We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best time in Portugal”
Review of Quinta do Vallado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quinta do Vallado
Certificate of Excellence
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our best time in Portugal”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We spent (only) one night in the modern part. This place is outstanding. This will remain our best memory of our trip in Portugal. I would suggest all travellers to take the "tour of the vineyard" and the dinner on site (amazing view and excellent service). The personnel paid careful attention to every details to make our stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Modern part
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexandre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    61
    8
    1
    5
See reviews for
58
261
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The premises are outstanding - in both the Traditional and the Modern buildings.

The location is excellent with views over the valley to the vineyards on the other side. There are roads and some (little) traffic noise, but they are not an issue.

A good swimming pool and facilities.

Service is willing although a little hard to find at times.

As with many Portugese Hotels etc the breakfasts after a couple of days become a little repetitive.

My only real criticism is that the hotel management and staff appear to be more concerned with looking after and preening the buildings than servicing the requirements of the guests.

Recommended though!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JohnandTracy_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed two nights (not enough) in the old building of this lovely Quinta. It was a good-size room at about 390 square feet and included a half-bottle of wine and oranges. It was very comfortable with a large modern bathroom. We were on the ground floor and had french windows that we could open onto the lovely view. The drawback is that the windows are covered with net curtains which obstruct the view when the doors are closed. Rooms on the upper floor did not appear to share this drawback. The view is magnificent but not quite as good as I was expecting because the opposite valley hillside is crossed by a highway and bridge. No coffee-making equipment in the room.

The new building houses the common areas including the dining room. It is a light, bright contemporary structure and the common rooms are most attractive.

The grounds of the Quinta are beautiful with a lovely pool, rose garden, orange trees and vineyards.

We had dinner both nights: wonderful food accompanied by "home-made" wines. Probably the best dining that we experienced in our two-week visit to Portugal. Breakfast was good.

Apart from the obvious attractions in the Douro Valley we strongly recommend driving the back roads for staggering views and wonderful countryside . . .provided you can cope with narrow unmade tracks and precipitous drops instead of shoulders! The staff at the Quinta gave us advice on finding these roads (although we still often got hopelessly lost) and they (the staff, not the roads) were always helpful and charming.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandDToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Our stay at Quinta do Vallado was part of our Portugal holiday. We stayed there on the way to Porto from Lisbon. Quinta do Vallado is a perfect getaway, and our only regret is that we only stayed there for a night.

The 21 century rooms were fully booked, so we booked the 18th century superior room. Do not have the misconception that the 18th century rooms would be dated. It was very elegantly designed, modern and very comfortable. Our only problem with it was that the air conditioning didnt work, but that was not crucial to our entire experience.

Service staff were warm and motivated. Dinner was great - we had a 4 course dinner, wine included, for 40 euros per person, which was excellent value. We had appetizers of local sausages and sandwich, cauliflower soup, choice of either roast beef or salt cod for the main, and choice of marinated oranges or lemon tart for dessert. The table next to us requested for cheese which the hotel was quite happy to oblige. You may have to inform them in advance that you wish to have dinner at the hotel.

Our stay was perfectly relaxing and we wished we had planned for a few more nights here.

Do note that the vineyard+tasting tour is at 5pm (and 11am I think), so you may want to plan accordingly if you would like to tour the vineyard.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FatboyRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Quinta do Vallado is a well located and appointed gem. It is a great place to use as a base from which to explore the heart of the Douro Valley wine region including the various wine producers not to mention nearby communities such as Lamego, Régua, Pinhão, Tua (take the steam train on Saturday from Régua to Tua via Pinhão), and Mesão Frio. We would suggest taking the time to wander and enjoy this most beautiful area, including the river drive from Porto to Pinhão, using Quinta do Vallado as your base once you arrive in the central region. We wished we had taken several more days at this superb property.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is a beautiful inn. The new addition is very contemporary and beautifully executed to blend into the magnificent surroundings looking out onto the vineyards, river and hills. The staff is extremely accommodating, welcoming us with a lovely glass of wine and snacks in the comfortable living room with views.

We stayed in a great corner room with two terraces (one quite large) with lounge chairs and additional seating. The hotel finishes inside and out are local slate and very attractive. We were served a nice breakfast and one evening had a very nice dinner there as well.

We did their winery tour and tasting, which was very nicely done and enjoyable. This is a great spot to spend a few days touring the area. It is loaded with vineyards, there are river activities and some really fine restaurants. This was definitely worth the detour from Lisbon and Porto.

Room Tip: New wing, corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elyse E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were advised on arrival that our room would not be available and we would need to go to an alternative hotel.The reason given was that they had a flood 40 minutes before which had affected the electrics.There was no evidence of a recent flood and our taxi had telephoned the hotel to ask directions on our behalf,no mention of a problem then which could have saved us a taxi ride there.
The hotel had double booked the rooms and gave a flimsy excuse.We were transferred to another hotel which was fine but not what we had chosen.
No confidence that a subsequent booking would be honoured

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pam021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peso Da Regua
11.8 mi away
The Vintage House Douro
1.1 mi away
Vila Gale Douro
Vila Gale Douro
#1 of 6 in Lamego
211 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Regua Douro
Hotel Regua Douro
#1 of 3 in Peso Da Regua
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Quinta do Pego
Quinta do Pego
#1 of 1 in Valenca Do Douro
270 reviews
13.1 mi away
Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa
Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Santa Cruz do Douro
415 reviews
2.7 mi away
Six Senses Douro Valley
Six Senses Douro Valley
#1 of 1 in Samodaes
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta do Vallado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta do Vallado

Property: Quinta do Vallado
Address: Vilharinho dos Freires, Peso Da Regua 5050-204, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Vila Real District > Peso Da Regua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Peso Da Regua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta do Vallado 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Prestigia, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Quinta do Vallado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Do Vallado Hotel Peso Da Regua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing