We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“definately NOT 4 star food..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“definately NOT 4 star food..”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

the beginning
after a quick 2 hour flight followed by an hour from the airport by coach and you arrive at the Playa Mar.. lovely welcome awaits (sparkling wine/orange juice/biscuit.... nice touch.. we travelled as two sets of grandparents in our 50's and our own children in their 30's and 2 grandchildren age 5 and 3 years

Location
very cut off... its the very far end of the resort and on its own.. nearest restaurant is a good 20 minute stroll. nice walk.. (called the pine walk) very pretty scenes across the sea but you do get a bit sick of the walk all the time.. the hotel have its own little supermarket that caters for all of your holiday needs, but it is more expensive as there is no competition around

the rooms
apartments are well equipped, clean and comfortable. rooms have iron and ironing board... kettle/toaster/microwave, fridge with freezer bit... and hairdryer in the bathroom (wall fixed)
the showers are ok and hold their temperature..we were initially in a room over looking the road (block 4) but it was very noisy... its where the maids have their cupboards so trollies from very early in the morning.. and a sea plane starting up at 7:30am right outside the window.. plus of course the delivery lorries and dustbin trucks......but they kindly moved us to another block where we slept like babies in comfy beds..

Food.. thank GOD we didn't pay all inclusive.. we paid18e each for dinner and it was disgusting. 2 star at best. It is a buffet style lay out.. but the quality is very poor.. salads are a fairly safe bet (ish) I don't know what to say other than it is terrible and has a reputation of being so... some locals who were known to one of the grandparents suggested that we do NOT eat there.

Entertainment..
the reps do their best to ensure that the kids have plenty to do and to be fair. they work so very hard. they often seem like they're making it up as they go along. Our two enjoyed the couple of days that they went to the kids club and drop in during the day. the evening entertainment was very poor apart from one occasion when they had a four tops tribute who were brilliant.. the rest was mediocre and not worth staying for (enjoyed the snow white pantomime though)

Pool area
well now.. you need to be VERY quick in the morning (6am latest) if you want a sunbed because every single bed has a towel on by 8am and no one actually sits on them until 3pm half the time.
Fab pools though.. 1.4 metres is the deepest which I love.. kids pool is brilliant.. two other areas where there are water slides. kids loved them all..

indoor spa
initially free... but during the week they added that you have to pay to use it.. so be aware.. you also have to buy caps to wear (2e each )and it is only open to children from 1.10 to 4.20 each day and it is extremely dangerous!!!
So much so that I have written to Thomson to make them aware.. I am not a great swimmer and like to feel my feet on the bottom.. I checked the depth and it said 1.1 metres so I got in with my 3 year old grandson in my arms.. I had no sooner gone down the two steps and went under. I panicked.. he was weighing me down so I had to make him let lose.. I was trying to push him up at the same time as trying to stay up myself.. i am so grateful that my husband eventually saw us and got Harry out allowing me to calm enough to swim to the steps.. around the corner of the steps OUT OF VIEW until you are already out of your depth.. it says 1.9 metres!!!! terrifying.. and an accident waiting to happen. I have had nightmares ever since. it looks utterly beautiful - brand new and modern with sauna/Jacuzzi etc. they offer al sorts of massages etc at a price..but beware!!!!!

lots of places to eat once you reach the busier end of Porta Pollensa... and plenty of shops and music bars etc.. lovely views over the harbour and out to sea.

went to Pollensa market for the day on the Saturday... Loads of stores and a brilliant fruit and veg market.. stalls selling jewellery clothes, all sorts of handbags etc really day and a very pretty and worthwhile visit.. popped into the church (im not a site seer im afraid) but I really enjoyed it and thought it was spectacular!

I enjoyed Porta Pollensa and will return.. but I wouldn't return to Playa Mar.. much better hotels in the resort area where you don't have to walk so far to find a bit of life and alternative supermarkets etc

hope you find this useful

Room Tip: do not go for block 4 and ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ruth g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    823
    560
    170
    46
    20
See reviews for
1,213
164
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We just arrived back from a one week holiday at the Playa Mar, travelling with our 2 children (a 3 year old and a 1 year old). This was our first stay at a family resort and we were a little apprehensive about how it was going to be and whether it would be full of families with loutish behaviour. However the families here were all genuinely lovely. Our 1 year old had a high temperature halfway through the holiday and we were inundated with offers of support and help from every couple we spoke to.

When we arrived we were given a glass of Cava and the children had some orange juice. The rooms were fine for us and had a bedroom which was seperate from the living room (handy for night times) and the kitchen had a toaster, microwave, kettle and a couple of hobs but being half board meant we didn't have to cook anything, so didn't use the kitchen facility. There were plenty of plates and cups and saucepans. I could imagine the room being quite a squeeze for two adults and two older children.

The pool was lovely, and our children loved playing on the cow slides and swimming in both pools. We had a heat wave when we arrived (circa 30C), and there always seemed like plenty of space to swim despite nearly everyone in the complex cooling down in the water.

The hotel grounds were clean and well kept. The complex is actually pretty small and you can walk from one size to the other in a couple of minutes.

The food was great with lots of choice, and they have a lovely children's buffet which my three year old loved using. I can't praise the restaurant staff enough. They made such a fuss of the children and made our trip really special. The kids club is fantastic, and there are loads of sessions going on. It was nice for our three year old to get out of the heat for a couple of hours per day. We didn't use the creche but heard good things about it from others. There is also a small soft play area inside that you can use anytime of the day.

The entertainers were also fab, Tricky Nicky, Koko Pops and Rossy Rocks, had so much enthusiasm and energy, both of mine loved little pups and the kennel club in the evening. She keeps singing the songs even now and going on about TT (Thomson the Dog).
The area of port de pollenca is beautiful and peaceful with plenty of yummy tapas restaurants and amazing paella.

All in all a fantastic family holiday, made extra special by the wonderful staff at the Playa Mar.

Room Tip: We stayed in block two, which was quite noisy at nighttime due to the evening entertainment, i am gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beccav123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

My husband, daughter, son-in-law and 2 Granddaugters aged 4 and 10 months returned on 10th June, having spent 2 fabulous weeks and this wonderful hotel. We were half board and the food was first class and restaurant spotless. There was a wide choice of food at every meal. Catered so well for children and babies. Our apartment was very spacious and comfortable, cleaned every day and towels changed every day. Communal area were spotless as were the swimming pools. Plenty of entertainment for the. Children. And adults in the evening. Drinks at the bar were very reasonable. This was our first family holiday and we were a bit concerned about going to a family hotel but the Playa Mar exceeded our expectations, and the staff were fantastic and so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

We had a 2 week family break in the playa mar. Excellent entertainment team for children -work really hard. We stayed in self catering apt, air conditioning didn't work during our stay ,uncomfortable towards end of our stay with heat so could be problem in hotter mths. Apt cleaned daily, kitchen v basic and only one hob on cooker worked. Would also be nice if babies high chair could be left in apt if requested before visit as hotel appears to have plenty spare ones at the back entrances to complex.
Beautiful resort especially for families- would go back again!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank hug79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from the Playa Mar after a wonderful two week holiday. We travelled as a family of two adults and a six year old child. We really loved the hotel. Staff were helpful and friendly throughout. Check in was fast and efficient. Rooms were cleaned daily and communal areas were kept very clean.
The pool areas were great and our daughter especially loved the crab slide. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment overlooking the pool in block 3. It was modern and comfortable. The kitchen area is very small but that didn't matter to us as we only used it for cooking breakfast as we were self catering and went into town to eat at other times. I particularly want to mention the Thomson Team at the hotel who work so hard to
make it a great holiday for everyone. My daughter absolutely loved Tricky Nicky in particular, who no matter what time of day, always took time out to speak to her. She is a credit to the company as are Rossy Rocks, Smiley Jo and Coco Pops. The other members of team that we came into contact with were also friendly and professional. The only thing I would say about the entertainment is that it would be good to have some better quality professional acts on at night after the Thomson family show. The Gary Barlow tribute act was fantastic though.
It takes about 20 minutes to walk into Puerto Pollensa. Our daughter enjoys walking but in the heat this could prove a challenge for her, especially if going there and back 4 times a day. Sometimes we got a taxi one way which cost 5 euros.
The selection of restaurants in the town is fantastic and we had some lovely meals. All of the places we went to were very child friendly and made a huge fuss of our daughter. All in all a great family holiday. Thank you Playa Mar, we hope to return again soon!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Am a little late with my review but had to leave it all the same as I rely on others' reviews so I can make great choices!!!
Stayed here for 1 week in Oct 2013 SC with my mum and 2 little boys then aged 1 and 3 and have to say it was a fantastic family holiday. Thomson greeting on arrival was above what I could ever have expected with bubbly, fresh fruit and sweet treats.
Quick check in process from the staff on reception and onto our room which was lovely. Spotlessly clean and adequate SC facilities.
Kids pool was fabulous and there was no need to spend a fortune on inflatables to play with as everybody just shared!!! Brilliant.
When we couldn't be bothered to cook we just paid to go AI on the days we wanted to and the food was great. Staff everywhere from reception to the restaurant were excellent. Nothing was ever too much. And as for the cleaners well I cant compliment them more on how spotless they left the apartment and on the occasions when we were there they never made my little ones feel like they were getting in the way (although they really were!!!!)
Evening/day entertainment from the Thomson team again - superb.
In a nutshell - brilliant hotel. Tried to book again this year but all sold out so am heading to the vista badia in sa coma and hoping its as lovely as the playa mar was.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank caskenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

We were really impressed with this hotel. Yes the rooms need a little updating but aside from that, the place is great.

The pools are excellent albeit a little cold! With the crab slides being big enough for adults to use too. There is an outdoor play area which is a great distraction for young ones, as well as an ok indoor soft play area.

We didn't use the childrens' clubs as it's for children aged 3 upwards but they looked good. Evening entertainment was great for kids as well.

We upgraded to half board for 3 days and went out the other nights for dinner. It was cheaper to buy half board there than to do so in advance with Thomson. There are some great restaurants around the marina.

There is a small supermarket attached to the hotel. Very small but good choice of things to buy given the size.

It's a 20 or so minute walk into town. If you have a buggy the pine walk may be a bit bumpy but there are quiet parallel roads which can be used!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MichasUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
1,084 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aparthotel Club del Sol
Aparthotel Club del Sol
#24 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
53 reviews
0.8 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#10 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villac...
#8 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
991 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
565 reviews
1.5 mi away
FERGUS Style Pollensa Park SPA
FERGUS Style Pollensa Park SPA
#14 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa

Property: Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa
Address: Carretera Formentor s/n, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#5 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This complex in Puerto de Pollensa (Majorca) is surrounded by the natural beauty of Majorca's Northern coast. The excellent facilities offer fun and sports activities for the most demanding families. Disconnect at Playa Mar and get ready for your best holiday ever! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Playa Mar Hotel Port De Pollenca
Aparthotel Playa Mar Pollenca
Aparthotel Playa Mar Hotel Pollenca
Playa Mar
Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa Majorca/Port De Pollenca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing