We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay and visit.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gambassi Terme
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Sciolta Historic Villa
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We arrived in early May for a week at this quaint and interesting family owned Olive Farm. The living quarters were outstanding. We stayed in the small hunters cottage overlooking La Sciolta. Gabriella is a great hostess and very accomodating. The location is close to everything. The people were wonderful and friendly. It is a great place to relax or explore the surroundings. If you are a cyclist there are many interesting places to bike and vehicles are friendly to bikers. All of the recommended restaurants in the area were outstanding.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcblank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 29 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2010

We stayed in Le Tre Querce with another couple in September 2009. The facilities were great, very quiet, comfortable, and close to other sites for touring. Gabriella was very helpful, arranging a visit for wine tasting and even arranged a visit to the local Dr. for me for a small problem. Spending some time around the pool in the September sun with a glass of local wine was a treat. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doc51WashingtonState
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

Gabriella and Christiano met us on arrival and showed us around the property making us feel right at home, complete with a bottle of their own olive oil and wine from their vineyard.
The location was perfect for day trips to many beautiful towns in the area and when we wanted to relax where better than the pool and grounds at La Sciolta. We made friends with some of the other families staying on the property and had a thoroughly enjoyable vacation.
Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krnelson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

We found the Fattoria La Sciolta online and were not sure what we would get - but we weren't disappointed!

Gabriella was a wonderful host and nothing was too much trouble for her. This was very important to us as we were also getting married in Volterra as well! Gabriella's friend organised the legalities and following the ceremony we arrived back at the fattoria to find the table set and decorated so we could settle back to enjoy a wonderful meal cooked by a local chef. She also took me to get a bouquet and a wedding cake during the week!

The accommodation was great - there were 17 of us and we took the main house and tre querce cottage. There was a real mix - grandparents, parents, brothers, sisters and friends - and everyone was happy! Don't expect luxury but if you like character, charm and a good nights sleep you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cottsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

This was the third time we have stayed at Fattoria La Sciolta; it has always been such a pleasure that we have taken different groups of friends there to share the experience.
Gabriela and Cristiano are extremely hospitable. We stayed in Il Leccio. The house is in beautiful grounds, it iswell equipped and furnished as a home, not just as accommodation. I would recommend the place wholeheartedly. This is not a place to stay if you want nightlife - it is for a relaxing holiday enjoying the delights of one of the most beautiful parts of Italy.
It is in a good central location, ideal as a base for visiting different parts of Tuscany; San Gimignano, Florence, Pisa, Siena, Lucca, Vinci, Certaldo..... You do need a car, though.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CazDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2010

We spent 3 weeks with family and friends, and had a fantastic time. The owners were extremely gracious and went out of there way to make our stay unforgettable. The house and outdoor setting were perfect. Furniture was simple, comfortable and perfect for kids. We enjoyed the pool and outdoor dinning. The house is located in the country side but close to many places to visit. We took daily trips, by car, to visit Florence, Rome, Pisa, and many more... We would highly recommend Fattoria La Sciolta and would love to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanatrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2010

We (two couples) rented a car in Florence and drove to Fattoria La Sciolta, (one hour) which is outside of Gambassi. The Morellis, owners, are very helpful and presented us with a bottle of wine, maps and information on shopping, dining,etc. During the week we took day trips to Siena, San Gimignano, Cinque Terre, Lucca and Pisa. You can catch a train in a nearby town for additional trips to Florence or elsewhere if you prefer. Querce Cottage, where we stayed, has two baths, two bedrooms (queen beds} and a small bedroom (two single beds). There is a fireplace in the living area, large dining table, well equipped kitchen, attractive patio with hammock and access to washer/ dryer.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgianoname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gambassi Terme hotels
1.6 mi away
Tenuta Sant'Ilario
Tenuta Sant'Ilario
#1 of 8 in Gambassi Terme
238 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tenuta Quadrifoglio
Tenuta Quadrifoglio
#2 of 8 in Gambassi Terme
187 reviews
2.2 mi away
Il Gatto e La Volpe
Il Gatto e La Volpe
#6 of 8 in Gambassi Terme
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Villa Bianca Hotel
Villa Bianca Hotel
#2 of 4 in Gambassi Terme
117 reviews
2.0 mi away
Villa Della Certosa
Villa Della Certosa
#3 of 8 in Gambassi Terme
36 reviews
5.0 mi away
Agriturismo Girasole
Agriturismo Girasole
#9 of 22 in Gambassi Terme
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sciolta Historic Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sciolta Historic Villa

Address: SP4 Volterrana _ La Sciolta 26, 50050 Gambassi Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Gambassi Terme
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Gambassi Terme
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa is an authentic tuscan property totally restored, it accommodate 18 people in 9 double bedrooms and 7 bathrooms, it is located in the middle of Tuscany near Florence, Siena, Pisa and close to the famous towns such as San Gimignano, Volterra, San Miniato, Certaldo. It is placed in a strategic location to visit the Tuscany region and ideal for day trips also by train. The Villa has a Tuscan classic style equipped with comfort and technology, large private garden and natural park around, Air conditioning, Wi Fi connection in all rooms, private pool with green solarium. Its dependance is at disposal for more people. Here you can relax in the unspoiled nature, or to participate in the following activities: Wine & Olive Oil Tasting, cooking classes, hiking trails and horseback riding, mountain biking and cycling routes, olive harvest in the period October 20 / 30th November. Discount card for the nearby wonderful GOLF CLUB CASTELFALFI 27 holes or relaxing in the nearby SPA center Terme Della Via Francigena. The family management is always available to their guests with helps and advices. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Sciolta Historic Villa Tuscany/Gambassi Terme, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing