We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great greek organic food”
Review of Zaharias Taverna

Zaharias Taverna
Ranked #11 of 80 Restaurants in Kissamos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Traditional Greek food. We use only locally produced food of the highest quality. We also produce our own wine and Raki. We are open for breakfast until late and offer free wifi and a very friendly welcome.
Pentraeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great greek organic food”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We saw this taverna on our way down to Falassarna and decided to visit it on the way back to Hania for lunch. The waitress and then the owner were extremely friendly and told us about the dishese and origins of the food - a lot from the owner's farm and cooked by his mother. All in all an extremely pleasant experience - we'll be back!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrisgliddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    101
    45
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Braunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Vine Leaves are the best!!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stopped here on our way to Falasarna as most people do I Imagine.

Both of us were starving as we'd been in the car most of the morning with no food, after looking through the menu we wanted something Greek, as the ingredients is all locally grown, our original choices weren't available, this however turned out to be a blessing in disguise, the owner recommended we have the Vine leaves and also the courgettes, with eggs, in a tomato based sauce baked in the oven. we were a bit apprehensive but we should've as the food was fantastic, one of the best lunches we've had, the Vine leaves were very tasty and the Courgette dish was just as good so many flavours, we didn't want them to end.

After our meal, the owner was very helpful giving us ideas of where to visit while we were in the area, he couldn't do enough, he was very genuine.

The location is next to the road but this has a certain charm as you watch the locals go about their daily business, but it's a quiet little road so very little traffic.
We Wi-Fi is also a bonus.

Would definitely go back here should we visit Crete again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sastamala, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Famous salad”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

If you're in Crete you should visit this place. Food is very good and service is suberb. First time we listened what they recommended for us and that was tzatziki, lamb and their famous salad. Everything was delicious especially the salad was just outstanding. No wonder why it is called famous salad.

Second time we took some chicken and of course we had to take that salad again. Chicken was also very good
but not so good than lamb.

So if you're in Crete and want to have excellent dinner, go to Zaharias. Take the famous salad, tzatziki and lamb. Also raki was the best we tasted.

-Young couple from Finland

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank juhispalmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best greek salad i have ever had”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

I visit Zaharias every year when i visit Crete. The service is always amazing and the food is outstanding. It doesn't have an amazing view but its great watching the locals go by and the food really is the best i have had in Crete. My children also love it at Zaharias and they are always made welcome.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good restaurant”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Good vegeterian food, nice quiet place in small village, good people. The owner is also the waiter. In case you need a short-track course upselling, this guy is one of the best. We'll be defenitely back.

Helpful?
Thank Sanne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaharias Taverna also viewed

Kissamos, Chania Prefecture
 
Kaliviani, Kissamos
Kissamos, Chania Prefecture
 
Kissamos, Chania Prefecture
Kissamos, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Zaharias Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing