We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveler rating
119
40
6
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
40
6
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lotos family pool bar every saturday year after year yogurt across the road relaxing holiday car hire rooms are clean next year great family focal point a family run hotel bella vista the water is crystal clear guests staying local produce
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 172 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We picked this hotel as we were looking for a relaxing holiday in a scenic location and ended up getting so much more than we expected. We had always wanted to visit Samos, and after looking at reviews on Tripadvisor decided that the Hotel Sofia with all of its typical greek charm was exactly the sort of place we were looking for.

Hotel Sofia is run by a really friendly bloke called Vasilis - by the time the week was through we were good friends with him. He runs the hotel with his family who are all equally lovely, his dad found us before we left to thank us for staying with them. We had many drinks with Vasilis on an evening, went swimming with him and his gorgeous dog and had lunch together. He even brought us some free beers to our loungers on one of the hotter days as he thought we might be a bit thirsty! I have never known such good and genuine service even staying in 5* hotels in Dubai and Koh Samui.

We really felt like honoured guests for the week we were with them and nothing was too much trouble. Vasilis is really a people person and really values his friends, if you want to have a chat and a bit of banter with him whilst you are there you will be glad you did. He told us all about his interesting life, the horrible fires that they had in Samos which led to him losing some of his olive groves and nearly the hotel, as well as some of the places he has visited in England.

The hotel is lovely with a nice pool and pool area. The rooms are absolulety fine for what we needed ours for, and the air conditioning was welcome feature (it was 40 degrees in the shade whilst we were there!) Breakfast changed from day to day and was served by Sofia, Vasilis' mother. It gave a nice start to the day and put us on until we had some delicious greek salad and Mythos in iced glasses from the pool bar at lunchtime.

The resort is quiet but absolutely perfect for a relaxing break. There are plenty of tavernas surrounding the hotel (our favourite was the Blue Bucket - don't be put off by the name, the food is delicious!) and certainly plenty of choice - you could eat at a different place every night for two weeks and not have a bad meal.

The beach is a bit shingly in places but is very clean and the sea is lovely and cool especially when it is boiling hot. We chose not to do much whilst we were there as we were looking to recharge our batteries, but we did have a nice stroll into Ornos fishing village one day (about 25 mins) and wandered around for a bit most mornings before it got too hot to do anything.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing and memorable break. I can now see why people go back year upon year. The hotel is a real gem, made all the more precious by the family who run it. Vasilis is extremely proud of the hotel and has some amazing plans to improve it in the future. Although we are not the kind of couple who revisit places (too many places on our 'to see' list!) I think we might make an exception on this occasion!

.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs_Smith001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

I cannot fault the Hotel Sofia. It is set back slightly from the main road running through Kambos. The rooms are very basic with no self catering facilities, but they came with a fridge we ate out every night. Lovely big pool, plenty of sunbeds, fresh breakfasts each morning. Was a bit worried reading about all the cats around the hotel but they were fine, really didn't bother us. We had a beautiful view of the mountains from our balcony. Didn't need it some nights but air con was 40 euros for a week. Surprisingly we didn't see one mosquito and no problems with bites!

The beach is great for couples and families, plenty of space and wasn't overcrowded in July at all. Can rent sunbeds for a day, but we just took towels and mats (warning - it can get quite windy for these and lilos!!!). Lovely shallow, clear waters.

Tavernas we liked - Nick the Greeks (turn left out of hotel and walk for about 15 mins) and Angelos. If you're hungry, visit Chesters on a Monday for an all you can eat buffet. A week definitely wasn't long enough to try all the tavernas - you are really spoilt for choice.

Things to do - we didn't hire a car so walked everywhere. Turn left out of hotel and walk for about 45 mins to the village of Ormos - beautiful little fishing village, well worth a visit.

Turn right out of hotel and walk about 50 mins + to Psili Ammos, a pretty beach. Was an extremely hot walk along the winding road so wouldn't recommend with children. Fine though if you take plenty of water! Stopped off at Mystic Ocean bar for drinks (think they have a free pool to use).

For Pythagoras' caves, turn right out of hotel, walk out of resort, turn right towards the mountains. Unless you're feeling fit and the day isn't too hot, would definitely recommend a car for this journey, especially if you have young children. We were told it would be about a 40 min walk, but it took us over an hour and we were absolutely exhausted walking upwards in the heat. thankfully there is a small cafe at the foot of the mountain leading to the caves. the steps leading up the caves are extremely steep. about halfway up, there are some orange splodges on the rocks (quite difficult to spot!). these led to a larger cave were Pythagoras supposedly lived. wonderful views from this 1, but the climb was extremely difficult, scrabbling up the side of a mountain!! again wouldn't recommend taking children on this route. the walk back downhill was a lot easier but took a while.

the weather was great, sunny temperatures in the 30s, but we did have a couple of partially cloudy days. these did make conditions a little more bearable for walking though! would definitely recommend this hotel for families and couples looking for a quiet break.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mel_cja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Me and my husband have not long returned from the wonderful island of Samos.We travelled with Thomson and booked into the Sofia after my husband read the fantastic reviews on Tripadviser.
First impressions were not good,we was dropped off and the long wide driveway up to hotel entrance was an overgrown mess.We booked in and went to our room,I told my husband that i wanted to go home straight away,it was that dissapointing.The room was basic to say the least,and the bathroom facilitys if you can call them that was horrible.The shower was some old stained mixer type taps at waste height over an old pocellain shower tray,with a piece of pipe to a shower attachment.Water would splash everywhere,including over the adjacent toilet,creating puddles of water over the floor which took an age to dry out.leaving a damp dusky smell.The beds were two wooden singles and the hardest matresses i have ever slept on,nowadays we expect a bit better.Was first time i was glad to be returning home and finally get some reasonable sleep.Air conditioning was extra at 40 euros for the week,but the room did have a fridge for putting your drinks etc in.The white paint finish was so thin you could clearly see the old pink colour underneath,perhaps this is normal for a greek hotel.
Breakfast consisted of some lovely fresh bread with jams,an egg somedays,or cheese and cooked meat,with orange squash and either tea or coffee,served outside undercover near the pool.The only downside were the numerous cats wandering around,in and out of the kitchen area also.The pool area looked ok,but we prefered the beach.The staff do there best to make sure you have a nice holiday,but this hotel needs bring up to date.Needless to say i spent as least time there as possible,it was a releif to find plenty of good places elsewhere.
The resort is great ,lots of good eaterys and not too busy.Can recommend the Ballad of Bill and Salome,great service,good prices and lovely food,plus he also has a few sunbeds on the beach at reasonable rates.
Would love to return perhaps oneday but need to look for more comfortable accomadation.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TIFFANYBELLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

This is a little gem, if you like the "small friendly" holiday. The hotel is situated about 100 metres from the main road which is bordered by the sand/shingle beach. There is a fine selection of bars and tavernas from right on the doorstep to within ten minutes walk and a number of mini marts as well.

The Rooms are clean and welcoming, the facilities being as expected in Greece, but lets face it you really wont be spending much time in your rooms. You can hire a fridge for your room at a good price and also brand new air conditioning units can be hired for the summer months.

The Staff are very friendly and if your lucky as we were they will invite you along to dine with them for great authentic Greek nights...

The focal point of the Hotel is the pool and pool bar, which is open all day and is manned by Visilis, a friendly chap who will happily chat with you. Stavros stages a BBQ in the pool area every Saturday night and this is a great opportunity to meet everyone and discuss your adventures on this wonderful island. You will even get to meet Mario, the resident guard dog (only kidding, he's a little westy) he happily does his rounds throughout the day and even keeps the cats in check.

Finally and by no means least, Sofia (Stavros's wife, the hotels named after her) makes a mean breakfast and by Greek standards its more than adequate, with a different menu each day, watch out for the doughnut balls, there fantastic.

There’s a real family feeling about this hotel something that is all too rare these days.
Anyway, September 2004 was our first visit to this great hotel and we have been back twice a year every year since, will be there in September also.

Vasilis- μια μπίρα παρακαλο! Υαμας!

Check it out for yourselves, but don’t tell too many people, it’s a well-kept secret.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mwilco3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

We had a lovely relaxing 2 week stay at the Hotel Sofia. Vasillis made us feel welcome immediately. He had many recommendations for car hire, restaurants and general advice. Vasillis, Stavros and Sofia go out of their way to help their guests, and we felt like friends visiting rather than part of a 'tourist horde'!

Looking at past reviews, Vasillis, and hotel have addressed some of the feedback, for example, there is shade on both sides of the pool now, with one side left without shade for sun lovers.

We like animals, and the cats and dog owned by the family are well treated and much loved!

The rooms are spotlessly clean, and the bathrooms are typical Greek style wet rooms, but it dried quickly and hot water was available constantly, even late at night, unlike some Greek hotels we have stayed at.

The hotel is located about 400 meters from the long sandy beach, away from the main road, our room had stunning views of the mountains. The tavernas and a few bars are less than 5 minutes walk away.

What has stayed with us after the holiday is the friendliness we experienced from Vasillis and his family, fellow guests because of the atmosphere this created, and also the friendliness of the locals in the resort too.

Special mention to Bill and Salome who own The ballad of Bill and Salome restaurant. The food Salome and her mum cooks is delicious, and Bill is a very attentive server. This is through our extensive research - in 2 weeks we'd been to most of the restaurants in Kambos more than once!

We liked to visit different Greek islands, but definitely will be coming back here.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mystras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews