We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Children's Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Just returned from a 10 day holiday at the Playa Mar. Travelled with a 2yr old who loved the variety the hotel & resort could offer. I cannot praise the hardworking staff enough, particularly Donna (who found all the cutlery we lost!) & had the ability to remember everybody & treat you as an individual & to Tolo, who I think my daughter had her first crush on. We stayed half board and thought the range of food of a high standard for mass catering (particularly the runny fried eggs in the morning) and the separate kids menu. The hotel offers free wireless in the lobby & has a bank of 4 computers for use if you can't quite forget about home (I saw someone doing their online shop). My daughter loved the crèche & the pools but I would echo other reviews that even the small slides designed for that age group were too much for her although she is comfortable in the water. She also loved the beaches, they are ideal for kids with the waters gently shelving away. We loved the walk into town & yes the cobbles are hard on the buggy but they had a strangely calming effect & managed to send my daughter off to sleep surprisingly quickly. We had a room facing a quite road & generally we did not hear that much noise (apart from a bugler in the morning from the military base close by) so I guess we were lucky. We liked the hotel & resort so much we would definitely consider going back again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KNI10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,693)
There are newer reviews for Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,208 - 1,214 of 1,693 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stayed at the Playa Mar for one week in May & had a great time, Don't think I would like it in school holidays there would be to many kids, we are in our 50s & no kids. The apartments were clean & well furnished, we were self catering so just had our lunch at the bar not a big menu but ok. The apartments were a good way out of the resaught but the walk down the pine walk ever day was part of the holiday. The restaurants in Porto Pollenca are what we go for, so many nice restarants to choose from spoilt for choice.
The weather was very warm for May which was a bonus.

Room Tip: We had a room looking over the mountain it was lovely & quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank caz076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

we were at the playa mar for a week mid may, and we really enjoyed it alot. From the moment we arrived our 2 year girl was made a fuss of with lollipops on arrival and champagne & fruit for adults. The staff here are super efficient and friendly, special thanks for Donna, Martha, Carmen and the pasta man in the restaurant. We decided to go all inc, as we had never tried before and were willing to give it a go for a stress free hol. It cost a little over 500euro (2adults1child) to upgrade once we arrived, upgrading to half board was also an option. This included breakfast lunch & dinner buffet, all drinks including cocktails, and non alcoholic beers available too. limited choice of ice lollies, but perfect for kids. there was a fridge beside the pool bar that had sandwiches and fresh fruit, cookies from mid morn. We filled up the kids bottles for water at bar or restaurant everyday, never a prob. we did take the advice of bringing our own toddler cuttlery and i saw people with the packet of disposable bibs, prob would do this next time. the choice of food was excellent, always pizza and pasta available, various fish dishes, meat dishes, vegetarian and paella. enough deserts to feed a small army.
the entertainment staff we super, dont be afraid to get involved with the activities. special thanks to chloe, charly and emily for making our holiday so great and getting our little one so excited everynight for the dancing, I think she prefered it to the pools!

Room Tip: if you are concerned about noise ask for block 1 or 4. we were in 4 and noise wasnt a problem. enter...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank debarras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Overall a good hotel. This place caters for your childs every need and our 3 year old was in paradise with great swimming pools and kids club. Beware there are a lot of children and the pool area can be very crowded. There water slides are good but better for older children, even the smaller slides - we saw a few accidents and our fearless super swimmer 3 yr old found them too fast.

Kids club and creche are both fantastic. We enjoyed a couple of child free evenings and our children couldn't have been in safer hands.

The hotel is on the very outskirts of Port de Pollensa and is a good 20 minute walk into town. It is a beautiful walk, along the famous Pine Walk but quite a way if you have small children. We hired a car from Hyper rent a car and we'd have been lost without it. There are lovely little beaches within minutes of the hotel.

The hotel has a new spa with a great indoor pool - we used this a lot to cool down in the afternoon and it was usually empty.

This a family hotel and I would give it a miss if you don't have children.

There were a few downsides - the evening entertainment was terrible, really nothing going on and we expected more from a 4 star hotel. The rooms are quite basic, comforable except for the kitchen - it really is tiny. We were self catering so this was all the excuse we needed to eat out! we found the rooms noisey too so request a top floor, we moved after a few days and the difference was amazing.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the entertainment and on the top floor. We had a very noisey ground floor r...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rebecca g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We were there one week ago and we enjoyed a lot! Whole hotel is perfectly arranged for the families. We had halfboard and all the hotel staff is lovely, friendly and helping. I want to remark especially the spa which is very nice! We cannot wait to come back next year! Thank's to everybody! :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katarina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed here for a week at the end of August 2011. It's easy to see how this place can win awards, but I'm guessing that arriving towards the end of the season meant seeing the place short of it's best. The apartment was a good size for a family of four and generally kept very clean. However, the fridge was in a bit of state and the down pipe in the bathroom was seeping urine from the apartments above. Not at an alarming rate, but enough so that on the days when the room wasn't cleaned we came back to an awful stench. The other problem, as mentioned in so many other reviews, is the lack of sun beds. To be fair, there isn't room around the pools for a sun bed for everyone, so if sitting by the pool is your thing, be sure to get up early and join the army of men sent out to secure the family's beds.

It's not all negative though. If you don't have a leaky toilet, then the rooms are excellent. The entertainment is top class, although I wish the kiddie groups weren't split at different times. We'd rather have got rid of both kids at the same time, but being 4 and 9, that wasn't possible. The facilities - pool, bar, food etc are very good. The local area is very nice and the walk into town, where you'll find plenty of really good restaurants, is idillic.

My own recommendation - hire a car and go out for the day. Then come back and enjoy the bar and entertainment.

Room Tip: Not that you'll have much choice, but personally, would have liked to have had a room on the top...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KentAviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We went for 5 days from the 6th May. I don't think i could fault the aspects of the hotel we used and the thomson reps were really helpful and gave us a lot of information.

We were self catering so can't comment on the food, but i am glad we did go self catering because there were plenty of places to eat in the port itself, and breakfast was lovely on our balcony with the morning sun on us!

This hotel is very family orientated, but we didn't feel ostracised by the fact we are a young couple. There is a "grown up" indoor spa area which is lovely. A lot of money has been put into that and it was lovely to use it. Its got a pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room as well as some plunge pools. Shame it doesn't open earlier. We avoided buying the swimming caps because when we went the lady was doing a treatment so bonus! The outside pool is really good for young ones, and we had a good time in it too! Plenty of beds for us to chose from.

The rooms were spacious, i liked having a separate bedroom/living area and the kitchenette is neatly hidden so its not in your face. It is pretty basic, but we managed fine with it being just us two, all the equipment was there that we needed, and there is a handy corner shop just outside of the hotel for any supplies you might need.

Hotel entertainment isn't our thing but what we saw it looked pretty average, the children seemed to love it though. Drinks are a bit pricey at the bar.

Port de pollensa itself is quite a nice little place. I guess it takes about 20 minutes to get into the heart of the action, and after a few days it was getting a bit of a drag doing that twice or so a day but it is a really lovely walk. Loads of places to get a drink, eat out ect. Nice ice cream place just outside of the bus station. Talking of buses, really cheap and we used them a lot to get about! Pollensa town is great for the 365 steps to the church, nice place to spend a few hours. If there is one thing to do its to get the train from palma to soller. Lovely place and would definitely go back there again!

All in all a top holiday in a lovely region of majorca!

Room Tip: We were facing the pool, it can get noisy so perhaps face the mountains for a bit more peace
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank vixarooni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.8 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#12 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,000 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aparthotel Club del Sol
Aparthotel Club del Sol
#21 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
FERGUS Style Pollensa Park SPA
FERGUS Style Pollensa Park SPA
#14 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
2,206 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aparthotel Duva & Spa
Aparthotel Duva & Spa
#20 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
754 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villac...
#7 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa

Address: Carretera Formentor s/n, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#5 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range: $117 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This complex in Puerto de Pollensa (Majorca) is surrounded by the natural beauty of Majorca's Northern coast. The excellent facilities offer fun and sports activities for the most demanding families. Disconnect at Playa Mar and get ready for your best holiday ever! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Playa Mar Hotel Port De Pollenca
Aparthotel Playa Mar Pollenca
Aparthotel Playa Mar Hotel Pollenca
Playa Mar
Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa Majorca/Port De Pollenca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing