We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below our expectations”
Review of Grotta Giusti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grotta Giusti
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Honestly speaking, we expected more from a SLH member hotel. Our Junior Park View though was very comfy. Cant imagine people staying in other categories: they're very tiny. Hotel is for pensioners. Breakfast is very limited. Grotta is a disputable experience. I didnt like at all. If you ever seen grotta before that is the same, just warm and with chairs, so 5-6 60yo guys will be sitting around and deeply breathing. Location is ok for driving around in Tuscany. Room service we liked very much.

Room Tip: Only Park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fomych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (872)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 872 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed for one day only and it was enough to come in touch will all the main features. Grotta is definitely exciting place, one of the greatest attactions of Montecatini\Monsummano. We loved the humourous idea of grotta division into Heaven-Purgatory-Hell sections.
Our visit of the thermal pool was also a pleasure despite numerous visitors.

The place is relaxing, the mountain views from the pools are stunning, the 'hell' section of grotta is refreshing so we will certainly come back here some day.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna_Fadeeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This hotel is living on past glory and will have to work hard to improve. The pool, Grotto and spa experience is excellent, but staff do not seem happy. To quote other trip advisor comments Thermal mud threapy effective, but applied in the style of a workman! The (grand) buffet breakfast was repatative and after staying a week and we struggled to find adequate choice on the menu after four days.
The service on the whole good, however, over priced for a decent sized room. The stay was not stress free!.

Room Tip: It will cost to get a good sized room/suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank swaddy_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Stayed with enlarged family in June 2012.

The pros:
- Nice setting, hotel nested in a quiet park. Relaxing atmosphere
- good ample SPA. Not the most recent facility but intelligent construction stands test of time
- very kind staff

The average:
- Rooms are nothing special. Smallish and dark. Good maintenance over the years has avoided it to turn tired
- breakfast again very standard especially in selection of food (ex limited selection of breads). A notch below would be in the cons.
-

The cons
- room cleanliness , ok the day of arrival. Not so good in the following days, as bathroom was not cleaned properly
- internet is a true challenge, poor wi fi and clumsy sign on process. Besides the large hill behind the hotel affects reception of most mobile gsm antennas
- distance from room to spa facilities demands long walks through a bunch of not so well connected corridors. Really not designed with users in mind
- not about the hotel per se, rather the city location: while the hotel is in a tranquil setting, monsummano is a major exit of a very busy motorway. If you plan to drive around wondeful tuscany, expect quite a lot of traffic at most times in this area

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank duke_clar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Our family of 5 stayed at the Grotta Guisti in three rooms for three nights, which was quite an expense. The grounds are lovely. The rooms were quite small, and in order to get internet access we were given one passcode per room which meant we could not use more than one device at a time. The passcodes were cumbersome and expired prematurely.
We had throught that we could add half board at $35 per person. The restaurant staff had limited use of English or deliberately misled us, but we ended up being charged much more than that.
We thought that the visit to the grotto was included in our room fee, and were surprised to find a charge of 20 Euro per person daily tacked on to our bill.
We booked massages and were extremely disappointed. We were each led to a tiny room. My male ( I am female) masseuse did not utter a word but pointed to a step stool to climb on to a table. He did not ask if I had any special problem areas or what kind of massage I wanted. There was no music. It was not a good experience, and it was quite expensive. Unfortunately, we all had the same tale to tell afterwards. Do not book massages here!!!
The pools were wonderful. The grotto was interesting, a bit claustrophobic. I had no idea that I was being charged for it and only spent ten minutes there.
I am not sure that I would recommend this hotel, as I have not seen others in the area. The grounds are really lovely. I went on a walking tour and the leader did not introduce herself of smile once. And I was the only one on the tour!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dsf42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

My husband and I had a great experience at Grotta Giusti. If you are looking for a more resort type of stay and have a few nights to enjoy it all stay at Grotta Giusti, just outside of Florence. For each night you stay you receive a visit to their famous, underground grotta, which is a relaxing and fun experience. Here are my thoughts on my visit . . .

Likes:
Resort is easy to drive to and has easy, complimentary guest parking.
Stress free check in. The front desk will ask for your European shoe size for your spa kit.
Room was located in the original section of the hotel. Room was nice, but a bit on the smaller side.
A room safe was available.
Bedroom and bathroom windows opened up to a stone wall which made it feel very private, open, and fresh.
Loved the grotta, spa treatments, and guest and public pool areas. The spa appointments were easy to book with English speaking staff. Massage team knew very limited English.
Enjoyed a good dinner and breakfast in the hotel restaurant. A bit on the pricey side however.

Dislikes:
We had to leave!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

The hotel has the feel of a once wonderful and cared for hotel & spa but much time and a generation has passed since. While the spa has kept up well, the hotel hasn't modernized whatsoever. The hotel is dated and the staff while accommodating, are oblivious to the fact that the clientele at this price point and in this day are accustomed to an element of charm with their service, absent of any irrational surliness (in Italy some element is to be expected).

Obtaining a passcode from the staff for the internet, even when included in the room charge, is an unspeakable feat of bravery. Over the course of two days we had 9 separate internet tokens issues due to the deliberate limited window of validity. Equally astonishing was that requesting a new token evoked a tut-tut from the front desk on each-and-every-occasion. We can only hope to give the front desk the benefit of the doubt in that they were simply as annoyed as we were with the inconvenience.

The design of the bar nearby lounges are classic italian however the dining room and the guest rooms are draped in green and terrible prints which are synonymous with the Holiday Inn designs circa 1980. Windows, doors, and closets were squeaky and the bathrooms tired. We ate in the restaurant each night only for being so relaxed from the spa. Food was very average yet undeservedly priced at the same 4*-5* price point as the hotel. The wait staff were excellent however we could have done without the service station being located center of the dining room. Standing - and always accruing - stacks of dirty plates does not wed well with any meal. It's particularly irritating in an atmosphere of highly sought for relaxation.

The spa is brilliant and I would even say mesmerizing in the serene sense. The water temperatures are well moderated and as such absent sulfuric smells that often accompany hot springs. The grotto is great as long as expectations are managed on the way in that you will pay and entrance fee. The treatment rooms are located in the hotel and as such, (unsurprisingly) the rooms are dated. The treatments themselves are excellent. My wife and I treated ourselves to massages, facials, and a mask; all of which were top quality and good value.

The evening we arrived we thought upon seeing the room to leave and look around town for another hotel but wished to stick it out one night. The next morning we went to the spa and did not return until the evening at which point we were too relaxed to bother.

My wife and I often reflect fondly on our time at the spa. Yet months later we remained utterly bewildered the entirely unearned and undeserved pretentiousness given the state of the hotels rooms and restaurant. To this day we wished we had left that first night and come to use the spa on a day pass which is offered and excellent value.

Room Tip: look elsewhere in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monsummano Terme
0.4 mi away
Collina Toscana Resort
Collina Toscana Resort
#2 of 2 in Monsummano Terme
69 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Arnolfo & Aqua Laetitia Spa & Beauty
Hotel Arnolfo & Aqua Laetitia Sp...
#12 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
1,139 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Montecatini Palace
Hotel Montecatini Palace
#3 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Montebello
Hotel Montebello
#9 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
916 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
#6 of 108 in Montecatini Terme
1,148 reviews
20.8 mi away
Bagni di Pisa
Bagni di Pisa
#1 of 6 in San Giuliano Terme
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grotta Giusti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grotta Giusti

Address: 1411 Via Grotta Giusti, 51015 Monsummano Terme, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Monsummano Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Monsummano Terme
Price Range: $240 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grotta Giusti 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grotta Giusti is located in Monsummano Terme just a few kilometres from Florence, Pisa and Lucca.Set in a private park with secular trees, the early nineteenth century villa, now a prestigious Hotel, enriched by antique furnishings and paintings, has maintained intact its historical air and natural charm. The 58 double rooms and 6 Junior Suites, furnished in a refined, fresh style, offer unexpected details such as the bathrooms in luxurious white marble with thermal water on tap. The Hotel is directly connected to the Spa, which has a modern Wellbeing Centre with an Oriental area, equipped gymnasium, numerous relaxation areas and a medical aesthetic centre. The Spa also has an open air pool with 750 square metres of thermal water, picturesque cascade and underwater hydro-massages and the large millennial Grotta to end the day with a beneficial, relaxing "steam bath". Immersed in the park are the fresh water swimming pool, tennis court and fitness walk with further trekking courses for excursions in the surrounding countryside. And, just a few kilometres from Grotta Giusti, an 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Grotta Giusti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grotta Giusti Resort, Golf Hotel Monsummano Terme
Grotta Giusti Resort, Golf And Spa
Grotta Giusti Spa
Grotta Giusti Hotel
Grotta Giusti Monsummano Terme, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing