We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (945)
Filter reviews
945 results
Traveler rating
564
208
89
53
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
564
208
89
53
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pi restaurant formentor beach beautiful hotel beach bar private beach pine trees per day buffet restaurant relaxing stay a la carte menu main restaurant traditional hotel sea view hotel guests hire car year after year tennis courts
Filter
Updating list...
495 - 500 of 945 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I wanted to escape the cheap crowds of Mallorca and booked this famous hotel where people like Churchill and Schmidt stayed but now, it is all the same: Cheap tourists which children who do not know how to behave fill this hotel. How sad. And the prices are very high, a gin tonic costs you Euro 15.40 and a la carte dinner with two glasses of open wine cost me 84 Euros. The rooms are old-fashioned, small in and in need of a renovation and the staff is not able to speak English or German well enough. But the location is absolutely splendid and the best on this island, in my humble opinion. But when you belong to a hotel chain, this is what you get....

Room Tip: Go for a sea facing room, the others face the parking lot and are not worth the effort
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HansM1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Ok, so we didn't stay here but thought it useful to share my experience of the beach front bar and restaurant. Drinks were expensive but as to be expected as we knew that this was a good quality hotel and didn't mind.

However, the place was maybe half full in mid afternoon and it took a while (10 mins) to get our drinks order taken. The waiters were reminiscent of Fawlty Towers which we found odd for a place that trades on it's distinguished history and name. Several tables of people around us were not getting served in a hurry and had drinks missing when they finally arrived. After deciding not to bother eating here we eventually got la cuenta and then waited 15 minutes for our change which hadn't materialised! After waiting up at the bar for another 5 minutes it transpired our change had gone to another table!

We had at least expected good service with our pricey drinks but it was terrible and not what I would expect from an alledged premium property that boasts celebrity and royal guests. On this basis we would not stay here.

On a positive, the beach is wonderful although you can enjoy that without staying at the hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank EssJayWhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Just returned from a fantastic 5 days at the Formentor on Majorca. Old style with modern facilities. Room great; service excellent; pool good for lazing and swimming; sea 30 seconds away and again good for swimming; scrumptious breakfast and food in general top quality. Really really relaxing time. Strongly recommend a hire car and go to Pollenca (not the touristic port) for the sunday market and/or buy local bread, cheese, meat and wine for fantastic picnic lunches. Also, Pollenca good for non-touristic restaurants - like Font del Gall; Slivia and Stay (Port de Pollenca).

We had an issue with our booking on arrival which was sorted out quickly and extremely courteously.

Will definitely go back

Room Tip: Always go for sea view and a hire car
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanOCDollar_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Just got back from a short stayin Barcelo Formentor and must say i am impressed. Its a magical place and a must visit when in Mallorca. I must also mention the perfect Pasta Marinara dish at the Italian beach restaurant. WOW.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nix P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic holiday at the Barcelo Formentor.

If you enjoy old fashioned luxury, then this is the place for you. The lack of flash new money was a pleasant surprise as we were looking forward to a relaxing week at this renowned hotel. It may not have a new gym, or a bar in the pool but that's its appeal...and don't forget to bring your smart trousers for the evening dinner (men!), no shorts allowed.

If you like to meet lots of new people, this won't be for you, as those people who come back year after year love to keep themselves to themselves!

Don't try and save money on your initial booking, a sea view with terrace is vital, and there are only 12 out of the 112 rooms, and whilst you are there the small amount of increase in booking one of these rooms is about equivalent to a days food and drink!! Even when compared to other 5 stars, it is eye wateringly expensive for refreshments. Let's look at some examples, house champagne £32 per glass compared with £24 at the Ritz! Evening meal has a choice of A la carte or a buffet ( £45 each). If your thinking that the accommodation price is good value, please be aware of the extras....we budgeted for £250 per day! The sunbeds on the beach are priced to prevent non residents using them, but at £50 for a bed style version, most residents baulked at the thought themselves.

Also be aware that there in no shop within 10k, so you have no option to 'top-up' during your stay.

But if price is the only thing to complain about, I don't think that's bad....do you?

In summary we loved our stay, had a great week, just make sure you're sitting down when you get your room bill.

Room Tip: Always ask for a sea view terrace, but these book up first!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews