We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic restaurant - fine hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Locanda di Alia - AliaJazzHotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castrovillari
Certificate of Excellence
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant - fine hotel”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The dinner at the Locanda was the most memorable of our 2 week trip to southern Italy (including Michelin one star restaurants). The menu is varied and the dishes outstanding, prepared with local ingredients and local herbs! We were there on a cold and rainy evening and morning and could not enjoy the garden and pool. The room was comfortable and very quiet. We liked the artistic aspects of the place. The breakfast is also excellent with all homemade jams and biscotti. Definitely worth a detour, especially for foodies.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RuhMane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    43
    14
    9
    7
See reviews for
25
46
5
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We just returned from a two week vacation to southern Italy (Calabria, Basilicata and Puglia) to learn more about where my ancestors originated. When researching and planning our trip we noticed one travel guide describe La Locanda di ALIA as the "gastronomic temple" of Calabria. As people who sincerely appreciate great food, we made a commitment to stop in Castrovillari. We stayed at the hotel which had olive, fig, walnut and pomegranate trees surrounding the room. Our dinner was the highlight of the stay. I think the Alia brothers do a great job at taking locally available ingredients and preparing them in a very interesting and savory manner. As good as San Francisco, CA or Boston, MA (our (hometown"). A pasta (Candele) given a firey treatment with the locally prepared N'djua sausage, Shrimp in a zucchini "puff" and swordfish with pears and onion were delicioso! The wine was a local Archidero which paired perfectly with our entrees. Deserts were excellent as well and paired with some locally prepared liqueurs specific to each selection. The owners and staff were some of the most helpful and friendliest people you could hope to meet. I knew that when we left La Locanda di ALIA it would be difficult to top this dining experience. I was correct even though the food we had throughout our voyage was consistently excellent. If you like great dining at a reasonable price it is well worth the trip to Castrovillari and La Locanda di ALIA.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We spent a night here in August. First impressions were "strange place"! There was nobody around and the hotel had a rather deserted feel. We were shown to our room which was very comfortable albeit a little dark. However, the dinner that evening was probably one of the best we have had in Italy and we travel here a lot. The service was excellent and the food delicious. At breakfast the following morning there was a selection of home made cakes & biscuits with freshly squeezed juice. If you are travelling in Calabria be sure to stop here - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

My husband and I spent a weekend at Locanda di Alia. Staff was very friendly and accomodating allowing us a late check out on the last day which was great as we could relax by the swimming pool and get ready for the late afternoon wedding that we were to attend. Our room was of a good size, with comfortable bed, good storage and air conditioning; there was a separate hall with a desk and a longe chair and an outside private space with table and chairs. Food was well beyond our expectations. For lunch we had starters and pasta main courses; all the dishes had really fresh and local flavours. We were recommended a local rose wine that was very reasonably proced and great to discover. We finished the meal with few shots of home made liquors called rosolio that we had never tasted before. Breakfast was great too: home made cookies, biscuits and sponge cakes with home made jams (the chocholate spong cake with the chilli pepper jam was awesome). Also the local cheese and bread were amazing. I would definitely recommend Locanda di Alia to everyone and go back for a stay or a meal when I am back to South Italy!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onlythetruth_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucca, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2011

That place is wonderful. People working there are so welcoming, nice and polite. Excellent restaurant and service. I can reccommend it to everyone who needs to relax.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EmiliyaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Okay, maybe the word hate is too strong... Let me explain myself : the hospitality was great, I remember we got there on a Sunday and EVERYTHING was closed, including restaurants, and we were starving. So someone who works there proposed to drive us until we finally found a place to eat. And for the rest of the stay, the staff was very friendly.
It's a charming place to stay, we feel that we are in touch with nature (that includes being in touch with bugs and mosquitoes: I had lots of mosquito bites there). The room was big, so was the bathroom. There is a small swimming pool (unfortunately I didn't have the chance to swim in it). Breakfast was delicious and I still remember the home made biscottis. They have a restaurant that was highly recommend to us, but unfortunately, as it was Sunday, it was closed (and we were really disappointed not to dine there). There isn't much close to the hotel, but we enjoyed the lovely natural views of the green mountains close by.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZeinaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Unfortunately it was Sunday and the restaurant was closed so was the reception (??). We had to wait 2 hours in a dead town (Castrovillari), everywhere was closed and we were hungry. Thanks God we saw someone inside and he opened the door for us. (They don't know any English, my Italian saved our lives) Pietro, such a helpful gentleman, he tried to find a place for us to have lunch. He drove all the way, and found us a hotel where we had a great lunch. We were the only clients in the hotel. The pool was too dirty to swim, and it was spooky as there was no one around. The rooms were weird and not very clean. However, we slept like babies and the next morning, the breakfast was AMAZING! All HOME MADE BISCOTTI with a yummy CAPPUCCINO!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castrovillari
14.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Santa Maria
Hotel Villa Santa Maria
#3 of 5 in Villapiana
18 reviews
4.4 mi away
Agriturismo Fattoria San Bernardino
15.0 mi away
Sibari Green Village
Sibari Green Village
#1 of 13 in Cassano allo Ionio
2,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Hotel Toscano
Hotel Toscano
#1 of 1 in Tarsia
57 reviews
0.8 mi away
B&B Casale Valleverde Castrovillari
3.1 mi away
Podere di Vignantica
Podere di Vignantica
#1 of 8 in Castrovillari
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Locanda di Alia - AliaJazzHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locanda di Alia - AliaJazzHotel

Property: La Locanda di Alia - AliaJazzHotel
Address: Via Letticelli, 55, 87012 Castrovillari, Italy
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Cosenza > Castrovillari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castrovillari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Locanda di Alia - AliaJazzHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Locanda di Alia - AliaJazzHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Locanda Di Alia - AliaJazzHotel Italy/Castrovillari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing