We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderfull” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
1 review
“Wonderfull”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I've been there for a very nice week vacation.
The restaurant on the beach is fantastic, the disches are great. If you go for Meat or Fish it's fantastic.
Enjoy the pool ora go for a boat ride.
The service is very good.
Enjoy a very silent place, in the middle of the threes and the wonderfull sea

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank _Julian_JD_JD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    142
    70
    42
    21
See reviews for
179
319
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Somebody has already said that this is, they consider, the best hotel on Majorca. We have recently had the luxury of spending seven days here. Nothing much to add to the reviews already posted and feel most will leave this hotel feeling revived and relaxed. Great service and very well organised, especially the waiting and kitchen staff with superb breakfast/eggs cooked to perfection at time of asking. Loved the gardens with the smell of lemons, grapefruit and oranges and also the sound of the nightjars at dusk. Good massage treatment on last day at very short notice. One minor moan....would have been nice to have had more choice for eating venue at night but realise we were slightly early in the season and therefore the beach restaurants are closed which restricts you to hotel dining room only. Apparently everything kicks in more in May/June. Bus ride to the port exhilarating with sharp bends and a bus driver who speaks little english but loves his rock music. Hoping to return to enjoy this stunning hotel and location in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trish52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel,is trying to be something it isn't! Staff rude and so over priced for what it is. It looks stunning but that doesn't equal quality. Love Formentor and the beaches are beautiful but hotel over rated! Oh no hot water one day so no coffee in the beach side bar!!! Come on guys get it right!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed only for two nights but I love the old world feeling of one of Churchhill's favourite places, many amazing stories in this wonderful old world hotel, white stucco fronted luxury and style enjoyed by Agatha Christie, JFK, Onassis and many more.

The views and smells in this pine forest bay are outstanding a great mediterranean experience to rival the south of France. Tip the beach side fish restaurant. It doesn't get much better.

Room Tip: Ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 235BenMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

A wonderful stay in a luxury hotel. Absolutely first class in all respects, all the staff were friendly and helpful, and they all seemed to speak English. Standards that one tends to think have disappeared for good are very much in evidence here at the Barcelo Formentor. Superb position on the edge of the sea surrounded by lovely gardens. Wonderful food with amazing buffets made one look forward to each meal. Tastefully decorated throughout without being flashy the bedrooms are comfortable but not overlarge and clean pillowslips and towels daily were such a luxury. Two large swimming pools with well spaced out sunloungers. Bliss: can't wait to go again, if we can afford it!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
308 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I went back to this hotel for another visit a few months after the last one to check if my impression was right at that time. And guess what: It was! The staff at the reception is still unfriendly and unable to pre-fill the forms, even for a repeat visitor. When I told them that even the cheapest hotel can do this, they said that they do not care about what others can do. And that is actually what most of the staff in this hotel thinks! Good protection by the union is all they need and then they can do what they want. On the other hand, I noted that the staff in the restaurant is attentive as are those who clean the rooms. Which, obviously, are still too small and too old-fashioned for the price you pay. So think of it that way: You pay for the superb location, the well-kept gardens and the quite acceptable buffet (don't take a-la-carte), but for sure not for the room or the service!

Room Tip: go for a room on the 3rd floor over the gardens (east side) and not the west side which is above the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank HansM1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Since first visiting the beach at Formentor in 1972 on our honeymoon we have returned many times with our children and recently with our grandchildren. We all love the beach and finally we decided to have a few days at the hotel. We booked a standard sea view room but were upgraded to the Grace Kelly suite!! This was a great surprise and very special. Apart from the wonderful room though we found the hotel met all our expectations. The staff were very attentive and friendly and having stayed in 5 star hotels all over the world we found its character and history much more interesting than the usual bland hotel where you could be anywhere. The food was wonderful both in the buffet and the other restaurants. The pool and gardens are outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosalind N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
#5 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
La Goleta Hotel de Mar
#6 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
3.4 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#9 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#2 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel

Property: Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Address: Playa de Formentor, 3, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Barcelo Formentor***** is a luxurious establishment located in the Formentor Cape, North from the Mallorca island, at the foot of the famous Formentor beach and surrounded by 1,200 hectares of Mediterranean forest. Throughout its history, the hotel has been the place of choice for numerous renowned characters as a place to repose and relax. This famous hotel is surrounded by crystal clear waters and spectacular views over the Formentor Cape bay. The Barcelo Formentor Hotel has a romantic and peaceful appeal. A special hotel due to its magnificent rooms, the soothing sound of the waves and the sea breeze that drift round in the hotel, and the peace inspired by its Mediterranean gardens and memorable views. Connect with the tranquillity and equilibrium of the pure air of the Mediterranean while you enjoy a delicious dinner. Befitting a hotel of this class, we offer you a remarkable dining experience in our 5 restaurants, each one characterised by their excellent service and high standard cuisine. The hotel also offers 5 function rooms, ensuring that each and every event held here may be unique and successful. Taking advantage of the outstanding location, the hotel organises horse-back riding and sailing, amongst many other activities – all planned for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Port De Pollenca
Port De Pollenca Barcelo
Hotel Formentor
Formentor, a Royal Hideaway Hotel Majorca/Port De Pollenca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing