We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for an overnight stopover”
Review of NH Magdeburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
NH Magdeburg
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Barleben
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Marsh Gibbon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fine for an overnight stopover”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel is not close to Magdeburg, but is very close to the A2 so ideal for a stopover when travelling across Germany. The Staff on reception could do with some lessons in customer service. They really looked like they couldn't be bothered with us. We were advised that the bar was open until 01.00 but after ordering a drink at 11.30 were asked to settle our bill as they wanted to close.
The room was adequate, but quite dated and not really 4 star standard.
The breakfast was nice although I wouldn't bother asking for fried eggs as they were burnt on the bottom and raw on top!!!
Not a bad hotel, but I wouldn't rush back

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    178
    47
    6
    3
See reviews for
55
110
19
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Komen, Slovenia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We booked room for one night without breakfast, because the breakfast was expensive. The room was clean and the bathroom facilities were good. Perfect location - near highway, free parking, but wifi didn't work well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

NH Magdeburg was a great stay for the one night, whilst on our drive from UK to Poland. We were travelling with our 18 month old son, and found the room we had chosen, spacious and comfortable.

The room was clean and the bathroom facilities were great. There is also a good TV selection.

Close to the A2 to continue our journey.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frieschepalen
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I use this hotel almost every week for work in the area in Magdeburg. It's good to reach, nice clean rooms. very good (but expensive) breakfast and almost next to the Autobahn without noise.

If you book ahead you can get good prices. The internet free and paid internet options are very slow.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Watafutaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had a stopover on our way to Berlin and stayed at this hotel. All in all our stay was nice. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Rooms were just fine, although starting to show its age, but nothing to complain about. Breakfast was expensive (€16) but nice. Location is perfect, just a few minutes from the highway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deedee-2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed overnight recently on a business trip in the area. Had a two-hour drive from Berlin late at night, so was glad to arrive. As per the title, the Hotel is modern, clean and comfortable, the rooms are nice and cosy, well furnished and a good temperature control. The staff at check-in/out and the bar-staff were very friendly and helpfull, a nice airy breakfast room with ample buffet, plenty of choice...all in all I cannot fault this Hotel, and will definitely use it if I am in the area again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leon02010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Nice average clean hotel. A We chose this hotel as close to the major roads and a good price. Situated in a small town on the edge of corn fields. You can hear the constant buzz of traffic in the distance. The staff are very nice and speak good English.
We ate in the dining room. The food was very nice although the service was a little slow. A very nice wine list.
Breakfast was included and was delishous. I enjoyed a pleasant walk through the village in the early morning sun.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seabreeze88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barleben
4.5 mi away
Arthotel Magdeburg
Arthotel Magdeburg
#1 of 23 in Magdeburg
137 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Sachsen Anhalt
Hotel Sachsen Anhalt
#2 of 4 in Barleben
92 reviews
4.3 mi away
Maritim Hotel Magdeburg
Maritim Hotel Magdeburg
#2 of 23 in Magdeburg
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Classik Hotel Magdeburg
Classik Hotel Magdeburg
#6 of 23 in Magdeburg
91 reviews
4.8 mi away
Historisches Herrenkrug Parkhotel an der Elbe
5.0 mi away
Plaza Magdeburg
Plaza Magdeburg
#13 of 23 in Magdeburg
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Magdeburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Magdeburg

Property: NH Magdeburg
Address: Olvenstedter Str. 2a | Ebendorf, 39179 Barleben, Saxony-Anhalt, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Saxony-Anhalt > Barleben
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Barleben
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Magdeburg 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the medieval charm of Germany's "Fortress City" at 4 star NH Magdeburg. Nestled in the quiet periphery of the city, the hotel's convenient access to motorway A2 is the perfect vantage point to explore the area's scenic beauty and rich history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Magdeburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
NH Magdeburg Barleben, Germany - Saxony-Anhalt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing