We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip Off Mediocraty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Again this is not about the hotel but the restaurant on the beach, platje mar. I have lived in Mallorca for over twenty years. This beach restaurant linked to the Formentor hotel is a disgrace and an absolute rip off living in the bygone years still thinking that people are dumb enough to think it is worth getting ripped off just to eat at a place with some history...I would be embarrassed charging the prices they charge. €4,30 for a cafe cortado (espresso) for example!!!! Then expect to drink your wine out of plastic cups at a table set with zero care or thought. Come on rip off people; seriously.... are you trying to attract custom or turn it away? With so much competition in Mallorca surely a little more of an effort has to be made to set an example. After all, most people have driven some distance to get to the hotel. This place for it's average food and poor attitude can not be recommended. Oh and by the way to avoid paying the ridiculous charge to park in the car park next to the restaurant just tell the "guard" that you
are meeting guests of the hotel at the hotel to be let through and park for free in the hotel car park. You then have a five minute walk back down the road to the restaurant saving you a few euros in parking............which you are certainly going to need after you get the food bill!!!!!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
4  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (780)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 780 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2014

Not cheap, but we felt the money was well worth it. Superb location - excellent facilities and food. Great service. A beautiful package if you want a bit of peace & tranquility and a special self indulgent treat!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Had a fantastic stay at the hotel. Excellent room, balcony and sea view, beautiful hotel surroundings, very good pool facilities, excellent restaurant and food, and very friendly and helpful hotel staff. I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Jakob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

A monumental hotel and park in all its 1929 grandeur, in the middle of the probably most beautiful place on the island. A beach that beats the Carribean both by the views and the colours of the sea. So, why a "poor" rating? Because it is all about the hotel, not about the customers. You don't feel like a guest, you feel like a cash cow. The owners seem to believe that after you've paid a five-star room rate, you will be happily paying 4 EUR for a small bottle of water, 19 EUR for a sandwich, and 40 EUR per day for beach towels and an umbrella. All the small things that count to make a stay a good experience were wrong or missing. It is one thing to tick the criteria for a five star rating, it is another to actually provide the service, guests expect and pay for. In fairness, the staff were receptive to our feedback and made a real effort to improve.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room to the rear, which was quiet and overlooked majestic trees. Others told us that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirBFormentor, Director General at Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

As General Manager I warmly appreciate the comments of every guest. In this case I specially thank you that you recognize the receptivity of our team and our efforts to improve. We all understand that any guest telling us about his disappointment is a new opportunity to improve our services, a new opportunity to grow. For that reason I cannot agree with you that in Barceló Formentor it is all not about the customers, especially in this case in which from the first moment you have shared your comments with us just a few moments after your arrival I have personally talked to you, apologized and reacted to try to recover your confidence, trying to improve our services taking into consideration your point of view. Our team has followed up your whole stay trying to assure that you had a pleasant stay, I really regret that it was not enough to gain your confidence.
I have to admit that the first days in which we reopen the hotel for a new season are quite difficult for us, as we have to concentrate very much on everything working properly, and resolving without any disturbance for our guests the technical and operational problems that could appear on an property with 85 years of history. You checked-in the day we were just opening and I am sure that this may have caused the lack of details you have missed to have a good experience. Nevertheless it is not an excuse, our commitment is your satisfaction from the first to the last day in which we keep our door open, and not having achieved your expectations, even despite the efforts of all of us, I apologize once again.
On the other hand I cannot avoid to feel your comments as quite unfair:
You start describing Formentor in a fabulous way as the paradise without doubt it is, and of course you are free to criticize the prices of certain products and services in our hotel, but I am sure you would agree with me that the price of our rooms in April, even during the Easter-holidays and the whole month of May is far under any comparable hotel in the island. As an experienced traveler you certainly must know that right now it is not possible to stay all over Europe at a hotel in a paradise like Formentor for the price we are actually selling our rooms for this spring.
As you rightly mentioned, in Formentor we charge a fee for sunbeds and sunshades on the beach, at the pool and gardens area we offer them complimentary to our guests, but the beaches in Spain are public, and the services on the beach a public administrative concession. For that reason we cannot offer them just to our guests. On the beach just in front the hotel we charge to our guests a special price of 16 euro for a sunbed, 40 euro for 2 sunbeds and a sunshade, and 60 to a double Balinese-bed with a sunshade, always including towels, and with higher prices for people not staying at the hotel. We do offer lower prices at the to the hotel farthest parts of the Formentor beach and this allows us to concentrate visitors and hikers on the widest part of the beach, keeping the part of the beach close to the hotel with the atmosphere we want to offer to our guests.
We are aware that those can be understood as high prices, but we believe that the majority of our guests prefer to pay for that and that these area keeps its peacefulness and exclusivity.
Regarding our food-prices, we offer to our guests a range of sandwiches from 14 to 19 euro, but we believe absolutely that they are worth it.
Finally I would like to stress that we do not believe at all our point of view is worthier than the one of our clients, for that reason you can be sure that I take your comments into consideration and that we will try to improve our services following your valuable comments.
Best regards,
Salvador Aparisi - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The hotel is a lovely building,the hotel grounds and gardens are something to behold.But the prices are ridiculous,wether you eat a la carte or use the buffet ,I am afraid it is just not worth it.By that I mean the food is not of the quality that justifys these prices .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank notalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Remote tip of the Island of Mallorca, Beautiful drive to the hotel, spectacular beach and pool.
Quiet, Romantic,Beautiful Gardens. Fantastic veranda with views of the water and mountains while sitting there for breakfast and dinner. Flowers of every sort well manicured grounds and great little walkways all to yourself. Very nice people both visitors and hotel staff. Food variety is great, nice wines, sweet deserts. A fantastic place to unwind and enjoy your partner.

Room Tip: There are several with balconies that have fantastic views facing south
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

(this review is not about the Barceló hotel nearby, which should be very nice to stay, but about the beach restaurant which is part of this hotel)
After a few hours relaxing on the wonderful beach in the bay of Formentor, we decided to have lunch in the restaurant right on the beach front. A beautiful location!
The menu was very limited, and the prices just amazing... €8,00 for a glass of wine, which comes in a plastic! glass. €5 for a coffee (probably comes in a plastic cup too...), €38 for a jar (3/4 ltr.) of sangria, €18 for a Club Sandwich, etc. The portions of food are just average.
For these prices I expect at least some proper glassware and cotton on the table, not paper and plastic! The service was, considering the prices, well below average.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank tezpigeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port de Pollenca
2.9 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,158 reviews
39.4 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#5 of 181 in Calvia
1,004 reviews
25.4 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#10 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,024 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
#5 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,243 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel

Address: Playa de Formentor, 3, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range: $243 - $592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Formentor Royal Hideaway is a luxurious establishment located in the Formentor Cape, North from the Mallorca island, at the foot of the famous Formentor beach and surrounded by 1,200 hectares of Mediterranean forest. Throughout its history, the hotel has been the place of choice for numerous renowned characters as a place to repose and relax. This famous hotel is surrounded by crystal clear waters and spectacular views over the Formentor Cape bay. The Barcelo Formentor Hotel has a romantic and peaceful appeal. A special hotel due to its magnificent rooms, the soothing sound of the waves and the sea breeze that drift round in the hotel, and the peace inspired by its Mediterranean gardens and memorable views. Connect with the tranquillity and equilibrium of the pure air of the Mediterranean while you enjoy a delicious dinner. Befitting a hotel of this class, we offer you a remarkable dining experience in our 5 restaurants, each one characterised by their excellent service and high standard cuisine. The hotel also offers 5 function rooms, ensuring that each and every event held here may be unique and successful. Taking advantage of the outstanding location, the hotel organises horse-back riding and sailing, amongst many other activities – all planned for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Port De Pollenca
Port De Pollenca Barcelo
Hotel Formentor
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel Majorca/Port De Pollenca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing