We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super again!!!”
Review of Hotel Mary

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mary
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Marathokampos
Piraeus, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Super again!!!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

It's the second holidays at Samos, we stayed again at Mary's apartments and everything was super. Even though we don't visit the same place more than once, this year we got back in Samos because we like very much this island (nice beaches, sights, etc.). Of course we chose Mary's. It's a very nice and clean accommodation and offers many comforts. In addition, Filimon,the hotel manager helped us several times to realize our plans, by giving us useful information. Τhis year we spent nice time with another Greek couple there. Αgain I say the best about the hotel and the island. We 're already planning to get back next year in Samos and definately at Mary's.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ANTONYKinetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    4
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

It's our third time at Samos and at Mary's apartments and everything was very nice again, Every year we discover something new on this island (nice beaches, sights, etc.) and that's why we get back again and again and of course we choose Mary's, a very nice and clean accommodation offering many comforts. In this year we met another Greek couple there and we spent nice time together. Just perfect for one more time. We get back definitely next year in Samos and at Mary's of course!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a double room, different every year. And the three we tried were equally comfortable, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank markos k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I have just come home from my 5th holiday at hotel mary apartments and i'm sure it won't be the last! I have been going since I was 13 and now I am 20 and I can say it has never failed to be one of the best holidays i've been on. I started going with my family and in the past 3 years i have taken my boyfriend, the hotel welcomes all ages and will suit any type of holiday you are looking for weather it be a family holiday or couples holiday.
The rooms are always clean and have everything you need, I have never had a problem with any of the kitchen equipment not working. The bathroom is a typical greek setup, people who are not familiar with it may find it odd as they dont have a shower curtain and water will spill over the floors, however this is normal. Air con is also available.
Filimon and his family are some of the most welcoming and friendly people we have ever met. They will do anything for their guests and they are always their to help if you have any problems. The 2nd time i visited Samos my luggage went missing and Filimon rang everyday to track down my case untill one night I came in from my meal and it had arrived! People who say they felt 'left out' and that the bar atmosphere was 'clicky' are very wrong. The family always welcome new people and are not there to make people feel left out, the first time my boyfriend came they made him feel very welcome. Filimon gets on with everyone and treats everyone the same, unless you are being rude or not respecting his rules, which is fair enough.
I would recommend anyone to come to hotel mary and I can promise that you will enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank emilymeowww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Just arrived from our second holidays in Samos and Mary Apartments! A perfect week that unfortunately finished. It would be nice if we had one more week to spent in Votsalakia, swimming and relaxing by the sea and enjoy our summer nights at Mary's pool bar. Filimon is a super barman and we really had fun (and I'm sure the same for another English couple that we met there), danced around the pool sirtaki and hassapiko dance and drank souma (traditional drink of Samos) and ouzo (traditional Greek drink).
As for the room we stayed, it's very nice studio for 2 with sea view, very comfortable and clean. We completely agree with Sue White and her review below and we also encourage anyone to book there, ignoring any bad reviews. Thanks for everything and see you next year mates!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank markos k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We spent a week at Hotel Mary which we booked independently after reading trip advisor reviews. The hotel is in an ideal location, right in the centre of Votsalakia/Kambos but just far enough away from the main road to be away from traffic noise. Our 2 roomed apartment was beautiful, with a balcony on each side, one with a sea view and one with a view of the mountains.The kitchen facilities were typical Greek self catering with just a 2 ring cooker but there was a toaster and kettle, which is unusual, and everything was spotlessly clean. As usual in Greece there was no shower curtain but the shower was efficient and the tray well designed so that towels and floor did not get wet.The apartment was attractively furnished and our teenage daughter had a proper bed not a sofa bed. Outside, the hotel is very attractive and the pool was cleaned every day. The owners could not do enough for us, we were given a free drink when we arrived and Filimon found a fan for our daughter which was a godsend as it was warm in her room and the air con unit (which we didn't use) was in the main bedroom. When we asked the cost as we left he said nothing!

Samos is a lovely island full of friendly people and Votsalakia/Kambos is a good base. There are lots of tavernas and, like other reviewers we never had a bad meal and particularly liked Anna's. Prices are very reasonable - we usually paid 35 - 40 euros for a meal for 3 including half a litre of wine. There are several bars with free wifi and friendly staff. We hired a jeep for the week which we picked up from the airport (Filimon can arrange this for you) so we got to explore quite a bit. The jeep was really good as a lot of the roads which start of tarmac turn to dirt tracks when you go round the first corner! I would recommend buying a map - the ones the carhire company give you are pretty useless. There are plenty of petrol stations with petrol costing about the same as in the UK. The beach at the resort is fine - 2 sunbeds + umbrella for just 5 euros - and there are lots of beautiful beaches nearby. Our favourit was Limnionas, about 15 minutes drive west along the coast, which is absolutely beautiful and has several tavernas and a friendly little bar, but I'm sure there are more that we didn't even find.

So do go to Samos and stay at Hotel Mary. We were just sorry that such a great hotel was really quiet for the last week in July. We'd encourage anyone to book there - ignore any bad reviews (have they ever stayed in Greece before?) the service and accommodation were great and the room was thoroughly cleaned and sheets and towels changed during our stay. Thanks Charlie, Mary and Filimon for a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

This summer me and my wife visited Samos island in Greece and stayed in Mary Apartments, in Votsalakia.
Samos is a beautiful island, with nice and clean beaches and natural beauties. We enjoyed both swimming and walking as much.
Mary apartments is a very good accommodation, clean and peacefull. The owners are very kind and hospitable and helped us several times.
We recommend it highly!!!

Room Tip: Very low cost is not a safe criterion room. In Samos a comfortable and clean room for two costs aro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank markos k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

We chose the Mary Apartments because of the great reviews here on trip advisor. From the outside it is picture post card pretty. However everything else disappointed us. The room was clean on arrival, but so basic, and we hated the fact it was not cleaned during our weeks stay. The kitchen facilities are verging on unuseable, other than for making a hot drink. The shower had no curtain & so the bathroom became a wet room & i don't mean in a modern sense !! The room furnishings are shabby & old fashioned. However the view from our room was to die for & helped make up for what lacked else where.
The pool was certainly not clean, & had a lot of leaves & surface film on it & I was not prepared to use it. This seemed such a shame as the staff did not seem rushed off their feet.
As previous reviews show there are a lot of return visitors here, as was the case during our visit. But this was very clicky, & we did not feel comfortable in the bar area, as we felt outsiders. Just us, but it all felt a little too personal for our liking.
On a positive note , it is in a good location, endless restaurants to choose from, plenty of mini markets for buying food & 5 minutes from the beach with crystal clear water. We enjoyed our holiday but would we stay at the Mary Apartments again...... NO

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rnjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathokampos
0.4 mi away
Sofia Hotel
Sofia Hotel
#2 of 13 in Marathokampos
149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kampos Village Resort
Kampos Village Resort
#1 of 13 in Marathokampos
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Votsalakia Hotel
Votsalakia Hotel
#5 of 13 in Marathokampos
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aphrodite Hotel & Suites
Aphrodite Hotel & Suites
#4 of 13 in Marathokampos
57 reviews
19.9 mi away
Kerveli Village Hotel
Kerveli Village Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kerveli
158 reviews
10.5 mi away
Daphne Hotel
Daphne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Agios Konstantinos
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mary

Property: Hotel Mary
Address: Kampos, Marathokampos 831 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Marathokampos
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Marathokampos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mary 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mary Apartments is a 3 star self-catering Hotel in the resort of Kamos Marathokampos on the South Coast of the beautiful island of Samos, in the East Aegean Sea. The wonderful family atmosphere ensures that you will be very welcome and comfortable as all your needs are catered for. The hotel is situated only a couple of minutes' stroll away from the center and the beach is just a stone's throw away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary Apartments sámos
Mary Apartments Hotel sámos
Hotel Mary Samos/Marathokampos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing