We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely apartment, great location, warm and friendly hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Borgo dei Cadolingi
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely apartment, great location, warm and friendly hosts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2011

We stayed in the loggia apartment which is very spacious, We would highly recommend this apartment and the others. The hosts are lovely and went out of their way to make sure we were welcome and had what we needed. When we arrived late with our very tired 18 month old, they went out and got us milk and snacks for her. The bottle of wine left for us to try by the owners was lovely and when I said so I was lucky enough to get another and to visit the owners amazing wine cellar. The apartment complex used to be a convent and has been rennovated in a lovely old tuscan style. They are building a pool which will make it an even better spot in the summer. The location is great for day trips around the region. We wish we could have enjoyed the lovely big fire but we had beautiful weather. There is a village 4k nearby with a small supermarket, cafe, pharmacy, playground etc..and lots of other restaurants also in close driving distance. We will definitely come back some day

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ra_stev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2010

We stayed one week at Borgo dei Cadolingi in October. The apartment was exceptional: CLEAN, good bed, nicely appointed and everything worked. We liked it so much that we came back for another week in November! After a long day of museums and libraries, we came back to a very comfortable apartment. Driving in the countryside is very close to heaven. The owners are very kind, helpful and interesting people. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan_David004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2010

Borgo dei Cadolingi is an exquisite apartment experience. My husband and I have stayed there twice ( 2007, 2010) and we have had friends also stay there who have been thrilled with our recommendation. The apartments are very clean, spacious, steeped in history, yet modern at the same time. It is a cheerful and peaceful location in a hamlet with easy access to nearby towns and essential services. The postcard vistas from the apartments are breathtaking- rolling hills, vineyards, and open skies. Situated between Siena and Firenze it is a perfect base for exploring Toscana. The owners are warm and welcoming and do everthing possible to make your stay memorable. It is s special place!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayt60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rijsenhout
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2010

It was our second stay in their Terrace apartment, fantastic. All apartments are very well equipped against an excellent price-quality ratio. And not to forget the friendliness and hospitality of the Calonici family: Franco, Patricia and daughter Nicoletta.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlesRijsenhout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2010

Borgo dei Cadolingi was recommended to us by a good friend, and after staying there by myself, we have recommended it to several friends and colleagues from work, and they also came back fully satisfied.

Borgo dei Cadolingi is simply a magic place: cosy, well-fitted apartments in an overwhelming landscape, the ideal place to recharge one’s batteries and to be used as a base for exploring the historic places of Tuscany. We are sue we will go back to Borgo dei Cadolingi and have again a wonderful time!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

When I was looking on the web for the perfect accommodation in Tuscany, I was bombarded with choices. They all promised to give me precisely what I was looking for, which was an apartment that was modern and beautiful, but with a feel of authentic Italy; somewhere off the beaten track, but not totally isolated; a place that matched the Italy of my imagination and made me feel the beauty, and be part of it. Definitely a tall order. What I found was Borgo Dei Cadolingi Apartments, and what a result! This place had it all, and surpassed even my fertile imagination. These stunning apartments which have been meticulously and beautifully restored, furnished and decorated by the owners, are part of a large 12th century building which has in its time served as a villa, a convent and a family home, and part of it remains so today. The people in the village of Catignano continue their daily lives, living and working there as they have for centuries, and do not actively promote their amazing history for tourists, but if you ask questions, you will be delighted to learn all sorts of secret facts about the village and area, not least the castle just up the road, hidden for centuries. As though this wouldn’t be enough for anyone seeking the perfect Tuscan holiday, there is one more amazing feature, the family who own and care for these wonderful apartments. Franco, Patrizia and their family warmly welcome every guest, ensuring that all needs are met and every form of comfort is attended to, in their uniquely hospitable and discreet manner. If you are very lucky, Franco will show you his wine cellar underneath the old chapel, and may even be persuaded to sell you his own wine and olive oil. Yes, you will need a car to explore the wonders of the wider Tuscany, but Catignano is only half an hour from San Gimignano, forty five minutes from Siena or Florence and the town of Castelfiorentino is only minutes away. I could tell you so much more, but that would perhaps spoil all the surprises, which you must discover for yourself.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CeciliaToowoomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2010

My husband and I spent the month of April travelling in France and Italy for our retirement trip. The highlight was the wonderful 2 weeks spent at Borgo dei Cadolingi with another couple..The 2 bedroom/2 bathroom apartment was a perfect place to experience the "Typical Tuscano" feeling with our friends. It had been renovated with care to include modern conveniences and yet maintained the sense of history. It is in a small little country hamlet surrounded by olive trees and vineyards. The terrace was perfect for a morning coffee or a glass of chianti in the evenings. A car is essential.....it is an easy drive to Certaldo to catch the train to Florence and other destinations. It is centrally located between Florence and Sienna allowing day trips by car as well. We drove to Sienna and several times to the Chianti region to tour wineries. It is also close to San Gimignano which cannot be missed. The owners were amazing hosts and ensured our stay was full of special memories. Although we do not speak Italian their efforts and generosity were easy to understand and their daughter was an excellent translator when needed. My husband and myself, and our friends will never forgot the time spent in the Tuscany region and the memories of this special apartment.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyretireeOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gambassi Terme hotels
0.6 mi away
Agriturismo Renai e Monte
Agriturismo Renai e Monte
#5 of 21 in Gambassi Terme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
5.5 mi away
Tenuta Quadrifoglio
Tenuta Quadrifoglio
#1 of 7 in Gambassi Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
2.1 mi away
Borgo della Meliana
Borgo della Meliana
#3 of 21 in Gambassi Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Villa Bianca Hotel
Villa Bianca Hotel
#1 of 6 in Gambassi Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tenuta Sant'Ilario
Tenuta Sant'Ilario
#2 of 7 in Gambassi Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
2.1 mi away
Il Gatto e La Volpe
Il Gatto e La Volpe
#5 of 7 in Gambassi Terme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo dei Cadolingi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo dei Cadolingi

Property: Borgo dei Cadolingi
Address: Via Catignano, 25, 50050 Gambassi Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Gambassi Terme
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Gambassi Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful structure in the center of Tuscany, near to Siena, Firenze, Sangimignano, Vinci, Volterra, Pisa and Lucca. Nice and quite place where you can relax enjoying the wonderful view on Tuscan hills. Elegant and romantic apartments, with every comfort you need ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Borgo dei Cadolingi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Dei Cadolingi Tuscany/Gambassi Terme, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing