We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“secluded location for a romantic get-away.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Relais Villa San Bastiano
Esbjerg, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“secluded location for a romantic get-away.”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

My wife and I have just arrived home after 3 nights at this well located hotel. First experience was the the road up to the hotel which I thought was fun ( my wife not so much). It is a 1st & 2nd gear trip up for about 10mins. If you are using gps make sure you use the alternative address ( Via Monsummano Castello ) since the hotel is off the grid. Upon reaching the summit you find the old church and surrounding buildings in a very quaint setting. The 5 room hotel ( owner staying in one of the rooms) has been modernized and our room was clean and fresh with a nice size bathroom (first floor room) . The room was made each day but mini-bar was not replenished. Wifi connection was good. The owner considers the start if June still to be too cold for the spa so it was not open when we arrived but we convinced him to fill it up since it was about 25 degC and we really needed to cool off. We were the only guests for the 3 night we were there and I think the quality of the breakfast and restaurant suffered with the lack of turnover.. Dry bread/cake etc. The restaurant (same owner as the hotel) has some great reviews and Michelin stars so we expected something special. The menu sounded great however the standard was a but of a let-down and it looses a bit of atmosphere when you are the only people there however the view is something to behold.
Location: Terrific views. Central placing for exploring ( highly recommend Lucca 30 mins away)
If you are looking for an eating experience, try "Il Maialetto" at the base of the hill for a meat feast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    23
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
43
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Somewhat narrow drive to the top of this hill overlooking Monsummano Terme but well worth it when you get there. The 4 rooms and accompanying restaurant, La Foresteria, are formed out of the remains of an 11th century village and castle. A couple of other buildings and a still used chapel are also part of the site. The views over six out of ten of the Tuscan provinces are superb. The hotel is comfortable and recently done up in a somewhat quirky Italian way and the restaurant which offers typical Tuscan food is based in a terrasse overlooking the plains below. There is a railway station at nearby Montecatini Terme from which Firenze and Lucca can be conveniently reached. There are also other interesting places to visit in the area.
Father and son run the restaurant and hotel and mother and daughter do a superb job in the kitchen. All very helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noyloj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel a few times and are always happy to return. The rooms are well appointed and tastefully decorated. Our room and bathroom were quite small but comfortable. There is a lovely outside area where you can sit and enjoy the outstanding view.

We ate at their terrace restaurant (La Foresteria) which was lovely. Good food and service with a breath-taking view. Make sure you book one of the tables at the front to get the best view. Menu is available in several languages and the waiter speaks a little English.

The only disappointing aspect was the breakfast. Italy isn't famous for its breakfasts and this one was no exception. It is served at the table, there is no choice and it is rather dull. Small portions of fruit, ham, and cheese. Dry bread with unsalted butter and a fruit gel/mousse. No yogurt/cereal/croissants, let alone hot food. Of course, with only 5 rooms, the hotel only has to cater for a few guests at a time so a buffet may not be practical.

A lovely place for a romantic weekend or stopover.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy202021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huizen
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Villa San Bastiano only has five rooms of which we occupied three. All rooms are well equipped, comfortable and stylish.
The restaurant, La Foresteria, offers wonderful food, attentive service, great wines and a spectaculair view.
Hotel and restaurant are on a hilltop, but don't worry about the road up. It's steep at places, but never dangerous, (although I would not advise a trip down in the dark after a nice meal. Try one of the rooms and you'll enjoy a great breakfast in the morning).
The location is excellent for daytrips to Lucca, Firenze (Florence), Pisa etc. Do not forget Pistoia! (but avoid Montecatini Terme like the plague).
There is no swimming pool, but a very nice hot-tub and plenty of space for you to relax in the garden. Hotel and restaurant are located on a hilltop next to a quaint little church, some archeological sites, a graveyard and a couple of houses. Wonderfully secluded and quiet!!
The owner has a great sense of humor and speaks English very well.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAHHuizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We spend 3 nights on our Italy tour in Villa San Bastiano which is conveniently located on a hill somewhere between Florence and Pisa, near by Pistoia. The hotel is very small, 5-6 rooms, very clean and very quiet. Our room was not so big, but comfortable enough for my wife and me, and our 6-years old daughter. The hotel is away from everything, so you can get a good night sleep here.

As it is “in a middle of nowhere” there is no car parking problem. The internet connection is good and it is free of charge.

There is no pool in the hotel, but the small outside jacuzzi can be a substitute if you are the only guest.

I must mention the La Foresteria restaurant, which is right next to the hotel, where we had some excellent food, the pasta of course, but the beef in red wine sauce was something unforgettable. When we visited Florence, we had our dinner in a restaurant on one of the Piazzas and I must admit, the feeling was like dining in McDonalds compared to La Foresteria.

So the hotel has a very good position in order to visit Pisa, Florence, Pistoia and Luca, and a very good restaurant, but you have to climb the hill on a very narrow and steep road

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sapkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2009

We spent 4 nights in this idyllic spot high in the Tuscan hills. The owner(s) were wonderful 'hosts', attentive to whatever was needed. Room (double on the 1st floor, with ensuite bathroom) was very comfortable. Breakfast, included, was served in the on-site restaurant, La Foresteria - a glorious way to start each day given the stupendous panoramic view available from most tables. Dinner at this restaurant was excellent each of the nights we ate there and the sunset over the Tuscan hills while we dined - memorable.
Day trips to northern Tuscany's important sites were very convenient from this hotel. We chose to drive the 3-4 km small winding road up to the hotel just once a day and so would spend the entire day out and about, returning to the hotel at ~ dinnertime and dining at the Foresteria. This worked for us. We would recommend this hotel unequivocally for people who are looking for a special setting where you can't help but feel good to be alive!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UsWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monsummano Terme
0.5 mi away
Grotta Giusti
Grotta Giusti
#1 of 2 in Monsummano Terme
840 reviews
0.8 mi away
Collina Toscana Resort
Collina Toscana Resort
#2 of 2 in Monsummano Terme
67 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Puccini
Hotel Puccini
#2 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Montecatini Palace
Hotel Montecatini Palace
#3 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
377 reviews
3.0 mi away
Croce Di Malta Montecatini GH
Croce Di Malta Montecatini GH
#15 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
425 reviews
2.0 mi away
La Foresteria Montecatini Golf
La Foresteria Montecatini Golf
#10 of 13 in Monsummano Terme
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Villa San Bastiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Villa San Bastiano

Property: Relais Villa San Bastiano
Address: Piazza castello, 8, Monsummano Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Monsummano Terme
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Monsummano Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Relais Villa San Bastiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Villa San Bastiano Monsummano Terme, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing