We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveler rating
119
40
6
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
40
6
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslotos familypool bartwo weeksyogurtevery morningcar hirerelaxing holidayfocal pointrooms are basicnext yearbuffet breakfastfriendly family run hotelthe water is crystal cleargreat familyhome grownmany reasonslaid back
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 172 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Recently returned from our first visit to Samos and to the Sofia Hotel. We had a wonderful holiday and the hotel was excellent. The staff, being family members, were friendly and always helpful. We had an amazing view of the sea, pool and mountains from our balcony and it was so peaceful and quiet. We loved the proximity to the beach, bars and tavernas. We would highly recommend both the island and the hotel-loved it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUSIE058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsofia, Owner at Sofia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you vasilis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

After having visited Kambos/Votsalajia five times, we still love the area and will for sure visit again.
It was our second stay at Hotel Sofia. It is perfectly located for a relaxing holiday on the beach or around the fantastic pool at the hotel. We stayed for 3 weeks and had the most fantastic time. Vasilis and his family are really friendly and nothing is too much trouble, they treat everybody as their friend. Our daughters arrived for the third week and they rearranged the allocated rooms so that they could be near to us. The facilities are excellent, a fantastic pool, large well equipped rooms cleaned daily. It is inevitable you will meet many new friends at the hotel.
We will definitely be back again soon, perhaps for 4 weeks!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsofia, Owner at Sofia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you... Hope to see you again, vasilis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This was our second visit to Kambos / Votsalakia (first time back since 2002) and our first stay at Hotel Sofia. So we already knew that Samos and this resort are special, but coming here with young kids (6 yo twins) we needed a real 'home from home' - and the Sofia is that sort of place. From free airport pickup/dropoff to making sure we were looked after from breakfast to bedtime, nothing was too much trouble and we immediately felt the vibe at this hotel is different. Vasilis and his family are true, honest, attentive folk and make so much effort to make sure you have a relaxing stay at their hotel. They know the area inside out and only too happy to arrange boat trips or local walking routes, recommend the best restaurants etc. The facilities are excellent and much better than previous package-type accommodations we've stayed at and included aircon, spotless pool and (large) room cleaned daily, plus a lively (in a meeting-new-friends kind of way) pool bar and even big-screen football! Without question we will be back to this resort and accommodation - and I never thought I'd say that about an overseas holiday - to renew our friendships with everyone we met at the Sofia.

Room Tip: Rooms all have great views facing the sea or Mt.Kerkis. The hotel is set well back from the main road so very little noise at night.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeighleyGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsofia, Owner at Sofia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Hello from Hotel Sofia.
Many thanks from all of us here at the Hotel.. Vasilis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Having just got back from spending 2 weeks at the Sofia Hotel with my girlfriend i can recommend it to anyone visiting samos .
Vasilis his family and staff were very hospitable hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them ,from arranging cruises etc ......they even went to the trouble of inviting evryone out to sample the local cuisine with some of the family
We found the room spotless but basic , towels and sheets were replaced everyday apart from sunday ..
We stayed in room 108 which had a beautiful view of the mountains to the rear of the hotel from the balcony .
The pool area was clean and well maintained with shaded areas if you wanted to get out of the sun and a well stocked pool bar ( which could get a bit noisy at night ,but people are on holiday so you cant expect anything else ).
A five minute stroll from the hotel and your on the beach with its numerous bars and restraunts.

All in all we couldnt fault the hotel and will definately be staying there the next time we visit Samos .

And i would definatelt recommend paying the little bit extra for the air conditioning .

Room Tip: Room 108 was quiet with stunning views of the mountain to the rear .
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsofia, Owner at Sofia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thank you, hope to see you again for more good time. Vasilis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We arrived in Samos town via the ferry crossing from Turkey, hired a car and we were on our way..Well what can i say.... Samos Island is truly beautiful.
On our way around the Island we came accross the Hotel Sofia in Kambos where we decided to stay. We were shown to a lovely white clean room which had everything we needed for a perfect stay. Our balcony overlooked a sparkling crystal clear blue pool which looked very inviting indeed and was surrounded by well maintained lush mature gardens. The back drop to this was the fantastic Kerkis mountain which was a spectacular sight. The hotel was very peaceful and provided the perfect place to just lay back relax and take it easy. Opposite the hotel there was a long beach where you will not find sunbeds and parasols elbow to elbow. The sunbeds are spread far apart so if you wish to doze off listening to the waves you most certainly can. The family who own the hotel were always around to help and were more than willing to do so whenever you needed them. Either Vasilis or Manolie who both speak great English were always found behind the pool bar. Which was open from around 10.00 am every day untill very late in the evening so there was always someone on hand.
After staying at this hotel i can understand why so many people give this hotel the thumbs up. The Hotel is great. The staff are helpful and very friendly. The Island is unspoilt and breathtaking.......Go there you will truly fall in love with it!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lardedar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 15, 2012

Thank you from all of us here at Hotel Sofia, and all this nice things you have say... Vasilis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews