We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“"Enrico & Angela - Incredible Hosts"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Locanda La Pieve

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Locanda La Pieve
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Semproniano
Certificate of Excellence
Penrose, Colorado
1 review
“"Enrico & Angela - Incredible Hosts"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

While on a walking holiday in the Maremma area we were fortunate to be put up in Angela and Enrico’s Locanda De Pieve Hotel in the most beautiful hilltop town of Semproniano. When we were still an hour’s walk from the hotel we were caught in a very heavy rainstorm and Enrico came looking for us and offered us a ride. That thoughtfulness, which we politely refused, and the subsequent cappuccino they served upon our arrival set the tone for two very pleasant days with them. The rooms, which contained our luggage, were each uniquely decorated, nice sized and very clean with lots of hot water for the very cold and wet hikers. The homemade meals all prepared by Enrico and the friendly service by Angela made our stay the highlight of our holiday. Doug & Karen Olmen

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    17
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
161
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Charming small Locanda (7 rooms) in the ancient, quiet, small Southern Tuscan town of Semproniano. This albergo is delightful with tasteful, calming, understated, individually-themed rooms. The hosts, Angela and Enrico, could not be more helpful, pleasant and informative. The breakfasts are quite wonderful with pastries, jams, fruit etc in abundance. Dinner is also available and is of a good standard and complemented with interesting local wines (eg Monteregio and Montecucco). A perfect place from which to explore Southern Tuscany and in particular the Maremma region.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crablane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juiz de Fora - MG
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

After negotiating the narrow roads that lead up the Tuscan hills from Grosseto, one is surprised to find the Locanda La Pieve, in the heart of the small historic town of Semproniano. You can easily park your car just behind it, or in the municipal parking lot (just a few steps away, and very safe). Enrico and Angela, the owners, will make a point to help you with your luggage and show you to one of their theme rooms: we stayed at the “camera del mago” (sorcerer`s room) and “camera inglese” (English room), with their suiting and inspiring decoration. The rooms are simple yet extremely comfortable, and will provide you with the convenience of a spotlessly clean en-suite toilet/bathroom. Silence reigns, and after a walk around the charming medieval town or a visit to a nearby attraction (the Saturnia baths, Pitigliano and the etruscan ruins of Sovana are definitely a must), the owners will pamper you with a 4-course dinner that will vary each day. The starters of “crostino Toscano” (with liver and onions), “sformato brocoli “ (a quiche but without butter) and “pumpkin soufflé”, to name but a few, will open the way for their wonderful pasta (the Tuscan pasta has a smaller amount of sauce, which is great) and main dishes with delicacies such as “guancia” (veal cheek) and pork fillets. All is topped up with regional dessert and a choice of wine (you are in the Maremma region, and there are two groups of wine you should taste: Morellino and Montecucco). But all this is cooked by Enrico and served, with grace, by Angela, who will be only too happy to tell you a brief story of the dish. After a peaceful night`s sleep, there will be a sensible breakfast waiting for you. Angela will be down there in the tastefully decorated dining area (speaking very good English as does Enrico), just to make sure you approve of their ricotta cheese (you won`t want butter). Enrico and Angela are very helpful and will go out of their way to guarantee a very pleasant stay in those hills. We relished every single bit of our stay at the charming Locanda la Pieve and we will definitely try to return there one day.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonBas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

Grazie ancora di cuore a Angela e Enrico per la loro calda ospitalità. Siamo stai accolti come amici, coccolati e riempiti di attenzioni. Le camere sono pulitissime, accoglienti e tranquille, arredate con gusto e ciascuna colla sua personalità. La cena cucinata da Enrico era squisita dall'antipasto fino al dolce di Angela e allietata da un eccellente vino locale consigliato con sapienza da Angela. La colazione poi è una vera festa, con le squisite marmellate fatte in casa, la ricotta fresca del pastore e le torte di Angela. Certamente un posto dove ritornare sempre con piacere!

Many thanks again to Angela and Enrico for their warm hospitality. We felt like old friends and got lots of personal attention. Rooms are spotless clean and quiet, tastefully furnished, each one with its own personality. The dinner prepared by Enrico was delicious from the starter to the nice pudding of Angela and the excellent local wine competently suggested by Angela. Breakfast was a true feast, with homemade jam, local ricotta and home baked pies. Certainly a place to come back with pleasure!

Paolo e Stefania

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaoloStefania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

Clean, small hotel in a quiet area. Every room has an individual design, which gives a personal feeling. Enrico and Angela who run this hotel are a charming couple and their maremma food is extraordinary and of course made of locally produced food and their own spicies.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PiaThunberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast, australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2010

We arrived here after a long drive and booked acccommodation at this BnB over the internet. It is located in a quaint and very small town but the best thing about this place are the owners. They really spend the time to talk to their guests and it is always great to be able to interact with people with local knowledge. The couple who own this place have been in hospitality for a long time and they know how to provide great service. The rooms are charmingly decorated and clean. We also had a 3 course dinner here which was cooked by one of the owners and they were able to recommend some local wines to go with our meal.

Great place to stay if you want to get out of the city and experience some of the countryside.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelling-jofu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Semproniano
4.5 mi away
Hotel Saturno Fonte Pura
11.6 mi away
Hotel Le Macinaie - Monte Amiata
Hotel Le Macinaie - Monte Amiata
#1 of 4 in Castel Del Piano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
3.8 mi away
Il Cantuccio
Il Cantuccio
#3 of 15 in Manciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Hotel Residence Valle del Buttero
4.0 mi away
Saturnia Tuscany Hotel
Saturnia Tuscany Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poggio Murella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hotel Resort Antico Casale di Scansano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda La Pieve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda La Pieve

Property: Locanda La Pieve
Address: Via della Societa' Operaia 3, 58055 Semproniano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Semproniano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Semproniano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda La Pieve 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locanda la Pieve is a small charming hotel in the heart of Tuscan Maremma, just a stroll from Saturnia natural hot springs and much more. Located in the medieval Tuscan Village of Semproniano, and the name is due to the Ancient Church dated XI Century, Locanda la Pieve is own by Enrico and Angela since 2007 with passion. Eight rooms all different from each other, with different names and decors. A dining room reserved to the hotel guest and which is served brekfast and a surprise dinner every night. Local products, local wines and original Tuscan Maremma reciept is the must. Within five miles our guest can enjoy the beauty of the tehrmal water of Saturnia SPA, and guests from Locanda la Pieve are welcome with a discounted tickets to be requested at the Locanda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Locanda La Pieve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda La Pieve Semproniano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing