We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt at home. Treated like royalty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aphrodite Hotel & Suites
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Marathokampos
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Felt at home. Treated like royalty”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

It was nearly impossible to find the hotel arriving on our own in a rental car, but once we made it, we felt immediately as if we were home. Despite being rather late, George, was in the drive to welcome us as we got out of the car. We were settled in our room in a matter of minutes.

At breakfast, instead of the usual buffet you'd normally expect, we were served at our table by, none other than...George. We had a choice of cereals, cold cuts, freshly baked, homemade bread yoghurt and the most delicious orange marmalade...homemade by the hotel's owner.

We were originally booked only for 2 nights expecting to change sides of the island, but our first impressions were so warm and welcoming our children insisted that we stay put. So we booked another 5 nights and 5 breakfasts. Best decision made during our week holiday to Samos.

The grounds and facilities around the hotel, pool and by the beach were kept very tidy and fresh with a wash of crisp white chalk outlining the walks and decorating the olive trees in the grove. Housekeeping cleaned daily giving us fresh towels and top sheets. Unfortunately, they never changed the bottom sheets which did get rather sandy having little feet bringing back sand from the beach.

Our kids (6, 9) really enjoyed the pool and lounging on the sun beds, though they were pretty much the only kids during our visit. They (and us as parents) could have used a few more kids to play with.

All in all, we felt cared for as if we were at a luxury resort and that made every moment enjoyable. George made sure that if there was anything we needed, we got it. He even made it so easy for us on the day we checked out. Our flight wasn't until late evening, yet we could stay in our room and shower and change in the late afternoon. That was super star service!

The kids are already asking to return to Samos...and stay in the SAME hotel. (If I could give a bonus star for service, I would)

Room Tip: The family rooms were furthest from the pool area. It was kind of nice to be a minute walk away in c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    22
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
35
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We were a family of 4 and stayed here for 6 nights this past August. We arrived through the back way and parked in the lot and found the owner/manager who led us to our room. The first room we were shown had a faulty/blown fuse that couldn’t be fixed that same day, which meant no power to room (no electricity, no lights, no air condition = not gonna happen). We were given a new room to accommodate the 4 of us. This was fine, a small hiccup, but it was corrected. What I didn’t care for upon first impression was that I wasn’t lead to the reception to do the official check in, so I never actually knew where reception was until we checked out. That means we missed all the leaflets and advertisements that were in the reception area indicating that there was a cultural exhibit just up the hill in the neighboring town. The other thing though is that the owner had told us to come by the pool for a ‘welcome drink.’ So we went to the pool and it was recommended to us by the owner who was sitting there, that we get the mojito because the bartender makes them well. So we ordered 3 mojitos. I didn’t like it, but what bothered me more, was that she charged us for the drinks. She told us upon arrival to come by the bar so that you can buy us a drink – and then recommended an alcoholic drink -- and then ask us to pay for it! That wasn’t classy at all. She also charged us for my niece’s juice drink. Common. If you want to give us a welcome drink, then make something non-alcoholic (cheap) and give it to us without us asking for it. Then we could order (and pay for) whatever we wanted.
Ok now -- about the actually property itself and the stay.
The good: a beautiful place, lovely landscaping with flowers and natural olive and fig trees everywhere creating nice shade and a lovely scent in the air. The room was a typical Greek accommodation, tough, thin beds and meager décor in the rooms. Precisely what I knew we were getting, no frills. The building nearest to the pool has double rooms and those rooms have remodeled bathrooms and new furniture, more in line with what an American traveler would expect. The family rooms on the other side of the property (where we stayed) was much more traditional. There was ample parking, it was well lit and safe, right off the main road, but on the quiet side of the island, so definitely not uber touristy and overrun. They offer beach towels, which we found out about too late into the stay, and would’ve been nice to know earlier so that we didn’t drag ours with to the island.
The bad: there were certainly a few things that could be remedied immediately. For a room that accommodates 4, the bed under the A/C unit hadn’t been moved in a while because when I had to move it away from the pounding of the A/C, there were cobwebs under the bed. I’m not sure how a mop missed that, but that was gross. Also, there was nastiness inside of the coffee maker. It was probably (hopefully) just built up water residue but it had accumulated and was visible. Obviously the coffee makers need to be cleaned – and not just the coffee pot. Also, for a room that accommodated 4 people, there weren’t 4 hooks in the bathroom to hang towels, so we had to take them outside, along with everything else, to dry. Towels weren’t changed every day, which was rather annoying, and neither were the sheets, though I care less about that. There was a teny-tiny shower that was impossible to maneuver in. These small stalls should be removed ASAP. All of us had to leave the shower door open while showering so that we could get our elbows up to shampoo our heads. This is horrible.
Other than the initial snafu with the drink, the owner and her mother-in-law were truly lovely people. We chatted with them every day and I was very candid with them with my review of their hotel when we left. I hope they take all the notes as positive suggestions to better their business. I would definitely stay here again if ever in Samos, especially after having driven the whole island and determined that we did in fact stay in the best spot. The location is ideal for being right on the water, on a lovely stretch of peaceful beach. You definitely need a rental car to get here, but once you’re here, there’s plenty of beach to explore by foot or if there’s a bike rental, you can get around well that way too. No bus service. Pythagoras’ cave is nearby, and again, you’ll want a car to get you most of the way up, then you begin the climb. Worth doing, pack water, and comfortable shoes. The northern side of the island is much windier, the beaches are abysmal and there’s tons of tourists. Unless you’re here specifically for water sports, don’t stay there. The southern side is cozier, more traditional, quieter and has better beaches.

Room Tip: It's my understanding that the rooms in the building by the pool are all doubles and have been r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sofoula13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at Aphrodite one week from 31:st of August this year. We had a studio which was of good size, clean and simple. The hotel is situated in a quiet place (olive grove style), close (ab. 150 m) to the best part of the Votsalakia/Kampos beach. There was a good range of nice restaurants in the resort.If you like to see more of Samos than the resort, you have to rent a car since public transport is more or less non existent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OboFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in July, 2012. We had a fantastic time and highly recommend this hotel to anyone considering a stay on the island. The hotel is on the quieter side of the island, we just loved being able to walk out to the beach and meander along finding shells or spots to stop and dine or have an afternoon beverage. There is a great local market (loved chatting with the Aussie owner) and a lovely gift shop down the road with lots of trinkets (not the touristy knickknacks).
When I had arranged for transportation to/from airport, I was surprised to see that it was the owner himself who picked us up and their son who took us back to airport (and a very early hour!). Almost had car trouble on the way to the hotel which turned into a funny story to add to our memories. When we arrived, they immediately sat us down to enjoy juice and rest in the courtyard while we were "checked" in. The room was clean, AC worked great, quiet at night, beds comfortable and pool was perfect. There were not many other guests while we were there, but we never experienced an excess of noise. Prices at pool bar weren't any higher than other hotels, simple food menu but the food was delicious.

Room Tip: Had a family apartment and it was simple, but quiet and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Napatraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel one week from 16th of July this year and I just loved it! The rooms are clean and delicate with air-condition without extra pay, a safe, balcony,bathroom is excellent and the interior is delicate with a little kitchen there you can make some meals.
The staff is kind and helpful. Breakfast is included and is served outside in a little garden.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter and ask for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne-Lise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Really don't understand some of the bad reviews. Our room was simple and clean. It was quiet at night and I slept like a log. The location was perfect and the beach a 2minute walk away. The pool bar had a small, but perfect selection of lunch snacks. The burger is tasty and the pita souvlaki the best I tasted. Drinks overpriced?? They were exactly the same as every other bar/restaurant. The best thing about the hotel though, had to be the family that runs it. Nothing was ever too much trouble and they were very genuine and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkidaWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skovlunde
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Great location but with lots of noise every night.
Very expensive Pool Bar.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UlrikSkovlunde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yannis73, Owner at Aphrodite Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 13, 2010
First, I would like to thank our guest for writing a review about Aphrodite Studios & Apartments. The reviews helps us to make our guests stay better. Now, regarding the noise I have to say that the resort is a family resort for couples and families and the usual noise is from young kids playing in the pool. The pool bar usually closes by midnight and after that time it is very quiet. There are lots of rooms away from the pool. If a guests prefers a quiet room we do our best to move them to the rooms away from the pool area. Lastly, the pool bar prices are the lowest on Samos. We offer the best quality of snacks made by fresh ingridients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathokampos
19.3 mi away
Kerveli Village Hotel
Kerveli Village Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kerveli
166 reviews
0.8 mi away
Votsalakia Hotel
Votsalakia Hotel
#5 of 13 in Marathokampos
88 reviews
5.9 mi away
Samaina Inn Hotel
Samaina Inn Hotel
#1 of 8 in Karlovasi
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kampos Village Resort
Kampos Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Marathokampos
190 reviews
12.6 mi away
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Hotel
#19 of 20 in Kokkari
30 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kerkis Bay Hotel
Kerkis Bay Hotel
#11 of 13 in Marathokampos
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aphrodite Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aphrodite Hotel & Suites

Property: Aphrodite Hotel & Suites
Address: Kampos Marathokampos, Marathokampos 831 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Marathokampos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Marathokampos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aphrodite Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amid the fragrant olive grove and the lush greenery next to the beach the Aphrodite Hotel & Suites affordable hotel in Samos Kampos Marathokampos of Greece (also known as Votsalakia) is replete with a variety of wonderful amenities and services offering a home away from home to all of its guests. This budget bed and breakfast family hotel in Samos is located in a peaceful location just next to the beach of Kampos Marathokampos where nature, relaxation and sea beautifully merge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aphrodite Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aphrodite Hotel & Suites Samos/Marathokampos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing