We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old school pleasures”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old school pleasures”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Just back from three nights here. Stunning grounds, beautiful beach (though not particularly big and, like all Spanish beaches, shared with everyone). A surprise room upgrade made our already discounted B&B deal (booked direct through the Barcelo site) feel like phenomenal value against ratecard. Not cheap to eat dinner here, but it is a classy joint and the buffet breakfasts and dinners are good quality, varied and fun. The restaurant tables on a covered balcony have possibly the greatest views of any restaurant I've ever eaten in! The staff are excellent throughout - discreetly efficient and friendly.

Guests were a mix of European nationalities; some family groups - there's no shortage of things for kids to do - but the overall age profile when we were there was a little biased towards the older end of the scale. It sets itself up as a genteel establishment and hits the spot in most ways. Certain aspects, like a boring old rectangular pool (which has a scary 12ft deep end!), may feel rather dated to some, though were fine with us. If you're enjoy nightlife, this place probably isn't the best option. The nearest town (Port de Pollenca) is 8km away over a switchback corkscrew road so you'll need a taxi.

On the downside I would only say that the wine list prices changed while we were there - a bottle that we had on the first night was €10 more expensive the second time we visited and there were other changes too. That was a bit disappointing.

Despite the prices, we would go again simply because of the amazing location, lovely staff and peaceful nature of the place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    148
    70
    42
    21
See reviews for
185
334
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

The hotel is in the most beautiful setting. The gardens are beautiful, a mix of wild and manicured. It has a fantastic pool and a feel of bygone splendour without being at all opulent. There is loads for kids to do from canoeing and sailing to table tennis.
The food in the restaurant could do with a revamp but the setting is amazing. The beach restaurant is great.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Una76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haltwhistle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2014

It's a while since I stayed here but I had a lovely time. Enjoyed the food. The hotel was clean and tidy" but a little tired. The buses were easily accessible from here and we made good use of them.
The staff were helpful.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel is in the best location possible. Totally amazing... the only downside for me is that you have to pay extra to use a sunbed on the beach - 40 euros per day for two beds and a parasol. Call me mean but I think this should be included in the cost of a 5* hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackiequinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Lovely hotel with wonderful grounds which were very well maintained, the staff could not do enough but did not feel overbearing at any time, the pools were spotless with the service of the hotel continued around the pool and beach area.
The restaurant was set on the terrace overlook the gardens and out to sea, the views only matched by the food and impeccable service.
Our room was a standard garden view but was spotless and well appointed.
We would return and stay longer next time.
So good to find a hotel that lives up to the blurb and the staff go the extra mile.

Room Tip: Only a few sea view room have a balcony, No garden rooms do
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pollensa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Just stayed for 4 nights at Barcelo Formentor, wished we had stayed longer, excellent staff, wonderful room.
Buffet was exceptional quality.
Location was perfect lovely gardens leading to the sea.
Sad to leave.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful grounds, stunning views, gorgeous beach and great staff.

However, the hotel has obviously seen better days and would enjoy a sensitive refurbishment.
The bathroom in my room (whilst clean) was a hotchpotch of different tiles - with only one of the original marble tiles remaining , highlighting its former glory, whilst the newer bright white ceramics created a less than luxurious feeling. This was continued with the use of bright lighting and an old bathtub and taps, that looked like they'd seen better days. The frosted glass door into bathroom also looked like it had seen better times, it also sounded that way too, as it aggressively creaked open.
The room itself was adequately furnished, but the laminate flooring provided a cheap feeling, that let the rest of the decor down.
Additionally, whilst I welcomed the tea and coffee facilities, the only place to plug the kettle in was the bedside tables and I wasn't overly comfortable doing that - but it's doable. The free wifi though was a big plus - and it worked around the whole grounds.
I booked a half board package and I'd highly recommend doing so.
The buffet breakfast was good and the buffet dinner the same. However, whilst the starter sections of the buffet were superb, I was disappointed each evening by the main courses, as they were predictably cool - and I was the first person into the restaurant every evening (but they were well presented).
I was also disappointed by the hotels gym facility, four cardio machines and a weight contraption - all of which were pretty old.
Moreover, I found there was an awful lot of unused space, that could have been utilised to provide additional services - larger more up-to-date gym facility perhaps?

If the hotel was refurbished up to a true five star standard - marble bathrooms, large soak tub, separate showers, real hardwood flooring, greater use of public areas - like the above mentioned gym, this hotel would be incredible.

I'd also like to make a point of saying the prices charged in the hotel are reasonable for this standard accommodation - in fact, it's far cheaper than many hotels. That said, I would have appreciated complimentary water around the pool and the offer of tap water at dinner.

In all this hotel is good - but, with some refurbishment and a few added extra luxuries this hotel has the potential to be a 6 star resort. I only wish Barcelo would plan on selling this place to the four seasons/ritz carlton etc...but then again, it would cost a fortune to stay here - but I'd certainly return.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank DerbyBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port de Pollenca
2.9 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
#5 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.4 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
#12 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
3.4 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#9 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel

Property: Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Address: Playa de Formentor, 3, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Formentor Royal Hideaway is a luxurious establishment located in the Formentor Cape, North from the Mallorca island, at the foot of the famous Formentor beach and surrounded by 1,200 hectares of Mediterranean forest. Throughout its history, the hotel has been the place of choice for numerous renowned characters as a place to repose and relax. This famous hotel is surrounded by crystal clear waters and spectacular views over the Formentor Cape bay. The Barcelo Formentor Hotel has a romantic and peaceful appeal. A special hotel due to its magnificent rooms, the soothing sound of the waves and the sea breeze that drift round in the hotel, and the peace inspired by its Mediterranean gardens and memorable views. Connect with the tranquillity and equilibrium of the pure air of the Mediterranean while you enjoy a delicious dinner. Befitting a hotel of this class, we offer you a remarkable dining experience in our 5 restaurants, each one characterised by their excellent service and high standard cuisine. The hotel also offers 5 function rooms, ensuring that each and every event held here may be unique and successful. Taking advantage of the outstanding location, the hotel organises horse-back riding and sailing, amongst many other activities – all planned for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Barcelo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Port De Pollenca
Port De Pollenca Barcelo
Hotel Formentor
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel Majorca/Port De Pollenca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing