We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Czech and Scotland family get together”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gambassi Terme
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Sciolta Historic Villa
Leven, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Czech and Scotland family get together”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My son booked this farmhouse for all the family from Czech and Scotland to get together so that our grandson could spend time with all his family as they live a distance away from everyone.I personally loved the place and had a very relaxing holiday (especially lying in the hammock) and would say that the fishing lake was enjoyed by some of the family.Gabriella is very helpful and helped arrange horse riding trips and also for a cook to come and do evening meal one night which was absolutely delicious.Only downside was the pool was not for our use which was a bit disappointing due to the fact that there was so many of us and we only had the smaller hydro therapy pool.We were allowed use of pool for 2 days after asking Gabriella.Would recommend car hire if you like to go out and about to visit some of the beautiful countryside and quaint little towns which are in this area.Would happily have stayed in this very relaxing and beautiful spot where villa and outside area was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shonad7674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I was lucky enough to be invited to stay at Fattoria La Sciolta by a friend celebrating her 40th birthday party in Tuscany, July 2013

The Villa was in a very central place and it was so convenient to head out for a day to Pisa, Florence, Sienna and San Gimignano.
I would recommend you hire a car for your stay in this region to get around, even if just to get to the train station. (Parking in Florence is apparently very expensive)

The rooms were pleasant and spacious and the beds were very comfy, there was enough bathrooms throughout the house.
Everything was very neat and clean and there was more than enough crockery and cutlery for our group of 26 adults.
On our lazy days we spent our time relaxing at the pool in front of the villa, and on the days we could exert some energy – we swam lengths in the enormous pool to the side of the villa.

Highly recommended for big family get-togethers or gathering of friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We went to the villa for my wife's 60th Birthday in May 2012 with 29 friends and family. The villa is about 9km from the Certaldo rail station. They have heaps of different accommodation available at varying degrees of comfort and cost. I would be happy to recommend it to anyone looking for a venue to hold an event. The villa is ideal for big dinners and has heaps of plates glasses etc.
The weather was not great during our stay and the outdoors areas would have been better utilized if it had been warmer. Here are my tips.
1 Hire a car as the roads are quite good.
2. Restaurants are close but are a little too far to venture out at night once it is dark if walking.
3. Mobile phones and wifi are not great at the Villa but are better up the hill near the road or at the apartments.
4. Gabriella and her husband are great and most helpful for anything required.
5. There lots of places to visit nearby and the grounds are comfortable to enjoy if staying home.


3.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris581953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We arrived in early May for a week at this quaint and interesting family owned Olive Farm. The living quarters were outstanding. We stayed in the small hunters cottage overlooking La Sciolta. Gabriella is a great hostess and very accomodating. The location is close to everything. The people were wonderful and friendly. It is a great place to relax or explore the surroundings. If you are a cyclist there are many interesting places to bike and vehicles are friendly to bikers. All of the recommended restaurants in the area were outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcblank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington state
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2010

We stayed in Le Tre Querce with another couple in September 2009. The facilities were great, very quiet, comfortable, and close to other sites for touring. Gabriella was very helpful, arranging a visit for wine tasting and even arranged a visit to the local Dr. for me for a small problem. Spending some time around the pool in the September sun with a glass of local wine was a treat. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doc51WashingtonState
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2010

Gabriella and Christiano met us on arrival and showed us around the property making us feel right at home, complete with a bottle of their own olive oil and wine from their vineyard.
The location was perfect for day trips to many beautiful towns in the area and when we wanted to relax where better than the pool and grounds at La Sciolta. We made friends with some of the other families staying on the property and had a thoroughly enjoyable vacation.
Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krnelson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2010

We found the Fattoria La Sciolta online and were not sure what we would get - but we weren't disappointed!

Gabriella was a wonderful host and nothing was too much trouble for her. This was very important to us as we were also getting married in Volterra as well! Gabriella's friend organised the legalities and following the ceremony we arrived back at the fattoria to find the table set and decorated so we could settle back to enjoy a wonderful meal cooked by a local chef. She also took me to get a bouquet and a wedding cake during the week!

The accommodation was great - there were 17 of us and we took the main house and tre querce cottage. There was a real mix - grandparents, parents, brothers, sisters and friends - and everyone was happy! Don't expect luxury but if you like character, charm and a good nights sleep you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cottsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gambassi Terme hotels
1.7 mi away
Villa Bianca Hotel
Villa Bianca Hotel
#2 of 4 in Gambassi Terme
111 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tenuta Sant'Ilario
Tenuta Sant'Ilario
#1 of 8 in Gambassi Terme
227 reviews
4.4 mi away
Agriturismo Renai e Monte
Agriturismo Renai e Monte
#4 of 22 in Gambassi Terme
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tenuta Quadrifoglio
Tenuta Quadrifoglio
#2 of 8 in Gambassi Terme
178 reviews
2.0 mi away
Villa Della Certosa
Villa Della Certosa
#3 of 8 in Gambassi Terme
29 reviews
2.2 mi away
Il Gatto e La Volpe
Il Gatto e La Volpe
#5 of 8 in Gambassi Terme
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sciolta Historic Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sciolta Historic Villa

Property: La Sciolta Historic Villa
Address: SP4 Volterrana _ La Sciolta 26, 50050 Gambassi Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Gambassi Terme
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Gambassi Terme
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa is an authentic tuscan property totally restored, it accommodate 18 people in 9 double bedrooms and 7 bathrooms, it is located in the middle of Tuscany near Florence, Siena, Pisa and close to the famous towns such as San Gimignano, Volterra, San Miniato, Certaldo. It is placed in a strategic location to visit the Tuscany region and ideal for day trips also by train. The Villa has a Tuscan classic style equipped with comfort and technology, large private garden and natural park around, Air conditioning, Wi Fi connection in all rooms, private pool with green solarium. Its dependance is at disposal for more people. Here you can relax in the unspoiled nature, or to participate in the following activities: Wine & Olive Oil Tasting, cooking classes, hiking trails and horseback riding, mountain biking and cycling routes, olive harvest in the period October 20 / 30th November. Discount card for the nearby wonderful GOLF CLUB CASTELFALFI 27 holes or relaxing in the nearby SPA center Terme Della Via Francigena. The family management is always available to their guests with helps and advices. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Sciolta Historic Villa Tuscany/Gambassi Terme, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing