We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveler rating
119
40
6
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
40
6
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lotos family pool bar two weeks yogurt every morning car hire relaxing holiday focal point rooms are basic next year buffet breakfast friendly family run hotel the water is crystal clear great family home grown many reasons laid back
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 172 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Just returned from Hotel Sofia
Had Brill time no waiting no q in or waiting for nothing but sherr qc with friends and my new family which the hotel makes you part of in a matter of days great places to eat all round with in walkin and woblin home to a great bar were you can finish a great day (you must try taka taka ) Hotel food breafast its not a british fry up but thats why i go to greek islands its nice and simple and changes every day but when your at home would you have a fry up every day ?

Room Tip: Go there and be part of samos
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marley469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsofia, Owner at Sofia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2011

Thank you so much, hope to see you again... vasilis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

This Hotel is the friendliest and cleanest we have been to in the Greek Islands. This was our fourthg trip and definetly will not be the last.

The family run business is one like no other. The rooms and not 5 star bt who needs more than a room to sleep. change and bathe in!!

There are pet dogs and plenty of cats about and they are as friendly as their owners.

A perfect place to unwind and be as one with this lovely corner of Samos Island.

Room Tip: The rooms are wonderfully clean with twin beds a bathroom with loo and shower.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank embeale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsofia, Owner at Sofia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2011

Thank you so much.... Hope to see you again. vasilis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We have just returned from the hotel sofia in Samos. It is a very nice, very clean hotel in an excellent location in kambos. Some of the reviews here are a little harsh but, of course there is always room for improvements. We found the owners to be nice, though not over friendly and 'in our faces' which we liked. We had a room which had noisy wind whistling through it during the night (it is usually windy in Samos but this was more than normal apparently) and the room was swapped with no problem at all.
Breakfast was really fine- yes fresh fruit and juice would be great but there is a fab supermarket very nearby for this kind of thing.
We didn't go very far, just around kambos, which is a very lovely and small resort.
We would like to stay here again
and would make sure we go to the BBQ next time!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maureen1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsofia, Owner at Sofia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2011

Thank you..hope to see you again same time, many thanks vasilis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed at the Sophia Hotel for two weeks in July 2011 and highly recommend it to anyone who wants to get away from it all and to just ‘chill out’.

It is a very friendly family run hotel that is delightfully Greek, where nothing is too much trouble to make your stay as pleasurable as possible.

The hotel is minutes from the beach. The rooms are ‘simply Greek’ and kept very clean with bed linen and towels changed regularly. The rooms also have good air conditioning.

The hotel has an excellent pool where the pool bar was always available for drinks and snacks, all of a good standard.

The grounds of the hotel are very private, tranquil and well maintained with many well established trees and shrubs. It is in a beautiful location with the sea on one side and the mountains on the other.

The hotel Sophia is a little oasis of tranquillity where you will forget the troubles of the world outside as you succumb to its charm and hospitality.

If you want a ‘chill out’ holiday, Kambos on the island of Samos is perfect, as is the Hotel Sophia.

Christine and David

Room Tip: Our room had a balcony over-looking the pool and garden and was facing the mountains.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsofia, Owner at Sofia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2011

Thank you so much for all the nice things you wrote for our Hotel. Many thanks Hotel Sofia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Just returned back from a holiday in Samos - Votsalakia. Based on the positive reviews we read on this website we choose to stay in the Sofia Hotel. Unfortunately, as it turned out, it was not a good choice at all and we would definitely not stay in this "hotel" again. The biggest disappointment of all was the service and the clenliness of the room. Please let me give you an example - on the 5th day, after we had not been changed the towels for 3 or 4 days, we put the dirty towels on the floor to let the room service know that we would like them to be changed. When we returned to the room in the evening, we found the dirty towels "nicely" hanged in the bathroom, dirty and unchanged! When I went to the reception to kindly ask for clean ones, I was told - " We don't change the towels every day!". After I explained that the towels haven't been changed for quite some time, the reply I got was: "well, I will have to ask my mum". And even after this, we had to wait for another full day for them to finally give us clean towels. I find this disgusting and really unprofessional. The bathroom itself was another big disappointment. It was very old and too simple, the shower didn't have any curtains so the water was everywhere when one took a shower. The location of the hotel wasn't great and even the beach close to the hotel wasn't very nice. I would definitely choose a different location should I go to Votsalakia again. So if I can suggest, look for a different hotel if you want to enjoy your holiday properly. And one more thing. Reading the reviews about how friendly the owners are... I have a feeling that the onwers might have changed since as the only words we heard from them were "Coffee, Tea?" when they served breakfast. Nothing less, nothing more.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank _anonymous_274707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsofia, Owner at Sofia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

This is not what i call review...You came with the Czech office and you stay for 11 days here to our Hotel, you sould know from the browser of your office of what Hotel we are how many stars and what we have beffore you come here, but as i know you where book to our Hotel last minute thats why you got it wrong and didn't get in a 5 star Hotel.....Next time see the browser beffore you go holidays and not only the tripadvisor...and write samething about the place too.. Samos is a nice place and we are a nice Hotel, and we will keep having all this people coming back every year....we can't make every one happy, but we will stay happy us we like what we do.... Hotel Sofia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews