We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts, great location, great food, great tourism, great fun”
Review of Villa Lucia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monsummano Terme
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Lucia
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Villa Lucia is a bed & breakfast with 6 or 7 double rooms in a quiet but central and convenient location in Tuscany.

Our hostess, Lucia ("Lucy"), is American of Italian heritage and her husband, Jorge ("George"), is Argentine. Both have lived for a long time in the Los Angeles area where Lucy owned and ran 3 restaurants (still owns one) and George practiced as a plastic surgeon. Some of their guests are reputed to be Hollywood people. We met a stunt coordinator, Eddie, who regaled us with stories of the Pink Panther and Bond movies.

An unusual aspect and value of a stay at Villa Lucia is the atmosphere of the place particularly during meals (breakfast of course, but you can also dine) thanks to Lucy and George: very relaxed, convivial, family-feeling, with free-flowing conversation on a thousand subjects lasting for hours if you want. Most guests relish the togetherness and the conversation, and friendships are easily formed. Lucy has a huge table in her inside dining room and an unusual and large round stone table outside with a stone lazy-Susan. The view over the valley is grand and adds visual spice to your meal. Nobody seems to mind if you wander around the kitchen while the meal is being prepared sipping an aperitif wine or Prosecco. Lucy will also give an Italian cooking class if desired and take you to the market to discuss produce.

The rooms are great, all with King or Queen sized beds and air conditioning. The rural location means quiet at night for a good sleep unless Bobby, the barker of the three Dachsunds, is let out too soon in the morning.

The location is about as perfect as possible to experience Tuscany: it’s in a beautiful olive grove setting near a small and charming hilltop village, Montevettolini; also near the major international airports of Pisa and Florence; near magnificent Florence and its art museums, cathedral, restaurants, and shopping; near Lucca and its beautiful fortress city; within an easy drive of historical Siena, Pisa, the Cinque Terra fishing villages, the charming hilltop villages of San Gimignano and Volterra, and the Chianti, Montepulciano, and Montalcino wine areas. Within a 10-15 minute drive are 6 wellness spas and the view-rich 18-hole Montecatini Golf Club where you can rent clubs and even a golf cart.

Finally, the property includes one thousand olive trees from which Lucy extracts the highest quality organic olive oil you can ever hope to obtain! In fact, Lucy is happy to educate her guests on all aspects of olive oil including what makes a truly great oil and why you should be wary of almost all olive oil sold in the United States. During the olive harvesting season, end September and November, Lucy offers special “discovery” packages over a week during which you’ll learn all about olive oil, the making of parmesan cheese, the hunting of truffles including visits and a hunt as well as cooking dishes with these marvelous ingredients. Great stuff!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pcloutier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Villa Lucia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 39 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2010

We stayed at Villa Lucia in May 2010, accompanied by another couple who had the location recommended to them. Most of Villa Lucia's business is word of mouth between American friends and family who have stayed there. While the location was a bit difficult to find ( GPS a MUST) and had two entrances with two different addresses , it was a lovely spot to stay and relax--as well as a great central spot for day trips. Traveled easily to Florence, Lucca, San Giamignano, Cinque Terre --all from our comfortable home base. The breakfasts were sumptuous ( more than you could eat--with much variety and home baked goods) and dinner ( extra charge but WELL WORTH IT) with cooking by a visting chef was wonderful, with flowing wine and conversation. Stayed in the very private and comfortable "Chicken Coop" --two bedrooms, 2 bath and central kitchen, fireplace and own small deck with a wonderful view. Had a great time and wonderful memories.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wdee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2009

Villa Lucia is picturesque. Situated along the hillside, it is a perfect Tuscan retreat. There is a ‘big house’ with an industrial size kitchen that manages to retain old world charm. It comes with an authentic Italian handyman who works the grounds and a couple of dogs that roam the property. This is a true gem of a place; the colors, the décor and the views are wonderful. Jeorge and Lucy run the bed and breakfast with care and passion.

After a week of hectic touring and sight seeing, Villa Lucia was an oasis. If you are looking for lots of action, this is probably not the place for you. However, if you were looking for a place to unwind and enjoy the Italian countryside, I would highly recommend a few days at Villa Lucia.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank droraback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

My husband and I , along with our adult son and girlfriend, enjoyed a wonderful week at Villa Lucia. The hospitality is first class, as are the meals and service. We felt like we were at our grandmother's house....with a very warm and welcoming feeling. The accommodations are very comfortable, with modern conveniences. The views are spectacular. Our son enjoyed an afternoon of cooking lessons in Lucy's kitchen, making pizza, pasta and gelato! As an aspiring chef, he truly enjoyed the opportunity of learning the true Italian culinary talents. Villa Lucia is in a great location for enjoying the day trips to Florence, Montecatini, Lucca, Pisa, San Gimignano, Cinque Terre, just to name a few. Ask to book a tour with Amy of diVino Tours for a truly spectacular wine tour to the Chianti region...a highlight of our week!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzanneJorden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2009

I have been going to Villia Lucia for more than 12 years and I just completed my fourth visit. Bottom line-- the place gets better and better.

George and Lucia are AWESOME hosts and the location is out of this world.

You're only 45 minutes out of Florence, but you feel like you're days away. It's totally relaxing and the views are incredible.

Need to finish "War and Peace" this is the place.

Need to cuddle up with someone special...this is a special place.

In search of great food, olive oil, wine, pottery, Lucia can help.

Want a mind-blowing breakfast with lots of great touches? You guessed it!

What can I say, the place continues to blow my mind...

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LesTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2009

I have no idea where "Bigmoney 29" stayed but it couldn't have been at Villa Lucia. My husband and I have stayed at this wonderful villa many times so I felt obligated to set the record straight. The grounds, furniture, and hospitality are top notch. The view is spectacular. One must venture away from the center of town to get a view like this. It's worth it. The proprietors, Lucy and Jorge are excellent hosts. The food is always scrumptious, especially at dinner. The website for this villa describes all there is to offer and from where I stand it's all true and more. If you want to really get the feel of Italy, go experience Villa Lucia.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LALAGirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2008

Our family stayed with us at the Villa Lucia for a week in September. The location is nice, totally in the middle of nowhere and unfortunately about 35 minutes away from the highway, which you need everytime you want to visit something in Tuscany. Next time we'll look for something more central.

We moved into one of the appartments and our first thought was to move out immediately. I surfed the internet (wireless LAN was down, so i used my cellphone) for hours in search for an alternative, but as it was full season, everything was booked out. So we stayed...

Description of the appartment: It was very small (perhaps 40 sqm for 3 people, some hotel rooms are bigger!). It was very dark (with only a tiny window facing uphill), damp, and the furniture was terrible and old. The applicances were antique. 2 out of the 4 stoves didn't work. The shower stall was so small we couldn't turn inside, and after showering the bathroom was flooded since the plastic leaked big time. The toilet flush was so noisy we agreed not to flush at night in order not to wake up everybody. The airconditioning must have been from WW2.
And it was dirty: there were large stains on different pieces of furniture, and spider webs the more the merrier.

The breakfast was a disappointment as well. One sort of bread, one sort of jam, one sort of cereal: very little choice. And the brands (eg. yoghurt) were only the cheapest that the local supermarket was carrying.

The furniture and appliances on the premises were also a shame. Some old and rusty metal chairs, some others where the canvas was broken or cut out. The pool is about 6m long, so forget about swimming in there. No wonder none of the guests ever stayed outside.

In short absolutely terrible value for money (EUR 200/day!!!).

It must be said the Lucys husband is a nice and funny guy, and that the staff does fix things when you tell them. But that doesn't make up for a lousy and overexpensive stay.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank bigmoney29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monsummano Terme
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#41 of 411 in Florence
2,129 reviews
Grotta Giusti
#1 of 2 in Monsummano Terme
849 reviews
Collina Toscana Resort
#2 of 2 in Monsummano Terme
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Agriturismo Campofiorito
#1 of 7 in Monsummano Terme
161 reviews
Poggio degli Olivi
#2 of 7 in Monsummano Terme
91 reviews
La Casa di Zia Lina
#4 of 13 in Monsummano Terme
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lucia

Address: Via Dei Bronzoli 1443 | Montevettolini, 51015 Monsummano Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Monsummano Terme
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Monsummano Terme
Price Range: $222 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We rent the six rooms in the main house and\or the three rooms in the two apartments all year round. Weekly minimum. Sleeps 12 to 18 comfortably. Meals available if requested in advance. Property sits on a 15 acre certified organic olive grove. Located less than 1 hour away from the Florence or Pisa airports. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Lucia Monsummano Terme, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing