We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly and relaxing sunshine Easter break 2012 - Great Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford Middlesex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A friendly and relaxing sunshine Easter break 2012 - Great Holiday”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I booked my holiday with Thomson and stayed at the Aparthotel Playa Mar in Puerto Pollensa, Majorca, with my husband and 8 year old son from 31st March to 14th April 2012, on a half board basis. We were accompanied by my mother and father who occupied the neighbouring apartment.

The accomodation had recently been refurbished, was clean, fresh and adequately furnished, with a large flat screen TV providing all the main UK channels. The kitchen area was very small and although we never used it, other than for making tea, I could imagine it being somewhat a challenge preparing a meal.

We had furnished balconies with a nice view of the nearby mountain range. That is my parents did, as my view was obstructed by a large tree immediately outside.

The whole complex was extremely tidy and well laid out, with large outdoor swimming pools (very cold at this time of year). The splash pool areas were a great hit with my son, as was the play area, where he made many friends.

They also had a new development, which consisted of the entertainment area, complete with bar and friendly bar staff, including welcoming prices ( 4 euros for a bottle of wine). Below ground level was a spa including an indoor swimming pool, jacuzze, steam room, sauna which was free to use except for paying 2 euros for your swimming caps! My reservation about this was that the pool was quite deep, without any shallow end or signs of the actual depth. It could also benefit from having an attendant to keep an eye on the more boisterous swimmers.

Although the hotel is advertised as a Thomsons Family Resort, because it was before the 1st May, there was no Thomson staff or activities available, other than the visiting Thomson Rep. However, the hotel did provide four evenings of entertainment with duo singers, magicians, acrobats and flamenco dancers, which we all enjoyed. We also benefitted from the fact that an entertainments group called Animacion Fun Club were using the hotel as their pre-season training base. They provided us with various games and activities during each and every day, together with two extremely professional musicals in the evening (one each week). They made our holiday and for which we wish to thank them all very much . My son took a particular shine to Kirsty.

The dining room was clean, bright and comfortable, providing a plentiful buffet of good quality food and presentation. We dined extremely well, although I must say that some evenings we found the cooked meat or fish not always to our liking. It tended to be somewhat bland and overcooked. The breakfasts were great.

We found the restaurant staff very friendly and helpful and wish to thank Donna and Jose in particular for looking after us (nothing was too much trouble).

There is a very small convenience shop immediately outside the hotel entrance, which was both useful and cheaper than most shops in town.

The location is perfect with just a three minute walk to the beach and a beautiful scenic view of the bay around Puerto Pollensa. The coastal Pine Walk offers views, sandy coves with many restaurants and cafes on the way to town.

My son said that it was the best holiday ever and I would be more than happy to visit again at this time of the year.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Lorraine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    806
    555
    170
    45
    20
See reviews for
1,195
161
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We recently got home after staying at this hotel for 2 weeks during the Easter Holidays.We had a wonderful time,the staff were so friendly and helpful,the food was great at the hotel with so much choice .The spa is brilliant,its brand new and the pool is great,you can even have a quiet swim and relax after 4pm when its open just for Adults and its free to use!!!There was no official entertainment as that does not start until 1st May but there were guys there who were training for the coming season,they were really friendly and put on competitions for the kids and adults such as Darts,table tennis and other things,they even did a few shows in the 2 weeks we were there and other things in the evening.The start of the pine walk is about a 2 min walk from the hotel with little beaches all along the walk until you reach the centre which is a really nice 20 to 25 min walk.It was such a brilliant holiday and an amazing area of Majorca.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Just returned home after a short 3 day break here. As a family, we go abroad at least 3 times a year and have stayed in so many hotels now. This one has to be the most impressive with everything brand spanking new and ultra modern.
Best bits, The spa is amazing,Must have cost millions to build, cant believe it is free to use as so many other hotels charge.My 4 year old Son loved the pool area with the cow. The park was great and the staff tried so hard to get my Son to join in with the mini disco. The food was great with oranges ready for you to juice and real English bacon. Dinner was lovely too. The apartments had a really fresh feel to them. The decor and the bedding were all matching and there is a 32" flat screen tv in the rooms with Englis channels and air con.
Unfortunatley we went out of season so there was no entertainment on apart from the 30 min mini disco and the water on the slide were switched off. It was very quiet.There were only a few people staying there. Would have loved to have seen the hotel in full swing. This would have made the holiday perfect.
Will defo go back but in season so that i can see the place in action.
Thank you to all the staff that made our holiday so great.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Deanand joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We recently returned from a week half-board during Easter hols. The Playa Mar is great as is the resort of Puerto Pollensa.
Puerto Pollensa is lovely, loads of lovely restaurants, no fast food joints and a very Spanish feel. The bay is really safe for children to paddle and as there's lots of tiny little bays you can have a beach to yourself.
The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the resort centre but it's such a lovely walk I can honestly say we didn't mind it (and I don't like walking!). The hotel is in a nice quiet spot and you have to stroll the lovely 'pine walk' to get into town.
As for the hotel itself it was great. A glass of cava waiting for us when we arrived and reception staff were really friendly. Our room was ready even though we arrived quite early in the day. As it's an aparthotel the rooms are bigger than an average hotel room. We had a generous double bedroom and our little boy slept on the bed settee in the lounge. There's also a small kitchenette with a fridge (free) and lots of kitchen equipment. I would agree with some of the comments that you would probably struggle to completely self-cater as the kitchenette is only small but as most people seem to stay half-board this would not be an issue. There is certainly more than enough stuff so you can prepare a lunch.
The restaurant food was lovely with juicers at breakfast for freshly squeezed orange juice. The usual half-board fare, smaller choice than some bigger hotels but on the plus side the food always seemed really freshly prepared, was constantly replenished and hot (unlike lots of hotels!). The restaurant staff were also really friendly & helpful. Also worth mentioning you get a jug of ice cold water free without asking whereas most hotels make you buy bottled water.
By far the best bit was the brand new spa. We were really lucky as I think the spa had only opened days before we arrived - it was fab!! Sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, plunge pools, water jets etc and was free :-) They also allow children in until 4 but then adults can have a quieter time after this.
There's a children's playground (ideal for toddlers) and the pool area is brill (as can be seen on the Thomson website photos). Although the pool was too cold to go in when we were there the slides etc would be brill in the summer and would be great for toddlers (the cow & squirrel) and older children (crab).
Even though we were there at the very start of the season the children's entertainers were great and our little boy loved the disco every night.
Only one negative was when our little boy hurt himself on the toddler playground but we reported it to the Thomson rep who encouraged us to complete an accident form and said Thomson would investigate.
Overall a lovely, lovley holiday in a lovely part of Majorca!

Room Tip: Rooms not overlooking the pool are quieter - we had a lovely view of a mountain at the back of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emptywallet_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I travelled to Playa Mar in April 2012
Family holiday with 2 kids age 8 and 5
Tha apartment was comfortable, loads of cupboard space.

Didn't really use the kitchen except to make hot drinks.
Kids club not really running as it starts in May.

Lovely resort very quite no bars etc.. which is why we chose it.

Food in the restaurant was good the staff in the restaurant were great.
I am vegetarian and they would offer to make pasta sauce without meat.

The pools outside were good with the slides and when it was cold we used the indoor pool.
Which is very deep with no shallow end. Fine if you can swim.
It was a lovely pool.

My kids loved the park on site and made loads of friends.

Beach a very short walk away. Very Picturesque walking along the pine walk into Puerto Pollensa.

would definately return

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank shah9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in April this year. It was the best family hotel we have stayed at. The hotel is situated a few minutes walk from the "Pine Walk" in Puerto Pollensa where there are bars and restaurants further down the walk. A very picturesque place all along the walk.
My wife and I took my 12 year old Grandson to this hotel for Easter week where we found the rooms very spotlessly clean and very well maintained. All the staff were extremely helpful all the time. The Hotel had a large pool which was separated into two sections one for the younger members and the other for the older. It also had a section where there are two giant animals (a cow and a crab) which had water chutes and fountains built into them, one for 6 to 12 years old and the other for up to 6 year old.
There was also a Spar which was incredible. It had a steam room, Jacuzzi, a very large pool which was heated and a number of other facilities within the Spar, very, very impressive. You have to wear blue hats (2 Euros each) but can be used over again.
The restaurant is also very impressive and the staff go out of their way to assist you. We got friendly with Donna a Scots waitress who went out of her way to assist you. She was tremendous and very friendly to the guests, look out for her. Purchase the "house wine" at 4 Euros a bottle, very tasty and very reasonable.
The evening entertainment was very professional and the team really put on a good show.
We will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone with a family.

Room Tip: All rooms have the same quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

I cannot recommend this hotel enough. We booked via Thomson as a last minute deal to go away over the Easter break, and having read the other reviews were sure we would get a good hotel. We were over the moon when we arrived, everything we had seen, been told and expected was true, and more.

The hotel has a brand new spa complex which as guests we were able to use, very well done and a lovely extra. The pool area was lovely and we felt very comfortable and if we felt like a walk to the beach, it is only a few mins away.

Some people have mentioned the small kitchen in the apartments, they re small but very well equipped for what you need, this is not a negative, you can do all you need in them, and more.

The only complaint I have, if any is that it is truly a family complex, and we went as a couple, there were other couples there but all the entertainment was aimed towards children. That said, the staff were all very friendly, and nothing was too much bother for them, they took he time to get to know us and we really felt they put the effort in.

Overall amazing, we are planning on retuning next year with friends who have children.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Joss G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port de Pollenca
0.2 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 31 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aparthotel Club del Sol
Aparthotel Club del Sol
#24 of 31 in Port de Pollenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
7.4 mi away
Prinsotel La Dorada
Prinsotel La Dorada
#6 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
#9 of 31 in Port de Pollenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 31 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
5.0 mi away
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
Zafiro Palace Alcudia
#6 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa

Property: Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa
Address: Carretera Formentor s/n, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#5 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This complex in Puerto de Pollensa (Majorca) is surrounded by the natural beauty of Majorca's Northern coast. The excellent facilities offer fun and sports activities for the most demanding families. Disconnect at Playa Mar and get ready for your best holiday ever! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Playa Mar Hotel Port De Pollenca
Aparthotel Playa Mar Pollenca
Aparthotel Playa Mar Hotel Pollenca
Playa Mar
Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa Majorca/Port De Pollenca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing