We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We LOVED the ORO PLAYA!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apartments Oro Playa
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“We LOVED the ORO PLAYA!”
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We LOVED our stay at the ORO PLAYA! It is 5 minutes from the beach,restaurants and shops and the infamous Pine Walk. The staff at the hotel were fabulous, from the helpful receptionists, the maids and of course, Coco the Clown. It is a very family-orientated aparthotel, with something for everyone and its location is second to none. There is entertainment on every night from the kids mini-disco at 9pm, bingo at 9.30pm then music or quiz or magic show usually from 10pm which were sometimes quite noisy but there was never any noise after 11pm. Water polo and other activities are organised through the day in a low-key way and there are pool tables, table tennis, air hockey and internet access for the older kids. There is a large pool and a great kids pool and the water seemed clean and fresh. The maids swept around the pool area every morning. While some people have raised concerns over it being a bit shabby, I would say these things are very cosmetic and nothing a quick refurb won't fix. There are far more positive things about the ORO PLAYA than a little bit of grout mould or sticky door. My daughter got locked in the bedroom as the door handle stuck but we could open it to let her out. I reported this to reception on Sunday and on Monday it was fixed. The maids came every other day and made the beds and changed the towels with sheets changed half way through the week.
I would definitely recommend these apartments for families though if you prefer quiet, early nights whilst on holiday then maybe this isn't the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoH1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    240
    104
    39
    25
See reviews for
350
119
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Arrived very early in the morning (4.30am) and first impressions were not good !The coach dropped us off at reception and the doors were locked !(The rep didn't wait with us and got back on the coach!(thanks for that Mr Thomas Cook rep).After a wait of 10mins the night receptionist decided to let us in!Check in was fast, thankfully ,
as we were tired and just wanted to get setled in .(travelled with husband and 13yr old son)

OK - rooms very basic and in need of a refurb ,however air con was great ,room clean and cleaned 6 days out of the 7 of our stay!(Bathroom especially in need of upgrade)
Kitchen area very basic however we don't cook on holiday so didn't bother us ,but don't think you could cook much if you wanted to!

Oro Playa is in a great location close to beach ,shops and restaurants .The pool area is clean but you do need to be up VERY early to get a sunbed and if you are lucky to get a sunbed most are damaged and very uncomfortable!Don't let this put you off as we had a fantastic holiday here ,the staff and other holidaymakers were all lovely.

Coco the animation guy was great with the kids ,young and teenagers alike and put on some good shows, may not be to all tastes but he works very hard and you are on holiday so just enjoy!Great restaurants in the area and our favourite was the Makasar which is on Pine Walk and has great seafood,pasta and meat dishes and the wine is not too bad at all!!!Overall had a great holiday at these apartments and if the refurb goes ahead for next year these will be amazing apts.My family ould return here regardless!

Room Tip: Our room was facing the street not the pool so was much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moorefamily05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We had read the reviews on this site and had expected the apartments to be in need of some refurbishment so on arrival we were not surprised to find that the apartment was a little dated and the bathroom could do with a bit of re-grouting! But it was very clean and tidy and there was plenty of space. We were in Block G and had an external view of the mountains, the sun greeted us every morning and we sat out on the balcony having breakfast in the peace and quiet, it was glorious.

The location is the major asset of these apartments, you and in the heart of the fabulous resort although you don't feel it. Across the relatively quiet road and a short stroll from the complex is the Pine Walk and the beach, we spent most of our days there. The sun beds and parasol cost 11 Euros for a day and there are deals to have them reserved for a week or half a week which were very reasonable.

That brings me back to the complex and the pool, it is a lovely pool, big enough for the number of people and the activities that take place during the afternoon. The major problem and something mentioned repeatedly by other reviewers is the issue of sunbeds and parasols. We never managed to get a sunbed, not that we were bothered about spending a whole day at the pool. But it did seem to us that you needed to be up very early to put a towel down and many people were particularly inconsiderate and booked several loungers and did not appear to use them until late afternoon - some never seemed to be used at all.

There is a sign up which says no reserving of sunbeds but nothing is done about it. Although we were in great admiration of one couple who had enough of this situation and took matters into their own hands and removed towels from loungers that remained unused all morning and placed them carefully on a grassy bank, we silently cheered their actions.

There were only four parasols around the pool but it is important to say that there is a shaded area with nice comfy wicker padded chairs which we used during the afternoon so shade was on offer and it was near the bar. The staff are lovely, clearly overworked, but most polite and helpful. We weren't interested in the entertainment provided but it wasn't 'in your face' and many people did clearly enjoy it.

We were aware of the planned changes to be made this Winter, I'm sure a lick of paint and some attention to the bathroom and air conditioning will really make a difference to these apartments. They have the advantage of a prime location and once renovated they will be perfect. I'm sure the prices will rise too!

We had a lovely week, we loved the resort and would recommend a visit to the Guru restaurant which isn't far away. Another tip, if you walk along the street behin the apartments you come to a children's charity shop, they have loads of lilos, buckets and spades, etc. Why spend 10 euros when you are only using them for a week or two? We had a lilo for 3 euros and left it for others to use!!! They also had loads of books to read.

We also had no problem with ants but did see them around, it's a hot country and there are sugary drinks and ice creams so it is no surprise they are attracted to the pool area.

Take my advice, this is a location you should check out but ask for an external apartment for the views and it is a little quieter at night when the entertainment is on.

Room Tip: Ask for external rooms on the first or second floor, block G is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlythWinston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2011

great place, entertainer coco el moussaid was very welcoming and very nice throughtout the stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2011

peurto pollensa is a beautiful and fantastic resort lots of resturants, shops, beautiful beaches and a great market on wednesdays in the square. The resort itself is quite expensive for eating out with a family every night we would quite easily have run out of money, we used the supermarket eroski which was quite reasonable to buy food and drinks. The hotel has the perfect location 2 mins walk to the seafront. Coco the animation guy was the heart and soul of the hotel and children and adults could not help but like him he was fantastic full of energy and always happy to please. I have to agree with most of the reviews on here the hotel could do with a refub the rooms have seen better days but they were clean and the maid came in nearly every day and changed the towels and bed linen. Our air conditioning worked fine the patio door must be shut for it to work as their is a sensor on the door, as for the ants we were quite lucky only had a few but i know some had loads in their rooms. It did annoy me with the people who put towels on the sunbeds sometimes the night before so by 8am their were no sunbeds available and then they didnt use them till afternoon!!!!!

Room Tip: pool view - 1st floor J block
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geggytaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Just returned from a 10 day stay at Oro and must say it was one of the best holidays i've had with my family. Yes i agree that apartments need a lick of paint but what do you expect for the price! We had cleaning maids 3 times a week but they always knocked daily to see if we needed any clean towels or sheets etc.
There was not enough sunbeds which you find in most hotels but if your prepared to reserve them by 7am then you will get one, which we did every day, right by the baby's pool.
The location was outstanding as there were many restaurants right on the beach which was only a 2 min walk away and if you walk a further 5 mins away there is a square which also has plenty of restaurants but also many bars available.
We generally ate breakfast & lunch in our rooms and then ate out every evening which kept the cost down. Although we ate out every night, we made sure we was back in the hotel by 9pm for the entertainent provided by Coco. I've seen many entertainers but i have to say Coco was the best ever!!! I have never seen anyone who generally cares about making sure the kids have a great time at their Mini Disco the way he does. He finally managed on the last night to get my son Daniel to be one of his assistant clowns for the mini disco as he gets children to be clowns every night so that they really get involved, he was superb and also does daily Bingo and gets the assistant clowns to assist with the number calling which is hysterical. The evening entertainment also includes shows such as tribute acts or animal shows, spanish dancers etc. Coco also provided daily activities such as shooting, darts, water polo, pony riding & ko-karting as well as music being played all day as this was varied from old to recent chart music.

I shall be booking my holiday in January to the same place next Summer as it really was a terrific holiday and if you can ignore the interior then you will have a great time.
Also the people who stayed there were only English so the entertainment was only in English. Everyone was also so friendly.

Overall a great time had by me, my husband and our 4 year old son & 12 year old daughter as they made many friends such as Megan, Isablelle and i am looking forward to going back to see Coco for his final season next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Just returned from the best beach holiday that we have ever had. The Oro Playa complex met all of our needs for the perfect beach holiday.....
The 3rd floor apartment slept 4, with 1 bedroom (double bed), a sofa bed and a pull-out bed that stowed away beneath the other sofa in the living area. Perfectly adequate kitchen area and bathroom, with regular maid service. Balcony was big enough to eat at the table for 4 each morning and lunch time, while watching the goats in the Tremontana mountains behind the apartments.
We found all the staff to be friendly and helpful. The daily activities were fantastic, typically pool, table tennis, rifle and pistol shooting, with a water polo match at 17.00. Further to this, there was a free scuba taster session and giant "Zorb" balls for children to fall about in, on the water, for 7 euros.All overseen and organised by "Coco" the animation person. Coco has a gift for making everyone feel included and welcome (young and old).
Evening entertainment was always a children's disco, with Coco plus invited children dressed as clowns, leading the mini-disco. This was very popular with the small children, including our own 10 year old daughter. Following this, Coco and his clown helpers ran a bingo session for cash and wine prizes, then some more grown up entertainment, i.e Abba tribute group, girl singing trio, magician, etc All the acts were highly entertaining and professional. I did not like the animal act, where the young Spanish animal handler paraded various Mammals, Birds and Reptiles on stage and in the audience. The animals were kept in tiny boxes in a cabinet for the performance and remained in them for a long time after the show had finished. The handler delighted in shoving the large Python into frightened people's faces to get a reaction. I consider this to be cruel to the animal and the people who were obviously terrified of snakes.
The fabulous sandy beach is 50 yards from the apartment, with many lovely restaurants and supermarkets close by. It is possible to lay in the sun on the beach, with your head shaded by the Pine trees from the famous Pine-Walk ! We swam in the sea each day, watching the fish and hermit crabs, then sat by the pool after lunch before finding a restaurant for dinner. We usually paid approx. 50 euros for 4. with a few drinks. The food at the Capri bar (Mallorcan food) and Tolo's (great pizza and chips) is great, but there are many others.
During our stay, we only saw happy people and did not see anyone being rowdy or drunk anywhere.
We did not need to do trips out, as we had so much fun in port Pollensa. We did walk to cala Boquer for a picnic and swim once and very much enjoyed it. The trail is 3km along a stony path through a beautiful natural valley to a stony cove with deep clear water and is signed from the Oro Playa apartments. The descent to the cove is steep so take care. Highly recommended. I ran it most days for exercise before it got too hot.
Wednesday market for fresh produce plus trinkets, jewellery, bags, etc is well worth visiting. Lovely African lady doing hair braids for 8 euros made my daughter's day.
We all want to return to Port Pollensa next year and would love to stay at Oro playa again, especially as we hear it is to be refurbished after the summer season.
HAPPY HOLIDAYS........and happy memories of thee Oro Playa.

Room Tip: To turn on electric hob, you must first turn on the timer switch on the hob. 3rd floor apartments gi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eolo
Hotel Eolo
#25 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#9 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
955 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sis Pins
Sis Pins
#6 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#2 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
586 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
#5 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
1,172 reviews
0.9 mi away
Romantic Hotel
Romantic Hotel
#21 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Oro Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Oro Playa

Property: Apartments Oro Playa
Address: Calle Formentor s/n, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apartments Oro Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apartments Oro Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments Oro Playa Hotel Port De Pollenca
Apartments Oro Playa Pollenca
Apartments Oro Playa Hotel Pollenca
Oro Playa Apartments
Apartments Oro Playa Majorca/Port De Pollenca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing