We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel with excellent breakfast buffet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Exe Penafiel Park Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Exe Penafiel Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Penafiel
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel with excellent breakfast buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Good Hotel, AC, beds good. Close to motorway from Porto. Nice standard, free wireless but of varying quality, sometimes inexisting.
Very good breakfast buffet included, the dinner buffet is of more varying std

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lennart_brandel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    64
    15
    10
    5
See reviews for
42
40
3
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portugal
Level Contributor
119 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

We spent the weekend and loved it all.
The staff is really friendly,the restaurant is superb, the spa is good. r«Rooms are great, modern and extremely clean. The only thing we didnt like was a bit of noise from trafic that the windows didnt avoid perfectly.
We bought a package with spa and a cruise on Douro river that is amazing.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariaport68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
447 reviews
310 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 473 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2009

This hotel opened 2008 so everything is brand new however soon after arrvial you will notice that the quality of the materials which have been used is very low: some examples:

- the description of the floors in the lift board has delaminated
- the wallpaper outside the lift is delaminating
-.the emergency plan at room door is delaminating
- seems that curtains have been planned from both side of the window but only one curtain realised
- window start to rost inside
- window hard to open
- windows not soundproof

The next thing which needs improvement is the cleanliness: the trash box next to the lift wasn't emptied for days, the pool was maybe never cleaned since opening (brown sticky "cream" on the tiles which can be scratched away by fingernails!!!)

Rooms are basically comfortable and spacious, Bathroom was clean and with tub. The Hotel's decor is a bit excpetional for Portugal and looks like copied from some China 5* hotels (Accor Style in China), a lot of gold and black.

Another downside of the hotel (and maybe the reason for the low rates) is its location behind the city centre of Penafiel next to a 4 lane street which is busy during daytime. You can walk to the city up the hill however a car is needed for transportation (free parking)

Breakfast is standard buffet, restaurant I feel a bit overpriced (in city you can eat for 5-7 EUR/maindish)

In a nutshell I cannot recommend this hotel even it's good value (free parking, free spa, free cable-DSL, free breakfast at ca. 65 EUR rate). A Spa which is for free should be cleaned anyway, the general impression of this hotel was not satisfing for us!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joe1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2008

We had stayed at Penafiel Park Hotel for 3 nights (9->12 June).
The hotel was only 6 months old, so everything was knew. We booked one Junior Suite and Hot and Relax package. (2 treatements in SPA included). We were in Full board (great and tasty food).
In resume, beautiful and modern hotel in beautiful surroundings, welcoming, excellent facilities, friendly staff, excellent spa & indoor pool, will return for sure.
Nuno & Sandra.

  • Liked — Excellent facilities, friendly staff, excellent spa & indoor pool
  • Disliked — some noise from nearest bedroom
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nmgarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penafiel
15.4 mi away
Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa
Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Santa Cruz do Douro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
16.5 mi away
Open Village Sports Hotel & Spa Club
6.4 mi away
Hotel Rural Quinta da Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Paredes Hotel Apartamento
20.7 mi away
Agua Hotels Mondim de Basto
Agua Hotels Mondim de Basto
#1 of 1 in Mondim de Basto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
16.0 mi away
Hotel de Guimaraes
Hotel de Guimaraes
#4 of 19 in Guimaraes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exe Penafiel Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exe Penafiel Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Exe Penafiel Park Hotel & Spa
Address: Rua da Quinta de Milhundos, Penafiel 4560-232, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Penafiel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Penafiel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Exe Penafiel Park Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penafiel Park Hotel & Spa is a jewel in the crown of tourism in northern Portugal. With its contemporary rooms decorated in warm tones and a spa offering many treatments and relaxation packages, the four-star Penafiel Park Hotel has emerged as a real hotspot for visitors to the Vale do Sousa. The hotel is located just over 30 km from Porto and is relatively close to other major Portuguese cities such as Braga, Guimaraes y Vila Real. It is 125 km from the Spanish border town of Tui. Penafiel Park Hotel & Spa boasts 69 rooms, over 600 m2 for events and banquets with rooms of different capacities, free parking, restaurant, cafe, buffet-style breakfast, heated indoor swimming pool, garden area, games room and a fully equipped spa with jacuzzi, sauna, Turkish bath, massages and facial and body treatments. All for the enjoyment of our guests. Our leisure guests particularly appreciate the spa, the panoramic views across the valley and the proximity to Magikland; our business guests, on the other hand, especially enjoy the meeting rooms, the spaciousness of our rooms and the breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Exe Penafiel Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penafiel Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing