We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting away”
Review of Quinta do Vallado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quinta do Vallado
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Getting away”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

If you like wine, or just need to get rid of every day stress there is not better place to go. Very cosy hotel wwith few rooms. Almost familiar atmosphere. We were in the new part of the hotel wich is ver modern, but with fireplaces all around. lot of "living rooms" in the hotel were you can enjoy in your privacy. Lot of facilities. Food was excellent - almost everything they grow themselves

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Damir H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    61
    8
    1
    5
See reviews for
58
261
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

This was my first time to the Douro Valley and 1st time to Portugal and this was our first night in the country. Although we arrived very late due to a missed flight connection, the hotel arranged to have local cheese and country sausage for us upon arrival. Combined with some of their own field vines wine we were treated to a special place. The hotel is part of the winery by the same name and has both an old and new building for rooms. We stayed in the older building; a renovated 1800s structure that maintained some of the old world charm but was outfitted with all the modern amenities one needs for a night. The newer building just opened less than a year ago and feels ultra modern. The hotel staff is more than helpful and respectful of your time there. We include in our stay a tour of the winery and tasting of their wines - very nice. The views from the hotel are just awesome, with views of the terraced vineyards everywhere entwined with a modern but highly interesting bridge over the river. As a first stay, I cant say enough of how much we enjoyed Vallado, the wines, the food, and the hospitality. We will come back for sure.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dinitro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The wine cellars are very good and with a unique architecture, the food (dinner upon request) was very delicious too. The only dissapointment was the rooms (I stayed in the older part) for the price, as well as the pool service. The pool has no bar so the waiters have to make quaite a long path to the pool, moreover there is no phone by the pool to call anyone... We used our cell to ask for drinks and snacks. For this reason we considered the place to expencive.
The good thing was the landscape and architecture, very beautiful, the pool is lovely, just the service needs to be better. We also know it´s the first year that they opened after expansions so obviosly not everything can be perfect right away. Our friends that stayed in the new part loved the rooms.
At all a great place, just a bit pricey.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna_Koltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The signposting to this wine lodge, a few kilometres outside the town of Regua, was excellent, for which we were grateful as it was pouring rain. In fact it rained solidly for the two days we stayed in the upper Douro valley. The scenery, even in the rain, was spectacular and the views from the hotel onto the terraced vineyards were wonderful.
We stayed in the original wine lodge which dates back to the 1700s. It was very comfortable and spacious and included a bottle of the Quinta´s wine to welcome us. Our friends stayed in the adjacent new hotel building which has been carefully designed to blend in with the mountainside using local slate. The rooms in the new part of the hotel have balconies to sit out on and enjoy the scenery. We had a pleasant dinner in the restaurant and we enjoyed a tour of the winery and subsequent wine tasting.
The staff were very helpful in organising taxis to Regua, recommending and booking a restaurant for us. Despite the incessant rain this was a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisDoonVarna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed for only 2 nights. Very friendly staff. Nice spacious room with a huge bathroom and a small balcony. Managed to fit in a vinotherapy massage (sounds exotic, but really was not), as well as a wine tasting session. We were even given the option to wine tread if we wanted to, but didn't have the right clothes at the time. Lovely place to unwind.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaheentherani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
219 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 767 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We only wish we had allotted more than one night at this beautiful boutique hotel in the beautiful and picturesque Duoro Valley.

I don't know why TA categorizes this as a B&B (although breakfast was included and wonderful) because it is more like a Boutique hotel. A stay here also includes a fabulous pool area and a tour of the winery.

We upgraded to a suite in the newer building and the accommodations were outstanding. Spacious and beautifully appointed. The beds are comfortable with wonderful linens, a great, modern bathroom and plush towels. We had the time to truly relax on our patio with a nice glass of wine.

Having driven all day, we took the opportunity to eat in their dining room. We had stopped by Peso Da Regua on our way to the Qunita and decided it was a better choice to stay there than heading back to town. The service was excellent and the meal was "to die for!!" The Staff was friendly and helpful.

We enjoyed our drive in the region, photographing the picturesque valley and surrounding vineyards.Everything about Quinta Do Vallado was worth coming back for.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Msk6261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Had a great experience here - an easy drive out for Porto (which will get easier once the road construction along the way is complete), especially if you print the directions from their website. We stayed in the "modern hotel" (built in 2011, I think) not the house, because the hotel rooms have terraces, and were thrilled that we did - cool, modern design with slate walls that mirror that of the new winery and great balconies with views across the valley. Welcoming staff and good food in a scenic, restful location... the only regret was having to leave the next day to head back into town since one night was all the night the schedule allowed. I'd happily have stayed and relaxed for days if I could have. It's a nice combination of rustic setting - the pool area has chairs underneath a lattice covered with wine grape vines and you walk past fruit orchards to get there - with modern conveniences. I'm sure that the house rooms are nice and maybe they have more traditional character but I couldn't have been happier with the hotel setup.

Be sure to go on the winery tour, too. In contrast to the more corporate tours you'd get in the states, it felt like we were getting a behind the scenes look at things, as Filippe (who couldn't have been more helpful) took us to where they were offloading the just-picked grapes and past vats where the grapes were waiting to be crushed by foot. We were able to taste a few wines there and then, the next day, when we asked to taste more they gladly brought them for us - which was great since it helped inform our buying decisions... my only regret is that we weren't able to buy more since there was no easy way to get them back to the States (otherwise 18 euros for wine that sells for $60 and gets highly rated in Wine Spectator? Yes please! Their small batch port was high quality and well-priced and hard to find outside the winery, too... wish more would have fit in the suitcase).

All around, highly recommend as a gateway to the Douro wine country. Modern convenience and style coupled with rustic charm make for a winning location for a pleasant, relaxing stay!

Room Tip: Was very happy with a superior room in the modern hotel section - it was modern and sleek with windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrintiFiBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peso Da Regua
11.8 mi away
The Vintage House Douro
1.1 mi away
Vila Gale Douro
Vila Gale Douro
#1 of 6 in Lamego
211 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Regua Douro
Hotel Regua Douro
#1 of 3 in Peso Da Regua
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Quinta do Pego
Quinta do Pego
#1 of 1 in Valenca Do Douro
269 reviews
13.1 mi away
Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa
Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Santa Cruz do Douro
415 reviews
2.7 mi away
Six Senses Douro Valley
Six Senses Douro Valley
#1 of 1 in Samodaes
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta do Vallado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta do Vallado

Property: Quinta do Vallado
Address: Vilharinho dos Freires, Peso Da Regua 5050-204, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Vila Real District > Peso Da Regua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Peso Da Regua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta do Vallado 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Quinta do Vallado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Do Vallado Hotel Peso Da Regua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing