We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant spot to stay”
Review of Sofia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sofia Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Marathokampos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Having read all of the amazing reviews on trip advisor I was really looking forward to staying in the Hotel Sofia.
The good things about the Hotel Sofia are: The rooms are clean and simple, the pool is lovely and well maintained, the garden well kept and pool bar is great, good location near lots of great restaurants.
However what was slightly disappointing was the very simple breakfast and very hard/uncomfortable beds and pillows.
It is a no frills and adequate hotel which reflects how much you pay to stay there. Having said this we had a wonderful holiday in Samos and enjoyed our trip very much.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkKaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 160 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2010

We picked this hotel as we were looking for a relaxing holiday in a scenic location and ended up getting so much more than we expected. We had always wanted to visit Samos, and after looking at reviews on Tripadvisor decided that the Hotel Sofia with all of its typical greek charm was exactly the sort of place we were looking for.

Hotel Sofia is run by a really friendly bloke called Vasilis - by the time the week was through we were good friends with him. He runs the hotel with his family who are all equally lovely, his dad found us before we left to thank us for staying with them. We had many drinks with Vasilis on an evening, went swimming with him and his gorgeous dog and had lunch together. He even brought us some free beers to our loungers on one of the hotter days as he thought we might be a bit thirsty! I have never known such good and genuine service even staying in 5* hotels in Dubai and Koh Samui.

We really felt like honoured guests for the week we were with them and nothing was too much trouble. Vasilis is really a people person and really values his friends, if you want to have a chat and a bit of banter with him whilst you are there you will be glad you did. He told us all about his interesting life, the horrible fires that they had in Samos which led to him losing some of his olive groves and nearly the hotel, as well as some of the places he has visited in England.

The hotel is lovely with a nice pool and pool area. The rooms are absolulety fine for what we needed ours for, and the air conditioning was welcome feature (it was 40 degrees in the shade whilst we were there!) Breakfast changed from day to day and was served by Sofia, Vasilis' mother. It gave a nice start to the day and put us on until we had some delicious greek salad and Mythos in iced glasses from the pool bar at lunchtime.

The resort is quiet but absolutely perfect for a relaxing break. There are plenty of tavernas surrounding the hotel (our favourite was the Blue Bucket - don't be put off by the name, the food is delicious!) and certainly plenty of choice - you could eat at a different place every night for two weeks and not have a bad meal.

The beach is a bit shingly in places but is very clean and the sea is lovely and cool especially when it is boiling hot. We chose not to do much whilst we were there as we were looking to recharge our batteries, but we did have a nice stroll into Ornos fishing village one day (about 25 mins) and wandered around for a bit most mornings before it got too hot to do anything.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing and memorable break. I can now see why people go back year upon year. The hotel is a real gem, made all the more precious by the family who run it. Vasilis is extremely proud of the hotel and has some amazing plans to improve it in the future. Although we are not the kind of couple who revisit places (too many places on our 'to see' list!) I think we might make an exception on this occasion!


.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs_Smith001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

I cannot fault the Hotel Sofia. It is set back slightly from the main road running through Kambos. The rooms are very basic with no self catering facilities, but they came with a fridge we ate out every night. Lovely big pool, plenty of sunbeds, fresh breakfasts each morning. Was a bit worried reading about all the cats around the hotel but they were fine, really didn't bother us. We had a beautiful view of the mountains from our balcony. Didn't need it some nights but air con was 40 euros for a week. Surprisingly we didn't see one mosquito and no problems with bites!

The beach is great for couples and families, plenty of space and wasn't overcrowded in July at all. Can rent sunbeds for a day, but we just took towels and mats (warning - it can get quite windy for these and lilos!!!). Lovely shallow, clear waters.

Tavernas we liked - Nick the Greeks (turn left out of hotel and walk for about 15 mins) and Angelos. If you're hungry, visit Chesters on a Monday for an all you can eat buffet. A week definitely wasn't long enough to try all the tavernas - you are really spoilt for choice.

Things to do - we didn't hire a car so walked everywhere. Turn left out of hotel and walk for about 45 mins to the village of Ormos - beautiful little fishing village, well worth a visit.

Turn right out of hotel and walk about 50 mins + to Psili Ammos, a pretty beach. Was an extremely hot walk along the winding road so wouldn't recommend with children. Fine though if you take plenty of water! Stopped off at Mystic Ocean bar for drinks (think they have a free pool to use).

For Pythagoras' caves, turn right out of hotel, walk out of resort, turn right towards the mountains. Unless you're feeling fit and the day isn't too hot, would definitely recommend a car for this journey, especially if you have young children. We were told it would be about a 40 min walk, but it took us over an hour and we were absolutely exhausted walking upwards in the heat. thankfully there is a small cafe at the foot of the mountain leading to the caves. the steps leading up the caves are extremely steep. about halfway up, there are some orange splodges on the rocks (quite difficult to spot!). these led to a larger cave were Pythagoras supposedly lived. wonderful views from this 1, but the climb was extremely difficult, scrabbling up the side of a mountain!! again wouldn't recommend taking children on this route. the walk back downhill was a lot easier but took a while.

the weather was great, sunny temperatures in the 30s, but we did have a couple of partially cloudy days. these did make conditions a little more bearable for walking though! would definitely recommend this hotel for families and couples looking for a quiet break.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mel_cja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Me and my husband have not long returned from the wonderful island of Samos.We travelled with Thomson and booked into the Sofia after my husband read the fantastic reviews on Tripadviser.
First impressions were not good,we was dropped off and the long wide driveway up to hotel entrance was an overgrown mess.We booked in and went to our room,I told my husband that i wanted to go home straight away,it was that dissapointing.The room was basic to say the least,and the bathroom facilitys if you can call them that was horrible.The shower was some old stained mixer type taps at waste height over an old pocellain shower tray,with a piece of pipe to a shower attachment.Water would splash everywhere,including over the adjacent toilet,creating puddles of water over the floor which took an age to dry out.leaving a damp dusky smell.The beds were two wooden singles and the hardest matresses i have ever slept on,nowadays we expect a bit better.Was first time i was glad to be returning home and finally get some reasonable sleep.Air conditioning was extra at 40 euros for the week,but the room did have a fridge for putting your drinks etc in.The white paint finish was so thin you could clearly see the old pink colour underneath,perhaps this is normal for a greek hotel.
Breakfast consisted of some lovely fresh bread with jams,an egg somedays,or cheese and cooked meat,with orange squash and either tea or coffee,served outside undercover near the pool.The only downside were the numerous cats wandering around,in and out of the kitchen area also.The pool area looked ok,but we prefered the beach.The staff do there best to make sure you have a nice holiday,but this hotel needs bring up to date.Needless to say i spent as least time there as possible,it was a releif to find plenty of good places elsewhere.
The resort is great ,lots of good eaterys and not too busy.Can recommend the Ballad of Bill and Salome,great service,good prices and lovely food,plus he also has a few sunbeds on the beach at reasonable rates.
Would love to return perhaps oneday but need to look for more comfortable accomadation.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TIFFANYBELLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

This is a little gem, if you like the "small friendly" holiday. The hotel is situated about 100 metres from the main road which is bordered by the sand/shingle beach. There is a fine selection of bars and tavernas from right on the doorstep to within ten minutes walk and a number of mini marts as well.

The Rooms are clean and welcoming, the facilities being as expected in Greece, but lets face it you really wont be spending much time in your rooms. You can hire a fridge for your room at a good price and also brand new air conditioning units can be hired for the summer months.

The Staff are very friendly and if your lucky as we were they will invite you along to dine with them for great authentic Greek nights...

The focal point of the Hotel is the pool and pool bar, which is open all day and is manned by Visilis, a friendly chap who will happily chat with you. Stavros stages a BBQ in the pool area every Saturday night and this is a great opportunity to meet everyone and discuss your adventures on this wonderful island. You will even get to meet Mario, the resident guard dog (only kidding, he's a little westy) he happily does his rounds throughout the day and even keeps the cats in check.

Finally and by no means least, Sofia (Stavros's wife, the hotels named after her) makes a mean breakfast and by Greek standards its more than adequate, with a different menu each day, watch out for the doughnut balls, there fantastic.

There’s a real family feeling about this hotel something that is all too rare these days.
Anyway, September 2004 was our first visit to this great hotel and we have been back twice a year every year since, will be there in September also.

Vasilis- μια μπίρα παρακαλο! Υαμας!

Check it out for yourselves, but don’t tell too many people, it’s a well-kept secret.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mwilco3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

We had a lovely relaxing 2 week stay at the Hotel Sofia. Vasillis made us feel welcome immediately. He had many recommendations for car hire, restaurants and general advice. Vasillis, Stavros and Sofia go out of their way to help their guests, and we felt like friends visiting rather than part of a 'tourist horde'!

Looking at past reviews, Vasillis, and hotel have addressed some of the feedback, for example, there is shade on both sides of the pool now, with one side left without shade for sun lovers.

We like animals, and the cats and dog owned by the family are well treated and much loved!

The rooms are spotlessly clean, and the bathrooms are typical Greek style wet rooms, but it dried quickly and hot water was available constantly, even late at night, unlike some Greek hotels we have stayed at.

The hotel is located about 400 meters from the long sandy beach, away from the main road, our room had stunning views of the mountains. The tavernas and a few bars are less than 5 minutes walk away.

What has stayed with us after the holiday is the friendliness we experienced from Vasillis and his family, fellow guests because of the atmosphere this created, and also the friendliness of the locals in the resort too.

Special mention to Bill and Salome who own The ballad of Bill and Salome restaurant. The food Salome and her mum cooks is delicious, and Bill is a very attentive server. This is through our extensive research - in 2 weeks we'd been to most of the restaurants in Kambos more than once!

We liked to visit different Greek islands, but definitely will be coming back here.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mystras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

We too would like to keep it secret but we keep telling people what a wonderful holiday weve had and they want to know where !! As regular travellers to Greece and her islands to us this is simply perfection. We do not want to go anywhere else. A 5 star welcome and atmosphere with a great family and staff , clean rooms , lovely pool , great beach. We are very good friends with Mario and often had breakfast together, no problem!! Can't wait to go back again in September this time for two weeks.BLISS!!! Just need to loose a stone in weight in preparation for Stavs bbq.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Filamou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathokampos
19.6 mi away
Kerveli Village Hotel
Kerveli Village Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kerveli
185 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kampos Village Resort
Kampos Village Resort
#1 of 13 in Marathokampos
215 reviews
10.2 mi away
Daphne Hotel
Daphne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Agios Konstantinos
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kerkis Bay Hotel
Kerkis Bay Hotel
#13 of 13 in Marathokampos
63 reviews
16.9 mi away
Virginia Hotel
Virginia Hotel
#2 of 14 in Vathy
92 reviews
5.9 mi away
Samaina Inn Hotel
Samaina Inn Hotel
#1 of 8 in Karlovasi
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofia Hotel

Address: Kampos, Marathokampos 831 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Marathokampos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Marathokampos
Price Range: $44 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sofia is a pretty, family run hotel in Kampos Marathokampos of Samos, Greece. Set in a peaceful location with several small gardens and surrounded by mountain and sea views. It is an ideal choice for couples and families of all ages. The distance from the nearest beach, Kampos beach, is only 100m and from the resort centre around 400m, as a result, it is rather convenient for any guest!!! Hotel Sofia invites you to experience a different taste of natural beauty and hospitality that is both genuine and warm. Naturally, you will want to spend some of your holidays just relaxing and enjoying the sun, but you'll probably want to experience much more of your destination, as a consequence Samos is an ideal island because it seduces you with a heady cocktail of history, varied countryside and wonderful beaches.Free transfer to and from the airport via our hotel minibus ( we do provide free transportation if is more than 7 days ). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sofia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Hotel Samos/Marathokampos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing