We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, pool, food, communal areas. But the rooms...”
Review of Scandic Hafjell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Hafjell
Norway
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great location, pool, food, communal areas. But the rooms...”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Great location for both summer and winther acitivities. Close to several large food shops, Hunderfossen etc. The communal areas in the hotel, are nicely appointed, slate floors etc. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. The hotel has a pool, gym room, playroom for the children, spotlessly clean everywhere. The food was good, and the buffet had more than enough to choose from. Only one fault with this hotel: The room. Firstly, if you are facing the road, the traffic noice makes sleeping with an open window impossible (of course not an issue during the winther). If your room is facing the other way, the sun comes in really early and the curtains provide little help. Further, the room had carpeted floor, and the wallpaper was torn from the walls a couple of places. Sliding door separated the bathroom from the room itself. Unfortunately, it did not slide far enough to close the door properly. In addition, the sliding door (and the unclosable gap), was right in front of the door to the hallway. Open hallwaydoor, mum in front of the mirror (dressed fortunately!), suddenly realising passers in the hallway might see everything going on in the bathroom. The standard rooms are fairly average in size, but when they add extra beds it becomes realy cramped. No space for luggage. Assuming they do not do this during the winthertime when guests have skiing equipement etc.

Room Tip: Double bedded rooms are "converted" into family rooms (4 people). As the rooms are on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann_CatherineNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    133
    121
    58
    26
See reviews for
271
55
13
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halle (Saale), Germany
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I don't know who the chef is but he alone is Michelin quality. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Only drawback is that some of the rooms are a bit worn (I've stayed here 30+ nights due to business so I have tried many different rooms). It could benefit from a renovation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UBS365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royken, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Having been at this resort several times during 2006-2008, it was pretty beat up then, well the room are and we were told at that time they were going to renovate, but here it is 2013 and it never was touched. In fact, the first room I refused because it was old, dirty and no way were we sleeping in a room that smelled like a wet dog. So I had to ask for something else and had to pay quite a bit more, but even that room had dirty carpet, broken lamps, etc. But we were anxious to ski and it was Easter weekend.

I can tell you that the restaurant was fabulous. Even with the Easter crowd, the service was great, the food terrific and the atmosphere was relaxing.

It is a walk to the ski resort or as we did... Drove to it. After skiing all day I ask not up to a very long walk back, but thats OK. We love the slopes at Hafjell and will always be going back... But we truly hope they renovate this time.

Room Tip: As for a junior suite...its just a bit larger room, not really a suite and ask if the have renovated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoRegrets2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oyer Municipality hotels

Espoo, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I have been here three times now, always for an international meeting. And always liked it very much, the staff is friendly and efficient, the rooms are cosy and quiet, the breakfast buffet is tasty and with lots of choice. The scenery is also very nice, wish I had time to go skiing there as well. The connections to Gardermoen, the Oslo airport are also quite convenient.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ristosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Exceeded all expectations. Knew it would be good but it was great. Room was small but comfy and we were only in it to sleep. We were there to ski and there is not a lot to do in Hafjell.(beg. of March) The only real restaurant open every night for dinner was in this hotel...and it was EXCELLENT as was breakfast. One issue though is that it has a limited menu so if you are there for a few days you better search for another place to eat or like everything on this menu. We rode the free shuttle bus to the slopes in fact it picked us up when we got off the train from Olso at the Hunderfossen Hotel - which was 5 minutes away. The shuttle driver was a wonderful character named "J." who has a fantastic diner called the Cadillac Diner, search youtube for Cadillac diner tretten. Took the city bus to Lillehammer, 20 minutes away - cute city and the Olympic Village area is only open on the weekends. Rented our skis from SKIBUA across the street from the shuttle drop off - awesome family run business - much better prices. Be prepared to sacrifice a lung.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtbroderick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Have stayed several times at Quality and this has been a positive experience every time. When I seereviews saying the fitness is worn and torn, it says more about the poster. Or it could be posted by a envoius competitor. I used this gym last week and it still smells new. Incredibly well equipped to be in a hotel. Spoke with staff and they informed that this gym was reopened this year. The swimming pool was not verybig but nice. And its been a long time since we've eaten such good food in a hotel. The service was just great. We sat for hours in a great bar with a pianist who played incredible music that got us in a good mood. Saturday we were in the slopes where there was great skiing. Never queue for the lifts although there were many people around.
So I can highly recommend both the hotel and the surroundings.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Me and my family spent 6 days here for our winter holiday. this is our second trip to this hotel for the two last years. perfect location, excellent breakfast ( they made fresh omelet by order) You could make your own waffels during breakfast ( the girls loved this :-).
it was lovely to relax in the sauna, after a long day skiing in the perfect made slopes of Hafjell.
service in the restaurant was good, and I got my upgrade to next room level on my Nordic Choice Card when we checked in. the bar, restaurant, reception area, swimming pool looked fresh and nice. They have a new training room with all the gear you could wish for your training.
the rooms ( we had two rooms) could need a little makeover, but clean and tidy.
we are gooing back for our easter Holiday, so this hotel I will recomend to all my friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SveinAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oyer Municipality
0.2 mi away
Hafjell Hotel & Apartments
Hafjell Hotel & Apartments
#4 of 5 in Oyer Municipality
101 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hunderfossen Hotell & Resort
8.7 mi away
Scandic Lillehammer Hotel
Scandic Lillehammer Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lillehammer
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Nermo Hotell Hafjell
Nermo Hotell Hafjell
#3 of 5 in Oyer Municipality
60 reviews
8.5 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer
8.5 mi away
Birkebeineren Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Hafjell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hafjell

Property: Scandic Hafjell
Address: Hundervegen 1, 2636, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oppland > Oyer Municipality
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Oyer Municipality
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hafjell 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meetingpoint Hafjell Hotel & Resort is located at Hafjell Alpine Center and 3 km from Hunderfossen Troll Park, one of Norways most popular tourist attractions. The hotel also offer relax, a restaurant and conference facilities. Meetingpoint Hafjell Hotel & Resort is a charming skihotel 2 hours from Oslo and only 700 meters from one of the largest skiresorts in Norway, Hafjell. After a long day skiing the hotel offers a relaxed atmosphere with an inviting restaurant, pool and sauna.The area around Hafjell and Oyer offers a wide range of activities both in summer and winter. In the summer the mountains are good for climbing, canyoning, cyckling, and walks. Hafjell Bikepark is a popular offer for those who like a challenge on two wheels.In Gudbrandsdalslågen you can challenge the rapids rafting on enjoy the quiet nature in a canoe. In addition there are bob-courses and ce-skatig near by. Here there are exciting activities for everyone, no matter the season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Hafjell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel And Resort Hafjell
Quality Hotel Hafjell
Scandic Hafjell Norway/Oppland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing