We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phony iu guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Phou Iu Guest House and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Muang Sing B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Like the bungalows around the grassy green courtyard. Nice front porch, slippery shower floor is all I can complain about.

Management ( I think his name was "Seesumpon".) was very helpful arranging a Tuk Tuk tour of villages with an excellent guide. We changed our minds about the one night trek we had planned to take because of th heat...and the fact that basically you were trekking into the jungle to trek out by the road to visit villages you could mostly reach by tuk tuk anyway.
They were very flexible.
They also helped us arrange transport by private van to the border crossing.

Breakfast included was unimpressive. Seesumpon's restaurant on the corner for dinner is good, but don't neglect to try the restaurant that specializes in Laotian food. Go out of the Phou IU grounds, take a left. Take a left at the first corner. It's down a couple blocks on the right.

Akha ladies will find you on the street and sell you clothes and trinkets out of their bags. They all ride around town on their bikes in the cooler late afternoon.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peacesnplaysez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for The Phou Iu Guest House and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 61 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2011

Phou Iu Guest House 2 actually consists of numerous bungalows around a nicely landscaped green, one block off the busy main street in Muang Sing. There's some sort of night club across the street, but like everything in Muang Sing it seems to shut down fairly early (10-11 p.m.) and was never loud enough to bother me, a very light sleeper. The restaurant is actually a block away on the main street and serves decent food.

The location is great, the accommodations plain and simple: a fairly large bedroom with a large bed, bedside table, fan, and mosquito net (I had two rooms while in the area, one with a net the other without); and a bathroom with a "western" style toilet and shower with VERY low water pressure. Based on what other travelers in town shared with me, I'd say it's comparable to what you'll find elsewhere in town, which is why I rate it as "average".

The manager is a very nice, young woman who speaks fairly good English and always seems to be about. She looked after my bags while I did one of the "native" village homestays while in the area, and upon my return gave me a slightly better bungalow. I certainly wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TTrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

Muang Sing is a gathering point for backpackers and other travelers who plan to trek the local hill country and tribal villages. As such, its very rural and this guest house is a very pleasant refuge. But lets be clear, its very rural as well. Basic bamboo cottages with very necessary mosquito netting over the beds (pretty comfortable). A basic cold shower and toilet are very welcome. You wake with the farm family and their pigs and chickens who seem to live about four feet out your back window, but somehow that just makes the experience richer. OK breakfast. The restaurant at the associated hotel, a block up the dirt lane is good with excellent Lao stir fried dinners. Best in town.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phototype
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

Good accommodation in Muang Sing, Luang Namtha, Laos

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
1  Thank Somsavathlaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank 497미나김
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank LAUNATCLEMMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alle Bungalows haben eine Bank zum Verweilen vor dem Haus.
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krokodaxel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Phou Iu Guest House and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phou Iu Guest House and Restaurant

Address: Ban Singchaluern, Sing District | Luang Namtha, Muang Sing 0301, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Namtha Province > Muang Sing
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Muang Sing
Price Range: $13 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Phou Iu Guest House and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing