We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apartments Oro Playa
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good value and location”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

If you want high quality and luxury surroundings this is not for you. If you want value for money in a great location, and can see past the shabby rooms, then go for it. Rooms are clean but tired. Staff are great. Choice of bars, restaurants and beach are all in walking distance.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    240
    104
    39
    25
See reviews for
350
119
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Conwy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Water polo was great it really got you in the mood thanks to ken the entertainer he always said aaaallllllrrrrrrriiiiiiiggggghhhhttttt
I can't believe the bad reviews yes It needs updating but it is fine you are only in there when you sleep and in the morning book Ito playa it is the best trust me

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was our second visit to the Oro Playa - we love the location and the atmosphere, despite the apartments being a little shabby they are very good value for money. [A week here in the summer holidays (without flights) will cost you less than renting a shabby caravan on the UK coast in the rain.] It is a 5-minute stroll to the beach and Pine Walk, and ten minutes to the market square where the market is held on Wednesday.

Initially we were disappointed that Coco had not returned this year but the brilliant smile of Super Ken (adding the "Super" was definitely required!) more than made up for it. Ken really was a super personable chap who got on with young children, grannies and all those in between. His bingo-calling skills left a little to be desired but hey, a chap can't be good at everything?! His daily 11am Aquacise classes with pretzel-shaped noodles were extremely popular as were all of his activities throughout the day.

Yes the sunbeds (new from last year) were already broken and the pool wasn't swept as often as last year either but we must remember than Spain are in the midst of a bad economic situation so they probably had to cut back on staff. The staff who were there, were happy and smiley and approachable, be it the ladies who made over the room, the bar staff or the reception staff.

There are a lot of what other people would call "better" places around here but they are also a lot more expensive. For us, this was a quality for money holiday which we enjoyed tremendously and we will be going back!

Room Tip: There are no lifts and some rooms, especially on the second floor, can be difficult for those with m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoH1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Peak, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Unfortunately, or as it turned out, fortunately, I read the reviews on The Oro Playa, a week before we went there. We have been visiting P.P. for 20 years and mainly stayed in the upmarket area of C'an Singala. We knew exactly where we would be,as The Bar Coral, opposite has been 'our local' and favourite eating place for 20 years.

I was very happily surprised by the Oro Playa, as our beds were very sleepable (and I have a great back problem). The appartment was very well serviced, clean towells and bedding were a regular feature, with never more than a one day gap. The pool always looked fresh and clean. The staff were friendly. O.K. the balcony tables were a bit bashed around the edges, but they were kept clean and the balcony was swept five days per week.

We didn't use the sun beds, but watched from the balcony, as people tried to find a working one! Neither did we use the sofa beds, as beds, in the lounge, though my husband never found sleeping on them in the late afternoon a problem!!

Super Ken is a great asset, always happy and cheerful. Also bar staff are are very good, never closing the bar without warning. Reception staff are welcoming and cheerful and housekeeping staff do a brilliant job, even the balconys, as I have watch them doing others so, known mine must be as clean as it looked.

All in all, I will be very likely to return and wll recomend to others. Whilst I agree with many reviews, that some refurbishment, would be helpful, I think that, during such a great recession, they are doing everything possible to ensure that we have a comfortable, worry free, happy holiday.

Room Tip: Try to book in blocks A-D for the morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosalind P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Just back from 4th visit, each time for a fortnight. As ever, brilliant location, large un-fussy apartment (especially great for two) with all the basics you need. Unpretentious place with friendly and helpful staff. Only 'complaint' is that after two weeks I was looking forward to a more comfortable bed.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet apartment at the back on the ground floor, if like us you like quiet, privacy and ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slater45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The apartments are in a great position, only minutes from Pine Walk and the local bars and restaurants. It's shame that Oro Playa can't live up to the location. As stated in other reviews, the loungers around the pool need to be replaced, most have broken backs which cannot be adjusted. The pool area was not tidied for the seven days we were there with loungers and air beds left in a haphazard way around the pool. Some of the equipment in the apartments need to be replaced as they seem to have come to the end of the useful life. However, the staff at reception and Ken, the entertainment rep did their best to bring the apartments up to an acceptable level. In conclusion, a great position, but let down by the shabby and unmaintained feel of the place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at the Oro Playa apartments last year and my son had such a great time with Coco the rep we thought we would return. Coco has left the apartments and a new rep known as Super Ken has taken his place. What a find how do these apartments find the best reps on the island! The apartments are still in need of a refurbishment but the location and Super Ken are so good you forget these things. Come on Oro Playa spend a little money and with Super Ken and the location you could be number 1 in trip advisor.

Room Tip: Try the restaurant Guru just up the road its excellent. Also a bottle of cava in the bar in the apar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eolo
Hotel Eolo
#25 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#9 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
952 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sis Pins
Sis Pins
#6 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#2 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
586 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
#5 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
1,170 reviews
0.9 mi away
Romantic Hotel
Romantic Hotel
#21 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Oro Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Oro Playa

Property: Apartments Oro Playa
Address: Calle Formentor s/n, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apartments Oro Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apartments Oro Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments Oro Playa Hotel Port De Pollenca
Apartments Oro Playa Pollenca
Apartments Oro Playa Hotel Pollenca
Oro Playa Apartments
Apartments Oro Playa Majorca/Port De Pollenca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing