We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and peaceful. A home from home.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vilcabamba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hosteria Izhcayluma
Ranked #1 of 10 Vilcabamba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My partner and I were not sure whether to come to Vilcabamba but will now find it hard to leave. The area itself is lovely. Very scenic with great hiking and a friendly laid back feel. But what has really made it is this hosteria. We stayed just over a week in two different cabanas and in a room. OK, to be fair the room was not so nice. It was dark, had very thin walls and the bed was not so comfortable. But the cabanas are wonderful as is the place itself. The food is good and well priced as are the spa treatments. Also the hostelria has gone to the trouble of printing marked hiking maps and marking the trails and have been providing free yoga classes six days per week. But the best thing is the friendliness of the place and the staff in particular. We have been away from Europe now for over 6 months but have never felt as much at home as here. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Cabanas definitely worth the extra money compared with the rooms. Wake up to a fantastic view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mr__bull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (520)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 520 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

After staying at several places around Ecuador coming to Izhcayluma was a nice surprise. I stayed in a cabin twice, the bedroom is clean, the shower is big with hot water and the patio offers enough space for relaxation, book reading in a hammock and admiring the views. The staff was very helpful and friendly, and the dogs too :-) The best thing on the menu in my opinion is grilled trout. There was plenty to eat at the breakfast buffet too. Definitely would stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kasia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have been in Ecuador almost 2 months and have traveled a great deal of the country from The Amazon to some very high mountains. We have stayed in Apartments in Quito and Cuenca, lodges in the Amazon and a beach condo but nothing compares to this place, in spirit, service, recreational opportunities and weather. It is by far the best experience so far and, with only about 10 days left before we return home, will likely remain so.

Originally we thought we would stay a couple days and we have doubled that. We leave tomorrow only because they are booked out. Our primary purpose in visiting Ecuador was to see if we wanted to live here long term (for us that is about 5 years). Quito has some fine characteristics but it is fast and noisy and big. Cuenca has some wonderful places to live but is a bit too gringoized and the weather is not to our liking. Now we have found an alternative that we really like...the small village of Vilcabamba. It is a bit of a new age thinking place, at least on the part of the younger folks but not overbearing. There is a good connection between expats and locals and the places to live are simple, affordable and could provide a great base for further travels in S. AM. And the dry warm weather is just right.

Hosteria Izhcayluma is noted as a backpackers lodge and that fits us well. The truth is, it is a very laid back tranquil place suitable for anyone. The guest age and country of origin mix every day is
astounding and the owners/staff have made the place comfortable and exciting for that mix. You can even drink the tap water...seriously! From hiking to biking to horseback riding and a 75 minute massage, this place has everything you could want at bargain prices. If you are in or planning to be in Ecuador, we urge you to consider a few days at this wonderful place in Vilcabamba.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 290mikaty290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had just arrived after 2 hard days of travel thru the back door from Peru. What a breath of fresh air!

From the time we arrived we loved the place. Greeted with big smiles and words of welcome. The room was clean and showers had hot water. Wifi worked everywhere in the rooms. the food was good. There is a couple of labs on the property so we got our dog fix.. Yeah!

Highly recommend that you make a reservation ahead of time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chouliha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The grounds are quite nice with lots of flowers. The room I stayed in was very nice, spacious and well setup. The bathroom was large and the shower could hold 4 people! The bed was good and I am glad it was for a single - I think a couple would find it a bit narrow.

Although the windows had mosquito screens installed, there were some moths that managed to get in somewhere - not serious, but a bit of a puzzle.

At night it was quiet and peaceful. During the day, the sound of trucks passing by on the road, which is actually quite close by, distracted from the setting. There was also some construction going on next door, and the sound of machines, electric saws and hammering was often heard.

Breakfast was fine, but you might end up with ham instead of granola depending on the day you stay. Dinner was also tasty and well portioned, and the cost is between $6 and $8 for most main dishes.

The view from the restaurant is quite nice - from the room I was in, it was merely OK.

Overall, it was a good experience, but a pair of headphones for the daytime might be useful if the sound of traffic bothers you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeSeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I came here after it was recommended to me by some fellow travellers and I am so glad I did. The setting is amazing with lush gardens with stunning mountain views. There is a gorgeous swimming pool and they offer free yoga classes on most days, plus hammocks to laze about and read. I booked a bed in a dorm and was put in a room with just one other bed so was very happy about that.The bed was super comfortable and the shower was nice and hot. Towels are included too.

The breakfast (included) is one of the best I've had in South America, with the choice of eggs or crepes plus brown and white bread, a toaster, jam and butter They also have fresh fruit and either muesli and yoghurt or ham (they alternate). The food in the restaurant is decent and very reasonably priced (about $6 for a main). The hostel is about a 20-minute walk into town or $1.50 taxi ride.

The staff give you lots of information too, with a whole folder for each guest giving very detailed information about nearby activities and hikes. Izhcayluma is a lovely little spot and a nice change from the regular hostel scene if you are a backpacker. Great value. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tashy_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

It's difficult to imagine a place more relaxing and peaceful. With its superb views on the Andes, silent location, lovely cabins, luxurious breakfast and utterly helpful staff one really has difficulties in leaving the place. If into hiking, I'd recommend the Podocarpus national park. Take the taxi straight up the mountain and if lucky the driver is willing to wait for you to finish your four-hour hike. The ride there and back costs $40.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mataforgana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilcabamba
2.2 mi away
Madre Tierra Resort & Spa
Madre Tierra Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Vilcabamba
279 reviews
19.5 mi away
Romar Royal Hotel
Romar Royal Hotel
#2 of 14 in Loja
36 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Rendez-Vous Hostal Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
La Casa de Matilda
La Casa de Matilda
#5 of 10 in Vilcabamba
15 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Beatriz Lodge
Villa Beatriz Lodge
#3 of 10 in Vilcabamba
12 reviews
0 mi away
Descanso del Toro
Descanso del Toro
#2 of 11 in Vilcabamba
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Izhcayluma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Izhcayluma

Address: South of Center 2 Km, Vilcabamba 110161, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Loja Province > Vilcabamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Vilcabamba
Price Range: $12 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Valley of Longevity in Vilcabamba, Ecuador, this unique hotel invites you to get away from stress and just relax. Its ideal location is a great starting point for the many activities that the valley and surrounding areas have to offer to tourists. Our accommodations range from dormitories to private rooms and even private cabins- tucked away in the many lush flower gardens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hosteria Izhcayluma Hotel Vilcabamba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing