of this class, we offer you a remarkable dining experience in our 5 restaurants, each one characterised by their excellent service and high standard cuisine. The hotel also offers 5 function rooms, ensuring that each and every event held here may be unique and successful. Taking advantage of the outstanding location, the hotel organises horse-back riding and sailing, amongst many other activities – all planned for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Port De Pollenca
Port De Pollenca Barcelo
Hotel Formentor
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel Majorca/Port De Pollenca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing