We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely owners, cute town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda La Pieve

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Locanda La Pieve
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Semproniano
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely owners, cute town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We spent one night here as part of a few days in Tuscany and we loved it. The town is very cute, very Italian, not touristy at all, great views if you walk up to the church which is a few mins away. It's about a 10-15 min drive to Saturnia which is what we were there to see really. The owners are just so friendly and lovely, they advised us to go to the Midnight Spa and that was one of the bext experiences ever, 14 euros to get into the Saturnia spa for the evening 10 - 1am, 38 degree waters, candlelight, cocktails - fab! Gorgeous breakfast, all home made, I would reccomend if you have a car and happy to drive to Saturnia for the evening and back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaG1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    17
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
156
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

The owners Angela and Enrico are very hospitable and welcoming. The small hotel is located in a village that is quiet and unspoilt. You can walk up to the high point of the village for fabulous 360 degree views of the surrounding countryside. We had dinner at the hotel for both nights of our stay. The meals were amongst the best of our trip and were served by Angela on the terrace. The quality of the food cooked by Enrico and the setting were both excellent. I would recommend people to stay at Locanda La Pieve and also to have dinner there as well. We spent 16 nights in Italy and this was definitely a highlight of our trip.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KMLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Enrico and Angela were really friendly, helpful and went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible. Nothing seemed to be too much for them!
Enrico is a chef by passion and you shouldn't miss out on a meal prepared by him! He is also an expert in making cappuccino while Angela bakes delicious apricot pies!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobidrei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I spent a couple of days at La Pieve with a friend of mine. Our short stay was extremely pleasent with the hosts spoiling us rotten. The relais is ideally located within reach of many interesting sites to visit in the region. The rooms was very comfortable and quite. We will come back!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank epianta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Enrico and Angela were great hosts, pleasant and very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. We had a very comfortable "English" themed room. Breakfasts were delicious; fresh ricotta, home made jams and pastries, fresh juices, olive oil and hard boiled egg on special request for our son. The hotel has a lovely patio and very nice sitting room. Semproniano is a hidden gem, definitely worth the drive up and down the winding roads of Maremma. We visited and loved little nearby towns of Sorano, Pitigliano and Sovana, and we spent the most relaxing day of our entire Italian trip in the thermal baths of Saturnia.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magdaitomek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrose, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

While on a walking holiday in the Maremma area we were fortunate to be put up in Angela and Enrico’s Locanda De Pieve Hotel in the most beautiful hilltop town of Semproniano. When we were still an hour’s walk from the hotel we were caught in a very heavy rainstorm and Enrico came looking for us and offered us a ride. That thoughtfulness, which we politely refused, and the subsequent cappuccino they served upon our arrival set the tone for two very pleasant days with them. The rooms, which contained our luggage, were each uniquely decorated, nice sized and very clean with lots of hot water for the very cold and wet hikers. The homemade meals all prepared by Enrico and the friendly service by Angela made our stay the highlight of our holiday. Doug & Karen Olmen

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Charming small Locanda (7 rooms) in the ancient, quiet, small Southern Tuscan town of Semproniano. This albergo is delightful with tasteful, calming, understated, individually-themed rooms. The hosts, Angela and Enrico, could not be more helpful, pleasant and informative. The breakfasts are quite wonderful with pastries, jams, fruit etc in abundance. Dinner is also available and is of a good standard and complemented with interesting local wines (eg Monteregio and Montecucco). A perfect place from which to explore Southern Tuscany and in particular the Maremma region.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crablane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Semproniano
4.5 mi away
Hotel Saturno Fonte Pura
11.6 mi away
Hotel Le Macinaie - Monte Amiata
Hotel Le Macinaie - Monte Amiata
#1 of 4 in Castel Del Piano
4.5 of 5 stars 478 reviews
3.8 mi away
Il Cantuccio
Il Cantuccio
#2 of 15 in Manciano
4.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Saturnia Tuscany Hotel
Saturnia Tuscany Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poggio Murella
4.5 of 5 stars 753 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hotel Resort Antico Casale di Scansano
5.4 mi away
Complesso il Gorello
Complesso il Gorello
#3 of 5 in Saturnia
4.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda La Pieve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda La Pieve

Property: Locanda La Pieve
Address: Via della Societa' Operaia 3, 58055 Semproniano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Semproniano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Semproniano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda La Pieve 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locanda la Pieve is a small charming hotel in the heart of Tuscan Maremma, just a stroll from Saturnia natural hot springs and much more. Located in the medieval Tuscan Village of Semproniano, and the name is due to the Ancient Church dated XI Century, Locanda la Pieve is own by Enrico and Angela since 2007 with passion. Eight rooms all different from each other, with different names and decors. A dining room reserved to the hotel guest and which is served brekfast and a surprise dinner every night. Local products, local wines and original Tuscan Maremma reciept is the must. Within five miles our guest can enjoy the beauty of the tehrmal water of Saturnia SPA, and guests from Locanda la Pieve are welcome with a discounted tickets to be requested at the Locanda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Locanda La Pieve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda La Pieve Semproniano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing