We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking and Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Youphoria Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Youphoria Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Breathtaking and Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We have just returned from a week staying in the topmost villa pictured. We arrived at night having been met by Vasillis the excellent english speaking owner who proudly showed us the spotless interior with all its modern gadgetry and ultra modern layout and gave us all the information on the best places to go and visit. In the morning we awoke to find breathtaking views of the coastline of Kissamos Bay between the Gramvousa peninsula and the old port of Kissamos. We were able to swim and relax in our spacious and private terrace and infinity pool with the mountain backdrop and tranquility emphasising what a paradise spot this is.This is a very special place - not cheap but worth the extra costs one could expect of 5 star. The owner was always at hand if we needed anything and his hospitality was exceptional. Whilst we had a car to explore this part of the island we were able to walk in the evening down the hill and through the olive groves to the quaint local village of Kaliviana where there were two very good Cretan restaurants. Also very near by are a couple of good fishing restaurants in the old port.Further afield there are dozens of small typically unspoilt villages worthy of visiting as well as fantastic sandy beaches at Falasarna, Balos Bay and Elafanissi. Kissamos has all the necessary facilties that one could expect in a small town.
We cannot speak more highly of Youphoria and no doubt we will return.
Graham & Kathy P
Cambridge UK

Room Tip: Book the villa at the very top for the best view and maximum all day sun.However all villas have exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grahampeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

After a few years of package holidays in so called five star resorts and not getting what I really wanted more than anything, peace, quiet and privacy, I'm pleased to say I've finally found perfection!

In June 2014 my best friend and I stayed in Villa Plethora for an epic two weeks and it was amazing. However the great experience started months before that when I was asking questions and one of the owners, Vassilis, by email.

To my surprise I received replies to my numerous mails almost always within the hour and always with a great level detail and answering all of my questions - you don't get that level of service with any holiday company. Once we'd confirmed our booking we were even asked what kind of wine we'd like on arrival.

On arrival we were met by Vassilis where he showed us around the villa and then explained all about the local area to us, giving us tips and advice on where and when to go for day trips, shopping and just about anything you could possibly want.

When he left we explored the villa and everything was great, it looked identical to the pictures on the website and that's not always the case with hotels! The view of Kissamos Bay is stunning and everything inside and outside the villa is of the highest spec, from electrical equipment, furnishings and even the beds and baths / showers.

From that point on we had two weeks of bliss. Our time at the villa was so peaceful and the cleaner and 'pool guy' were incredibly nice and really respected your privacy.

As for the location, again, for us it was perfect. You have stunning beaches between five minutes and just over an hour away, we personally would recommend Elafonisi, but our favourite by far was Falasarna - it's no more than ten minute drive, quiet, not crowded and has beautiful clear water. Balos has a good reputation but we'd probably say not to bother as it's not easy to get to and nowhere near as good as the others.

There are plenty of mini supermarkets and one medium-sized one, all within a few minutes drive and a few local restaurants also. The closest town is Kissamos but it's very small and while perfect for us, if you're looking for a bustling nightlife and excitement you'll need to head somewhere else.

I could keep writing positive things all day, so if you would like to find out anything else about our stay then feel free to contact me through here or Vassilis.

Ultimately, if you want quiet, peace, luxury, privacy and a real five star experience, book a stay at Youphoria Villas immediately, you will not be disappointed :)

Room Tip: From what I could see all villas had an excellent view and a good level of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ligornetto, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This was the most beautiful place I ever saw! The Villa Abyss is fantastic, the panorama, the swimming pool were absolutely first class. Kitchen had a complete equipment and dining room was very nice. The sleeping room was very comfortable and bathroom with jacuzzi just wonderful. We really recommend Villa Abyss for a Young/adult couple (very romantic place)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noa1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Myself, my hubby and our 2.5 year old son stayed recently at Youphoria. We decided to splash out on three days of luxury and enjoyed our stay so much we extended it another day.

The villa is situated up a hill just a short drive from Kissamos. Personally I didn't love Kissamos but it was a great place to get supplies, have a coffee, do a spot of shopping so on that basis it was absolutely fine. However the villa is in a truly gorgeous spot, up a hill looking out over the bay with hills on either side. The view is really something.

From the villa you can easily get to the fabulous local restaurant Gramboussa - We went twice in four days!
http://www.gramboussa-restaurant.gr

And the fantastic beach at Phalasrna.

We weren't there that long but if you are happy to drive about there is plenty to do. Alternatively a day spent at the villa is equally fun.

The villa itself has a wonderful outside space ideal for dining in the sun. It even has a bbq. it also has a great pool, but be vigilant with little tots. As always it could be a bit slippy poolside. That said, we never had any problems.

Indoors, the villa has everything you might need. Its compact but well equipped especially the kitchen which is really smart. The bedrooms are spotless and romantic, the bathrooms are high end. Overall, the place has a very expensive feel. They haven't cut corners anywhere. The whirlpool bath was awesome.

On arrival we were met and fully informed about the house. They even left some toys for our little one to play with along with high chair and cot.

I can't massively fault anything it really was one of the most amazing places i have eve stayed.

Below are the tiny things which are worth mentioning.

A bit hard to find - we missed the turning looking for it. Essentially there is a dirt track directly alongside the petrol station. Keep going through the olive fields and you will get there.

It's very new so in years to come when the planting has bedded in - it will be really stunning but there is a bit of building equipment stored at the top. Again, not a problem, never in use and honestly didn't bother me. Just worth mentioning because on first look you may think they are still building at the top.

Each villa is really private and we always felt left alone, but some paths run along side to get between the villas so from time to time the people working there will pass. Just worth noting if you need someone very very private.

I honestly can't criticise anything else. We had a glorious time all round!

Cat x x

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank catanded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at Charisma villa which is situated on a hill above Kissamos overloking the sea and olive tree fields. The standard of the newly built villas is 5 stars. The interior design is flawless, modern but still cozy. Kitchen is fully equipped with toaster, juicer, oven etc. Grocery store is 5 min.
The outside provides a sun shaded pergola with lots of comfortable seating to enjoy breakfast while taking in the 180 degrees panoramic view. Or to relax during the day.
Service is impeccable: house super clean, pool is taken care of daily.
The owner Vassili is very attentive. He sat down 20 minutes with us to explain the villa and surroundings and chat about Greece and the local culture. The guy seems really motivated to ensure the guests are happy.
Although there are several villas the way they are arranged still ensures you have privacy. That was very important for us and is a big plus.
A trip to Chania for dinner and shopping is a nice change to the calm and rural lifestlye around the villa (45 Min.). We tried 2 restaurants within 5 minutes of the villa, both were excellent.
In contrast to popular tourist destinations in the mediterranean we noticed that the people of Crete are really friendly, easygoing and not trying to ripp you off or sell you stuff you dont want. That made the experience even more enjoyable. We plan to come back with our kids next time.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Andr_Ra01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

In a fantastic location to explore north west Crete and away from the busier tourist areas this a great place for those looking for a more relaxing holiday. Views of the bay provide the perfect background to swifts, swallows, buzzards, warblers, orioles flowing through the sky or frolicking in the olive groves below. With Gramvousa restaurant only 5 mins drive, a local bakery 2 mins away and many great fish restaurants littering the local beaches you won't want for better local food! The locals are all incredibly happy to see you and Vassilis will great you and tell you all of the best places to go and answer any questions you may have left. Visited the first week in May and the weather was perfect and beaches, towns very un-crowded. Highly recommend this place for those looking for a relaxed beach/poolside holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

An ultimate experience. You can't imagine any better.
The place you want to be to explore Western Crete. You also can imagine your family get together or the most extraordinary wedding party. The lovely Greek church is on the estate.
Contemporary Greek architecture in its most extraordinary presentation. On
the hillside overlooking Balos and Kissamos Bay with its romantic Harbor, connecting to the world, in middle of Olive trees and birds songs, you find the most impressive architectural concept.
There are about eight 1 to 3 bedroom, fully serviced villas, in an landscaping structure of stone paved connecting trails and beautifully arranged stone walls as well as separating gardens, giving to each villa an estate like feeling by itself.
The true difference to a resort. Exclusive and private.
The villa offers everything you can imagine from the highest standards of interior design to the outside terraces and their infinity pool.
We spent the most relaxing Easter Vacation, sun bathing and swimming in April.
Our three children just said one thing:
"Super !"
We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Genevavoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kissamos hotels
1.6 mi away
Balos Beach
Balos Beach
#1 of 2 in Kaliviani
4.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
2.4 mi away
Galini Beach Hotel
Galini Beach Hotel
#1 of 16 in Kissamos
5.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mirtilos Studios & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Olive Tree Apartments
Olive Tree Apartments
#2 of 2 in Kaliviani
4.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
#2 of 16 in Kissamos
4.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
1.4 mi away
Molos Bay Hotel
Molos Bay Hotel
#11 of 16 in Kissamos
4.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Youphoria Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Youphoria Villas

Property: Youphoria Villas
Address: Ag. Georgios Gramvousa | Chania, Kissamos, Crete 734 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Kissamos
Amenities:
Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Kissamos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beautiful north-west coast of Crete in the village of Agios Georgios near the small town of Kissamos, the newly built Youphoria villas have been designed with luxury holiday living in mind and have many innovative architectural and environmentally friendly features throughout. The eight, signature architecture, private villas enjoy a privileged hillside position overlooking the stunning Gramvousa peninsular and the turquoise waters of Kissamos Bay and are surrounded by lush olive groves. Three of the villas are built around St Constantine Chapel which dominates the hilltop and three are lower on the foothill. Each villa has its own unique living space with the emphasis being on outdoor entertaining, dining and relaxing. The award-winning COCO Mat soft furnishing has been carefully chosen to provide the maximum comfort with the use of natural and raw materials. The unique signature of architect Dimitra Nikolaou and her Istos team, as well as the care and attention of local talented interior designer Stavroula Mauromataki, gives you the chance to enjoy a different perspective in holidaying at a Cretan villa. Youphoria villas boast unique aesthetics with an authentic feel. The entire fenced property has two gated entrances from the bottom and top of the hill. All villas enjoy a state of the art, integrated, eco-friendly under floor cooling/heating system using heat pumps and water in place of refrigerant. There are many unspoilt beaches within easy reach and in the nearby town of Kissamos, there are numerous shops, cafes and tavernas. Just a short ten minute walk from the villas will take you to the crystal clear waters of Viglia beach, where you can swim and be at one with nature. The Port of Kissamos is a stone's throw away from Agios Georgios and from here, you can take a boat ride to the pirate island of Gramvousa and the world famous Balos Lagoon. The excellent location also means that you are close to many of the highlights of western Crete, just waiting to be discovered. Youphoria villas are five minutes drive away from the impressive golden sands of Falasarna beach (voted one of the top five best beaches in Greece) with its unspoilt turquoise waters and an interesting archaeological site showing the Hellenistic ancient port and city. Around fifty minutes drive south of Youphoria is the beautiful beach of Elafonissi where one can get lost exploring the island of Elafonissi (Deer Island) which is unique for the cedar sand dunes and unspoilt natural habitat. Youphoria Villa guests will also have the opportunity to walk the famous Gorge of Samaria which at 17 kilometers long, is granted as the longest in Europe. Try some exquisite local fresh fish and traditional dishes from the world famous healthy Mediterranean diet at one of the local tavernas or restaurants. Youphoria villas offer a luxurious solution for the elite traveler with a desire for exceptional style and design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Youphoria Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Youphoria Villas Kissamos, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing