We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Life in the freezer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residence Trompe-L'oeil
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ayas
Reviewed February 25, 2009

We've just enjoyed a wonderful week skiing in Champoluc, but I don't think it would be a good place for beginners. Chairlifts and runs are very long which is great for confident skiers but slower ones might get stuck at the bottom of the wrong valley at the end of the day. One day it was really windy and the lifts shut suddenly - we were lucky to be in the right valley for where we stayed, otherwise we'd have had a very long bus journey back!
We stayed at the Residence Trompe l'oeil in Antagnod, Ayas valley. We were in an "apartment" which was really just one room with a bathroom and very basic everything - only a narrow wooden bench to sit on apart from the bed or stools at a table - really missed a comfy sofa at the end of the day skiing! Bathroom was set up for disabled but loo seat didn't fit and was uncomfortable. Not enough towel rails. Bedroom had water running down the wall - far side from door (more than just condensation) - a real problem with damp which meant I had to keep pulling my pillow down the bed so it didn't get wet - not exactly relaxing. Other rooms may be fine and this problem may have been fixed as the owner said he didn't know about it when we told him. He was very friendly and helpful but the stay was not cheap and it was very poor value for money. Also it's nowhere near the ski lifts and is an uphill walk from the ski bus stop at the end of the day. If offered room 3 check it out carefully before accepting. The weather was very cold but the room was well heated. You need to use a car a lot because no shops or restaurants nearby. It was so cold (below -10 C) that even with arctic diesel in the tank, the car wouldn't start first thing on 2 out of 6 days!

2  Thank Fairweathersailor5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank jacopo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VALENTINA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Stefano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Erika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stefania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayas
0 mi away
Hotel L'Espoir
Hotel L'Espoir
#1 of 1 in Antagnod
135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Petit Prince
Hotel Petit Prince
#1 of 2 in Ayas
92 reviews
5 mi away
Parc Hotel Billia
Parc Hotel Billia
#1 of 10 in Saint-Vincent
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Le Vieux Noyer
Le Vieux Noyer
#4 of 5 in St. Pierre
56 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Genzianella
Hotel Genzianella
#7 of 17 in Champoluc
99 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Laghetto
Hotel Laghetto
#1 of 3 in Brusson
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Trompe-L'oeil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Trompe-L'oeil

Address: Route Barmasc | Antagnod, 11020 Ayas, Italy
Location: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Ayas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ayas
Price Range: $40 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Residence Trompe-L'oeil 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Residence Trompe-L'oeil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing