We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location - lovely apartments”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maricel Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maricel Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Great Location - lovely apartments”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here for 8 nights in July/Aug (we then had 9 nights in Cala D'or Playa Apartments - see review), me the Mrs and Luke (14). From meeting Carmen at check in, nothing was a bother. The room was overlooking the pool and the balcony got all the sun late afternoon which was nice to have a drink on. The rooms were cleaned every day and were spotless and were pretty sizeable, nice shower, air con (it was 40 degrees) with loads of storage for all your clothes etc. The safe cost was reasonable and the whole complex felt safe at all times. The location of the apartments is the best thing, one street behind the sea front right in the centre of town, it's perfect! Always got a bed round pool for the Mrs but I preferred the comfy chairs they had under the palm trees, was a very quiet pool area (if that's what you like). Easy access to beach, and we liked a stroll out at lunch for a snack and couple of beers at one of the beachside/cafe bars. We had numerous nice meals on an evening on the front or in the square (Los Faroles for fish). We also did the Island trip with 'No Frills' tour company, this was excellent and we went by bus to visit via Cordobra on the way to Soller for the tram and train. It's well worth the money and a great day out and well organised. Port Pollensa is a smashing place for couples/families and we have visited Port Pollensa a couple of times and would not hesitate to stay at the Maricel apartments again, loved it!

Room Tip: we had a room overlooking the pool and got all the afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Riley044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    30
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
48
61
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Fantastic location, really nice well equipped spacious appartment with good air conditioning.
It was very hot, nearly 40C everyday when we were in Puerto Pollensa and the appartment was a great place to have lunch and cool off in the hottest part of the day.
The whole building and pool area was spotlessly clean.
The pool area was particularly nice with lots of loungers and natural shade from the palm trees.
We would have preferred a double bed in the main bedroom rather than twin beds but otherwise can't fault the appartment.
Breakfast in the hotel was very good with lots of choice and very friendly staff.
Really liked the area it is very relaxed and family orientated with lots of lovely restaurants and a great beach.

Room Tip: We had a pool view ground floor room which was really spacious with a big balcony. I would recommen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CLW43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have recently returned from a great weeks stay in a 2 bed apartment at the Miramar II.

The apartment was a great size for myself, husband and our two teenage children and the two bathrooms made showering and getting ready to go out in the evening much quicker! The lounge was spacious complete with tv and the kitchen was well equipped.

The apartment was fully air continued which was a must as it was so hot! The cleaners came in every day apart from Sunday and we had fresh towels each time.

We had full use of the pool at the Maricel just around the corner. It was a lovely pool with plenty of loungers. We would alternate each day between the beach and the pool ~ there was more of a cooling breeze at the beach which was needed!

The only thing we were slightly disappointed in was the balcony. We were unable to book a pool view as they were all fully booked, so we opted for a road view. The road view was fine (noise not a problem) but unfortunately there was no chairs or space to sit out on the balcony and this is something we usually enjoy doing. However, this would not put us off staying again as everything else was so good.

To sum up, we had a great holiday, loved Port de Pollenca and would definitely recommend the apartments. We would love to return again soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oclamfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have just returned and would not hesitate in recommending these apartments they were kept immaculately clean with clean towels, tea towels etc. The pool area was also very good with a life guard on duty during the day, we are not ones to go to the pool early and reserve sunbeds (although several people did) we usually managed to get sun beds or if not we were able to get chairs even in the height of the summer at any time of the day. It is in an ideal location for the many bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timbie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

My wife and I were being shown around one of the Marcel apartments when she slipped on some mats. I observed Carmen who was showing us around throwing the mats into the toilet area, not thinking much about this at the time as my concern was for my wife who was in a lot of pain, we supported her to her feet with great difficulty as she was in a lot of discomfort. I went to retrieve the mats but to my amazement had disappeared. It was than clear that they had been removed intentionally as Carmen and the Hotel Manager Gabriel didn't want accept any liability.
There attitude was very arrogant, insensitive and unsupportive to say the least. It then cost us 110 euros for his attention and medication. We then HAD to ask for a taxi to be called as it felt they wanted to wash their hands of the Accident. I went back to discuss the matter further the next day, and to my shocking discovery no Accident or Incident form had been completed as we were ONLY visitors, also when asked for their Complaints Procedure they didn't have one, I find this alarming for Four Star Hotel not be following these Health and Safety Procedures. I was then told to contact my Insurance Company to Claim back the Doctors Fee, I explained that it was not about the money it was the fact that I had witnessed Carmen removing the mats that my wife had slipped on and how they both were being so evasive and extremely unhelpful.
My wife and I didn't want to make any form of claim, all we wanted was a bit of compassion shown but all we got was the shrug of the shoulders. My wife is still in lot of pain and it has left a very bad feeling as it has spoilt the rest of our holiday.
If this how they treat potential custom BE AWARE!! We certainly won't be considering the Miramar, it is shame as my wife and I visit Puerto Pollenca at least once a year and were considering the apartments. But NO CHANCE now.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryPaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pollensa82, General Manager at Maricel Apartments, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We are very distressed that this opinion has been published in this way without having contrasted all this information. The story told in this opinion does not reflect reality and is written in bad faith and desire to do harm. We like to say that these people NEVER have been clients of our apartments. We tried to contact with Tripadvisor to denounce that this opinion only responds to an attempted of coercion by this gentlemen but we have not received any response. Maricel apartments opened 25 years ago and we had never encountered with this situation. Also tell that all the Apartments Maricel staff feels very sad to see how our daily work is harmed in this way by someone who has not been our customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

The pool and the apartments are lovely. Free Internet has been added this year. We were there 1-11 June and the weather was great, the service terrific and we will go back again and again. It's in the perfect location too.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We returned to the Maricel apartments in Port de Pollenca for the ninth or tenth time after a break in 2102. The apartments are in an ideal location in the centre of the Port, just a street away from the seafront and the lovely Pine Walk. We had been many times before with the Travel Club of Upminster ( sadly no more) but in recent years it has been easy to book direct with The Miramar Hotel who own and manage the Maricel apartments. This year we are delighted to find that the apartments have been substantially upgraded with new comfortable furniture, an oven as well as a microwave, new bathroom fittings and good quality toiletries. All this with no significant rise in rates. The staff are exceptionally friendly under the guidance of the Sastre family who have been long term owners of the hotel and apartments. The pool area has plenty of seating as well as a small infant pool in addition to the main pool. Port de Pollenca has a huge number of restaurants to suit most tastes and pockets as well as good quality shops. It remains relatively unspoilt and in our opinion is still one of the very best resorts in Mallorca.

Room Tip: You have a choice of pool view at the back - quieter but a little more expensive than the road view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#2 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sis Pins
Sis Pins
#12 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villac...
#8 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maricel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maricel Apartments

Property: Maricel Apartments
Address: Calle Formentor, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maricel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located one street behind the beach and pedestrian promenade, the attractive one or two-bedroom Maricel Apartments are built around their own lovely, large and colourful garden with spacious sun terraces, pool and children’s paddling pool.The apartments are roomy having good-sized lounges and kitchen areas and each apartment has a balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Maricel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maricel Apartments Majorca/Port De Pollenca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing