We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Playa Mar & Spa Aparthotel
Nearby Hotels
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel(Port de Pollenca)
$1,105
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Aparthotel Galeon Suites(Port de Pollenca)(Great Value!)
$139
$135
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hoposa Bahia Hotel(Port de Pollenca)(Great Value!)
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$313
$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Capri(Port de Pollenca)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Illa d'Or(Port de Pollenca)(Great Value!)
$239
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hoposa Uyal Hotel(Port de Pollenca)(Great Value!)
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hobby Club Apartments(Port de Pollenca)(Great Value!)
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha(Port de Pollenca)(Great Value!)
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sis Pins(Port de Pollenca)(Great Value!)
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,730)
Filter reviews
1,730 results
Traveler rating
876
603
185
46
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
876
603
185
46
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthomson repskids clubself cateringcrab slidepine walkevening entertainmentpool areayoung childrennext yearfamily holidaythe hotel staffgreat holidaysoft play areathemed nightsmexican nightentertainment teamroom in block
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
896 - 901 of 1,730 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at the Playa Mar for the second year in a row for the first 2 weeks of August, and once again we loved it.

We found the bar, hotel, and reception staff courteous and friendly and also very helpful, always ensuring our holidays are as good as possible. The bar staff especially are wonderful and very charming, and after a rather unfortunate occurrence where my phone got stolen, the reception staff were beyond helpful in helping to fax my information over to local police.

There are a good selection of activities during the day to keep everyone entertained, and though the reps and activities do concentrate on younger children, my 16 year old daughter still loves the holidays and is never bored. We find that a lot of teens do visit with their families, and the kids enjoy meeting up each year.

The indoor pool is a great addition to facilities.. It was used often by my family for a cool down when outside got too busy, as the outdoor pool could get very congested. It is very well designed and the jacuzzi was perfect for relaxation.

Also, the location is beautiful, and though it is a 15-20 minute stroll along the pine walk to reach the restaurants, the walk couldn't be more idealistic, and a cab is a reasonable 5 euro to the town centre.

Thanks Playa Mar for another great holiday and we look forward to seeing you again next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Landed in the early hours, to then spend nearly 3 hours on a transfer coach, total joke as the trip should have taken no more than an hour! Sort it out Thomsons!!! Hotel was pleasant and the pool would have been lovely if we could have got in it, full of lilo's and various inflatables, no room for adults! This hotel is basically geared up for British families with children under 5, if you do not fall into this category, avoid at all costs! Kids pooing in the pool was not unusual, nor was the typical scrummage to get beds as close to the kids pools as possible. Having said all this the resort is lovely, fabulous restaurants and bars, the pine walk is stunning for a 20 minute stroll each evening into the the centre. Nice market, and lots of eateries with wifi. Would go back to the resort in a heart beat, but not to thus hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the mountain are just as good as pool view rooms, high floor far better.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4Stars021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful holiday at the playa mar. The hotel now has a new manager - Daniel Martinez and standards are higher than ever. The staff are extremely welcoming and eager to help, the food is of a high standard and the feel of the hotel is that nothing is too much trouble. The thomson staff are ever present and wonderful with the children and the entertainment is what you would expect from a family holiday and the kids love it. The hotel now has a wonderful addition of a large indoor pool and spa offering numerous reasonably priced treatments - we have decided to return in October as it no longer matters what the weather is like as you can swim inside. The resort itself, is in my opinion the best on the Island - numerous small shaded beaches and the water is shallow and child friendly. There are no rowdy stag or hen parties just families with children looking for a nice relaxing time. Please take the time to walk the promenade along the pine walks, no matter how many times I go to Pollenca I still have to sit by the illa d'or hotel and admire the view. I hope one day to retire to my place in the sun puerto pollenca.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank markbates72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed for two weeks at the beginning if August. There are plenty of plus points to this hotel, for example, the food is good with plenty of selection at dinner time (the breakfast is a bit repetitive but still good), the pool bar has plenty of space and the rooms are clean and cleaned regularly. The slides are great for kids with smaller facilities for toddlers and bigger slides for older children, but if you have teens the pool area would be frustrating. Although the pool itself is not small, it is far too small to accommodate the number if people at the hotel in high season, it's impossible to swim around in without being squirted, splashed or bumped into. The situation with loungers is also ridiculous, the loungers are all taken by 8:30, although more loungers are made available at ten, they never bother to unlock them til about quarter past and there is very little space left to put them. The hotel needs to implement a policy of moving towels off unoccupied beds. The pool alone is enough of an issue for us not to consider coming back here, but if you have small children it would be good for them. The evening entertainment is very butlins style but our 5 year old enjoyed it on the rare evenings we wanted to stay in the complex. The on site shop is highly overpriced but that wasn't a surprise. Although the staff were friendly, the service at lunchtime in the pool bar was very slow to take orders or even to notice customers, we regularly had to make ourselves known to the waiters or ask three or four times for the bill.

Room Tip: Our requests for a room were not met, we were told we could swap rooms mid way through our holiday but it would've required us to unpack and repack again
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed here for a week at the end of July. When we arrived late in the evening we noticed two things: the noise from outside, and the significant amount of excrement smeared around the toilet bowl and pedestal - on the outside, immediately below the hygiene seal that goes around the lid - in the bathroom. We didn't expect a maid to be available at short notice so we cleaned up ourselves, in a hurry to get our very tired daughter to bed.

That wasn't easy, because we were right next to the playground: it's supposed to close at 8 but it was left open and unattended until nearly midnight. It's important to stress that we're not describing young children playing, but groups of older children shouting, bawling and throwing play equipment around.

Still, we thought. At least there's the Kids' Club. Unfortunately it seems that staffing is significantly reduced before 1st July, and as a result the capacity for the first half of our holiday was limited to just 12 children - a tiny number for a complex almost exclusively used by families. Had we known in advance that the capacity was so limited we wouldn't have booked this accommodation, because that simply isn't enough to handle the demand: despite our best efforts and lots of queuing, every single attempt to get our daughter into kids' club was unsuccessful. We weren't the only family affected by this.

We did complain to Thomson/TUI on our return, and they sent us the most insincere apology imaginable: "We are sorry about the excrement," it said, thanking us for our feedback. We won't be travelling with Thomson again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerPlayaMar, Front Office Manager at Playa Mar & Spa Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Mr Gary M;
First of all we want to thank you for your feedback because it helps us to improve.
We want to apologize If you had to clean the toilet, but is the first time that we know about a problem like this.
All the other complaints, are out of our hands, the playground area is always locked by the Thomson staff, they pick up the key and they return it to us, it should be closed in the evening for everybody just to avoid the problems that your are writing to us. The queues at the kids club and staff shortages do not belong to us.
You are giving us a bad coment for things that they are not caused for the hotel and their staff.
The header of your review is not the most appropiate because give the other people a bad idea about the hotel.

Anyway, we want to thank you for your feedback and for letting us know about your experiencies at our hotel.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews