We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish I could keep it a secret ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Frantze, le rascard 1721
Ranked #2 of 9 Ayas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Sometimes in Italy you can find a place that has been renovated with class, respecting its history and style. Le Rascard is one of them. It is like to travel back in the past and land in a quiet and cozy mountain village in the middle of the snow. The fact that you can only reach the place by gondola adds a lot to its charm.
The hosts are really nice and helpful, the rooms full of wood and the beds super comfy and warm. The restaurant is delicious and the little spa adds some glamour to the whole experience.
I would suggest a night in this place to couples, lovers, friends, or even family (if your kids are on the quiet side).
And then in the morning, you put your skis just out of the door and off you go on the huge Monterosa Ski Area. I am not sure if you can ask for more....

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shaker70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 99 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2011

The friendly welcome that Francesca and her staff met us with set the tone for the attentive service we received throughout our wonderful week's skiing holiday. The hotel itself is charming - a 300 year old farmhouse or rascard which has been sympathetically and tastefully converted by Francesca's family into a small intimate hotel with 9 double bedrooms. Ours felt like a small suite as it had a mezzanine level with a sitting area with an additional bed/sofa and table and chairs, a kitchenette with microwave, fridge, sink and hob and a good bathroom with walk in shower. The views from our room were wonderful and as a non-skier I was happy to spend some of my day reading or writing in our room although there was also a spacious sitting room with comfortable wing chairs to relax in and a sauna. My husband enjoyed the skiing on a good range of slopes - quiet during the week, livelier at the weekends and would either join me for lunch at Frantze's or I would walk to a hamlet higher up the mountain and meet him there. The food was good - well cooked and presented regional dishes and the local wine was delicious. Although there is no road to the hotel access was not a problem - on arrival we were transported with our luggage quite easily by gondola lift and skidoo to the front door and the relatively remote location added to the sense of adventure and romance. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and plan to repeat it next year to dispel any post-Christmas gloom.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Macdonalds64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful holiday in Champoluc where we stayed at the Rascard Frantze. We have to say first and foremost that the service we received was warm, friendly and exceptional in every way. The service was not just excellent, it was also very personal to our needs and nothing was too much trouble for Francesca or her team. We have to extend a personal thank you to Francesca, her father (who we fondly referred to as Pappa Frantze), and Eleni. The whole team were superb, including the chef who managed to cook a lovely meal for me every evening despite my awkward dietary requirements.
The location provides lovely views and a peaceful holiday experience. It was calm and relaxed for a ski holiday, and the location is very romantic. However, it can be a bit restrictive if you want to go into town till late at night. We went into town on one of the evenings for music night. This is a short walk down the ski slope (a very short walk in our case because the piste basher gave us a lift - a first for us and typical of the friendly encounters we experienced in Champoluc). However, Champoluc is not really a big après ski resort and we didn't feel we were missing out at all. Although the hotel is perfect for couples, there were also several families and one large group staying at the same time as us, and all seemed to have a very good time. I guess one of the drawbacks about the location is you would need to be able to ski quite well to get to and from the hotel as there are a couple of narrow, bumpy paths to go down. However, if you are a nervous skier you could always walk down the paths to and from the piste and this would only take a couple of minutes. It is a red run, but the red runs are quite tame in comparison to other resorts.
The Rascard provides something that none of our previous ski accommodation has, and it is best summed up as idyllic. The rooms are lovely and the lounge and dining room have been restored sympathetically with lovely finishing touches and original features. We stayed in a suite on the top floor which had a double bed (additional single bed up some steps) and a sitting area with gorgeous views down the valley. The rooms have plenty of storage and lovely hot showers. They also have a kitchen area, which we didn’t really use, but this does help to cater for every board basis I guess. We enjoyed reading by the wood burning stove in the early evenings with an aperitif. It has a very homely, cosy feel and we really enjoyed the stay. The food and wine were also excellent and we looked forward to being spoiled in the evenings after a hard day of skiing.
I really can't put into words (without going on and on) how wonderful the service was, but I can say that very few people in the hospitality business these days provide such natural and personal service. I don't think it is something you can teach.
Champoluc is a quieter ski holiday which we really enjoyed , but there is a quieter form of après ski if you want to find it, and plenty of cosy little bars and restaurants on the mountains. The people were very friendly and the three valleys provided decent extent with lovely quiet slopes during the week. It really is a best kept secret (probably shouldn't have told you that). The prices everywhere were very reasonable.
We also wanted to mention Ski2 who we travelled with. The service was great generally, but we particularly enjoyed the personal transfer with sparkling wine. That was a great touch and made the transfer enjoyable (also a first for us). I was also delighted with the private lesson I received which took me off piste and doing a few little jumps here and there (I never knew lessons could be so much fun). The unexpected half day free ski pass on arrival was also wonderful as it meant we could ski straight away. The team in the office there were really helpful and knowledgeable.
But back to the Rascard, it is a little bit different and special. The team really make it perfect. Thank you Francesca and team for a wonderful week!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 187062MrsS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank peach2585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Icosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Carola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Giulio965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayas
0.8 mi away
Hotellerie de Mascognaz
Hotellerie de Mascognaz
#1 of 17 in Champoluc
288 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rifugio l'Aroula
Rifugio l'Aroula
#3 of 9 in Ayas
78 reviews
3.2 mi away
Albergo Punta Zerbion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Residence Trompe-L'oeil
2.6 mi away
Hotel Petit Prince
Hotel Petit Prince
#1 of 2 in Ayas
89 reviews
2.7 mi away
Gresil Residence
Gresil Residence
#7 of 9 in Ayas
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frantze, le rascard 1721? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frantze, le rascard 1721

Address: Loc. Frantze, Champoluc, 11020 Ayas, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Ayas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ayas
Price Range: $128 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frantze welcomes you to the Authenticity. Located just below the arrival of the gondola, which rises from Champoluc to Crest, the rascard Frantze is a hotel and restaurant set in an authentic building from 1721. Perfect for those who love starting the day with a ski or for those who are looking for a secluded place surrounded by nature. The rooms are furnished in traditional style. The space that once kept hay and grain has been transformed into warm and cozy rooms, equipped with a kitchenette, private bathroom and TV. Our family are happy to welcome you to this small hotel ideal for nature lovers, skiers and tranquility. The restaurant is situated in the old stable and is open daily for lunch and dinner. Our guests can enjoy the pleasures of traditional cuisine and local products in a friendly atmosphere. The common living room surrounds guests with warmth from the log-burning stove offering an ideal space to enjoy the company of friends or a good book. In the small relaxation room there is a sauna and an emotional shower, perfect for relaxing in after a nice day outdoors. Frantze the rascard 1721, is situated in the Ayas valley, at the foot of Monte Rosa in the Champoluc Monterosa Ski resort. The village is accessible by foot, on skis from the piste, or from the cable car that climbs from Champoluc to Crest. From Verres exit of the A5 Turin-Aosta autostrada take the SR 45 road up to the Valle d'Ayas Champoluc. From the centre of Champoluc take the cable car that goes up to Crest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Frantze, le rascard 1721 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing