We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place To Stay and Relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Rendez-Vous Hostal Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 10 Vilcabamba B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at Rendezvous and another hotel in Vilcabamba and found Rendezvous to be perfect for us. The morning breakfast is wonderful and delicious. The rooms, while simple, are clean and quiet with good beds. The gardens are a delight to wander and photograph the flowers and butterflies. The service and staff are first rate and very helpful. The location is out of town, but within a short walk, therefore, little noise with full access to restaurants and the central plaza. When I return to Vilcabamba, this is the first place I will try to make reservations at. Reserve early, as they are often full.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back are quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TonyReis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 152 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

A group of us stayed here for about 5 days while visiting Vilcabamba, Ecuador. It's a wonderful place to relax - especially since each room comes with a hammock and front porch. The owner was very friendly and always on hand to fulfill any requests - he speaks French, English and Spanish. The complimentary breakfast was great - home-cooked eggs or tropical fruit and fresh, homemade bread, fruit juice and coffee/tea. But the most winning feature is how beautiful the grounds are. Completely enclosed by a high wall, the little cabins are nestled among lush tropical plants, gardens and banana trees. You can spend some time just walking around the little pathways and enjoying the nature right in front of your cabin. This place is also very safe, with the front door locked and the owner living on premises. I recommend to single female travelers. And at such a low price, this is a great value. Also, it is a 2-minute walk to the central square of Vilcabamba where you will find restaurants, stores, etc. Very convenient. Another great thing is this hostal is close to the Rumi Wilco Nature preserve. I walked around the block and was right at the beginning of the path to a wonderful hike! There is an excellent massage place right behind the hostal I recommend, too (Massage by Piedad). The room was clean and hotel staff came every morning to make the bed, replace towels, toilet paper, etc. The shower was excellent - hot water and large standing room. I can't think of anything to complain about here. The only thing was that sound travels between adjacent cabins, so you can easily hear your neighbor's conversations. But not that big a deal! Highly recommended for families, couples, groups or single travelers. And oh yeah, a cute resident cat lives on the premises!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank andromeda69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Le Rendez-Vous is a beautiful, peaceful hostel at the edge of Vilcabamba. A number of small bungalow-style houses surround a well-kept garden and courtyard, enclosed by a wall which blocks out the noise from the street and makes it feel safe. Every house has a nice terrace area with hammock outside. To watch hummingbirds fly around the garden of Rendez-Vous while reading a book was very, very relaxing.

Room was very spacious with a big firm double bed. Clean bathroom and hot shower. They have facilities to do your own laundry. The owner, a frenchman, is very friendly and helpful, speaks English, and can give a good map and information about hiking trails and the surroundings. The breakfast is delicious - homemade bread every morning, fruit salad or eggs, juice and coffee/tea/chocolate. It was the perfect start of any day in Vilcabamba.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SquirrelAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

This laid back hostel sits just a moments walk from the center of town and just in the right direction if your headed out to the river or for a walk into the forest. The rooms are kept immaculately clean and the staff is very kind and helpful. The garden surrounding the rooms is beautiful and the area is nice and quiet, perfect for relaxing after those long bus rides and travels. The breakfast included is simple but very nice, the bread is fresh and whole grain. All in all the place is well worth the value. Safe, clean and tranquil!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank G D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Beautiful, quiet, peaceful grounds, with lovely garden and views. Little table with chairs and a hammock in front of each room perfect for relaxing. Shower was one of the best in Ecuador. Breakfast served outside the kitchen in a shaded area. Lino and his wife on hand for anything you need. Only problem with entire stay was our next door neighbors-she was loudly talking on Skype outside next to our patio and since they were both French, they held frequent loud discussions with the owner & his wife that could be heard loudly thru out the complex. Other than that, $30 a night for this place, in a great location is highly recommended. One last note-we walked the 2.2 miles or so uphill to Izcaluma just to check it out. It is stunning-but is a bit far out of town.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank atravellerforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Nice hostel with a beautiful garden. The location is perfect, with bus station, city centre and nice treks all within walking distance (5-10 min on foot).

Great value for the money (13-15 USD per person) gets you a nice doubleroom with hammock and a table facing the garden and good breakfast.

Our only issue: some problem with the capacity and reservations, so there was a little confusion before we could check-in (we did not see the owner for three days, and his back-up only spoke Spanish which can complicate manners - but in the end it all worked out fine).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller-and-eater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I made reservations here beforehand over the phone and even though I had to change our dates about 3 times, Lino, the owner, was very understanding and never made me feel bad about it. When we were running a little late because we had gotten lost, he even called to make sure we were still coming. Again, very professional and friendly. When we got there, he proceeded to give us a map of Vilcabamba and took the time to show us on the map different points of interest and good places to eat. He made us feel very welcome and at home.

The rooms were very nice and clean, a way nicer experience than I would have expected for the price. And the water in Vilcabamba makes your skin and hair feel so soft. It was incredible. The only thing about this hostel that you may want to take into consideration is that the walls are very thin and you can hear your neighbors. But everyone tries to respect that and so we didn't have any problems sleeping.

The next morning, I woke up to birds singing and a beautiful view of the mountains coming out of the mist in the distance. Sitting in my hammock, enjoying all the beautiful colors of the flowers and trees around me, I could have stayed like that for hours. However, getting up to go to the included breakfast was definitely worth it. The homemade bread was delicious!!!

So, if you're planning a trip to Vilcabamba, you have to stay here. It's beautiful!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MisiFuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilcabamba
1.1 mi away
Madre Tierra Resort & Spa
Madre Tierra Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Vilcabamba
283 reviews
18.1 mi away
Zamorano Real Hotel
Zamorano Real Hotel
#4 of 14 in Loja
52 reviews
18.4 mi away
Grand Victoria Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Hotel Podocarpus
Hotel Podocarpus
#5 of 14 in Loja
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casa de Matilda
La Casa de Matilda
#6 of 10 in Vilcabamba
17 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Beatriz Lodge
Villa Beatriz Lodge
#3 of 10 in Vilcabamba
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Rendez-Vous Hostal Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Rendez-Vous Hostal Guesthouse

Address: Diego Vaca de Vega 06-43, Vilcabamba 110161, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Loja Province > Vilcabamba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Vilcabamba
Price Range: $31 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Le Rendez-Vous Hostal Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing